We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com$18
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
171
62
18
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
171
62
18
10
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 264 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We booked this place through hostelbookers, they must have put there info up years ago. The people that run/ own the hostel seem to have made the place there home. What I can only guess was ment to be the comunal area was over run with cats, a theme which they now seem to ebmrace having cat pictures and art everywhere. My partner is allergic to cats which meant we couldn't go near it.
We were 30-40 min walk into the old city everyday and we are fast walkers even in this heat. There was nothing at all to do within a 15 walk of the hostel so this made the walk necessary. It would have been 100 baht one way. We passed plenty of hostels on the old city that look decent.

People came home shouting between 2-3 and because the building layout, like a courtyard the sound carried and echoed. I'm pretty sure it was mostly one of the girls that worked there doing all the shouting every night.

It was a clean bed that we went to everynight. Did the job. However we were always so tired from walking back and forth we would have slept anywhere.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I love being in Banilah :)
i don't really like cat .. and they have 7-9 cats if i'm not mistaken haha :p but no worry since they all behave :)
the owner is sweet :) and kind and friendly and pretty :)
she gave me a map with all the mark to ensure that i would not get lost :) she made clear signs with her colorful marker and even put it in seal-able plastic bag since "you came in rain season!". she;s thoughtful ya?
they have tour packages but they never push me to buy any.
the room is great and they have "taste" :p they provide hand made soap bar every day :)
the wash room was separated from the bedroom so you need to "step out" but its kind of good idea so it has good air circulation. if its raining, you'll be ok, you wont get wet (going to the washroom) but meaning that you need to leave your comfortable bedroom for a while.
the location is around 10-15 mins away from the moat. you may rent a bike or just enjoy walking like i did.
oh, about where to eat .. the lady owner would be more than happy to recommend you great places to eat. i tried 60% of her recommended places .. and all are good :) wished i had more time to finish the other 40% :p
if you like coffee, they have a cafe called as CoffeeCat :)

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppiglet2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I and my wife loved Banilah. We stayed for 4 nights in Sep. 2011. The staffs were very nice, always there to help us when we need assistance.
The room was a little bit small, but considering the price, it' more than adequate. The interior deco was very cozy. Much better than more expensive hotels. The best value for the money. I definately stay again if I go back to Chiangmai.

Date of stay: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I found them from newspaper so booked three nights and six rooms there. But, it is not good as newspaper said...the room is noisy we can hear someone speaking and move something. I was forced to take cold shower when temperature was between 10-15c because water heater was old. The staff also arrogant. She looks unfriendly and ignored us when asked question. However, the location is nice and easy to find food.

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ly_ly_0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed in Banilah for 1 month and it was just perfect! The place, the girls at Banilah are awsome, very friendly, always free to help you. The room are nice, simple, clean with WIFI and daily little home made soap, mineral water.. ! You feel like home in Banilah Cafe, the common living room, where you can drink delicious coffee !! I highly recommand this place to any traveller.
Hope to come back soon to see you girls again:)

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews