We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Chiang Mai
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveler rating
170
62
18
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
170
62
18
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cat cafe old town rooms are nice and clean drinking water we loved our stay nice stay guesthouse baht soap taxis laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 263 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2016

Very reasonable and clean accommodation. I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2016 in a double bedroom with a fan. The room is basic but very clean and the deco is nice. The other guests were polite and well behaved.

The staff are wonderful and helped me book transportation to the airport at a very reasonable rate.

Nothing to complain about.

Room tip: Choose a higher floor as it was a little noisy in the morning.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesC10370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay at Banilah, from the moment we got there the staff were so welcoming and friendly! We arrived at the hotel at 7am, and the reception doesn't open until 8am, but the lady was notified we had arrived and let us have the room early without having the hassle of checking in. We got a couple hours sleep and then once we were up we went and checked in and the lady gave us a detailed map of Chiang Mai and pointed out where all the tourist attractions were located, as well as restaurants, shopping, museums & temples. We also got free bicycles, which we loved as we just cycled around Chiang Mai and we were only 10-15 minutes away from Namman road where all the cafes/restaurants are. The hotel is very clean, the room was lovely and very homely. If you fancy a rest from Chiang Mai and want some chill time you can watch tele or they have a massive collection of DVDs to choose from- but keep in mind reception closes at 8pm. The location we thought was great, once we got our bearings of Chiang Mai everything was pretty easy to get to, every morning we walked to a little cafe round the corner (2 minute walk!) from Banilah called NaNa Coffee Corner. LOVED breakfast there!! We felt very safe at the hotel, there is a security guard on every evening until 8am the next morning, the security guard was so lovely!! Always friendly, happy and welcoming, we loved her :).. The staff were great, if you want to book any trips they will do it for you, and if you have any questions or want advice they are very helpful and speak very good English! Overall a great stay in Chiang Mai and would definitely recommend staying here.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank V1933AEamandap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

A lovely quiet guesthouse to enjoy the city in the best possible way. A stone thrown from the old city, the neighbourhood is full of good restaurants to treat yourself with some delicious and cheap northern food. The ladies who run the business will make sure you ll have all the information you need to have an amazing time in Chiang Mai. They can also provide you with a free bicycle. Awesome staying!

Date of stay: July 2016
1  Thank Lorenzo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a few nights in July (twin room) and decided to return because we thought it was great. As most of the other reviews say, the owners are lovely and super helpful. They understand what hospitality is meant to be and whilst there are some reviews on here which (rather unfairly) call the staff insincere, it is important to remember that they have many guests arriving and leaving every day. Given this, they do a fantastic job of making every guest feel welcome and safe; they are always there to help. The maps they went through with us as a standard greeting were very useful but if you asked them questions beyond this they were just as helpful and genuinely wanted you to enjoy your stay.

The cat cafe is a nice atmosphere with good drinks at a decent price. Rooms are basic but comfortable with good air conditioning. The only negative would be the bathroom, which was quite small and outside on the balcony, attracting quite a few mosquitoes. However, the bathroom has a good shower and was clean so overall it is just a matter of perhaps future refurbishment.

In terms of location, quite a few reviewers have said it is in the middle of nowhere, which isn't quite true. The girls point out loads of things to do in the local area (blind man massage is a great cause) and there are good bars and restaurants (genuine Thai, not just touristy) only 150m away from the hostel. There is also a fantastic bakery round the corner which is great for breakfast. You can walk to the old city walls in 15 minutes or get a red car for under 100 baht for 2 into the old city if this is what you are looking to do. Honestly though, whilst you may do this a few times, the area around the hostel has interesting thai places to explore too (shops, eateries) if you go looking for them.

Overall, a great place with basic but comfortable rooms; the staff are what make it memorable.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank F7501WBrobw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

After staying in a number of dorms, I was looking for a budget single room. This hostel fit the bill. The grounds are nice, the rooms are nice/safe but the best part is the staff. They can give you as many recommendations are you have time to hear, which really made my trip incredible. For the money, Banilah can't be beat!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sayrge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews