We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good backpackers for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We made reservations at Eco Resort based on online reviews, since we were arriving too late to walk into town and find a place. We stayed at the mixed dorms, in a room for two.

Pros:

1) Both bedroom and shared bathroom were very clean, with excellent maintenance (on this point I have to say I've stayed in backpackers across Europe, Australia and South America, and Eco Resort's standards were amongst the best)
2) Comfortable beds
3) Nice, big swimming pool (though you have to pay extra 100 baht a day to use it)
4) Nice garden surrounding the rooms
5) Free wi-fi

Cons:

1) Tiny room for two people (even been a dorm)
2) The hotel is far from everything
3) BAD breakfast

On this last point, we tried it in our first morning there and it was disgusting: food cooked at least 1-2 hours earlier (including fried eggs); horrible coffee and tea; and SO MANY FLIES that they almost became part of the meal. It's true, flies are a problem throughout SE Asia, but some places at least try to find ways to limit the food exposure. Not Eco Resort's case. We picked the one option that was not infested (fried rice) and got coffee and tea. After 1 minute of trying everything we decided to go to a coffee shop in town.

I think this is a very good place for a short stay (2-3 days) but on a longer stay the cons described above may become more prominent. I guess you could book a double private room and that would improve the room size issue, but then you would probably end up paying the same as for a double room in a hotel or guesthouse in town.

We ultimately decided to move to other accommodation in Chiang Mai based on the location. It's not really walkable to town, and the hassle of haggling with tuk-tuk drivers EVERY time we wanted to go from or return to the hostel was offputting.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 379 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

Excellent hostel with friendly staff, clean rooms and fabulous pool area. The gardens were beautiful. We stayed in the twin room with ensuite however I would advise the shared dorm rooms for 1/2 the price and excellent facilities nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renno72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We booked a double room with en suite for 6 nights. On arrival, we were told that there was a problem with the booking and we would have to move rooms mid week to one without a bathroom. This was not a good start, as we would have booked something else had we known.

Despite this the place is lovely- the pool is great, the grounds beautiful and the grounds relaxing.

The biggest issue has to be the walls which are so thin. We could hear the person snoring in the next room as if we were in a dorm. If you are paying for a dorm, that's ok, but if you're looking for more, then there are better options out there. We decided to move out, which is why we can't recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Beautiful lush gardens, peaceful, lovely big pool, clean rooms with character, hot water, laundry facilities. Helpful and friendly staff. Only downsides: slightly out of town (but only a 60B tuk-tuk ride away) and breakfast, though free, was not great. Otherwise loved it. Intended to stay 1 night, but ended up staying 8 days!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtrain_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

i loved this place. staff were friendly and helpful. Place was very clean, grounds were like a botanic garden. 25m pool was great, in fact tourists from the city centre used to pay to come and use the pool here (not many, never overcrowded). As a solo traveller, it was a great place to meet people especially by the pool, everyone was great. I booked tours to Elephant Farm, zip lining and thai cookery class through Mr Khan at the hostel and they were great with pick up and drop off at hostel. Free wifi was added boon. outstanding value for money.

Room Tip: Mr Whit's food stall across the rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pmggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and initially had a superior twin room however decided to downsize as the cheaper rooms and setting were also of a very high quality, the value for money seemed and was second to none...... I know of three or four people who had done the same after the first night. All apects were great i.e. the staff, restaurant, tours offered (the guide was a legend) and their prices in comparison to street agencies. The usp for this hotel are the grounds, the pool was amazing and extremely clean but the gardens were absolutely beautiful - the amount of staff they have to maintain and clean them is outrageous and the attention to detail is spot on. Although you are a walk from the night market it is one that is worth it. An undisputed 5/5 for me.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnitedKay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My husband and I spent a week here in November 2010. It is a bit of a walk from the centre of town but very good value for money. The grounds are very pleasant and there is an excellent swimming pool. The breakfast is not great with limited choice. Overall a very good choice if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen186527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#164 of 392 in Chiang Mai
661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
931 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#176 of 392 in Chiang Mai
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 392 in Chiang Mai
684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#91 of 392 in Chiang Mai
287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 933 in Chiang Mai
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 109 Bumrungrad Road | Wat Kate Muang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 933 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $23 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Resort Chiang Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Resort Chiang Mai, a new development from Imm Hotel Group, offers value accommodation for nature lovers. With Ecological, environmental and economy awareness, we create with attention to simplicity in design and service that fulfill fundamental needs of travelers who are looking for a pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eco Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing