We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely, serene little guesthouse.”
Review of Riverside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside House
Ranked #59 of 824 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We were lucky enough to score the room on the second floor overlooking the absolutely gorgeous garden behind the main building. The room we had was air conditioned and perfectly clean, the beds were a little hard but that's most likely just a personal preference thing - my friend found them to be fine. The bathrooms were clean and the shower hot - nothing to complain about there.

The garden at Riverside was a real highlight as it was lovingly maintained and absolutely gorgeous, though coming from Australia it is a (welcome) shock to the system to see things so green and lush. The establishment has 2 adorable puppies in residence that were apparently rescued after their mother abandoned them (a story heard from a little girl staying there the same time as us) and they were playful and really added to the atmosphere :)

The free breakfast was light - tea and coffee (with the powdered creamer we came to expect and dread all over Thailand) , toast with spreads and some fruit, but they offer eggs and waffles etc for a minimal extra cost.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, and run the adjoining tour company from the same office - we went on an elephant trek /bamboo rafting trip which was fun.

Overall, we had a lovely time and were very happy and comfortable here. It wasn't fancy, but we were not expecting nor wanting that. Restaurants, bars, the night markets and bizaars (one of them with a resident elephant) are all within walking distance, and it was lovely to stay on the other side of the river from the town and avoid a little of the noise. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grrrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 271 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed in the newer section and would compliment the rooms.

Breakfast could be a little more substantial.

I was not overly keen on paying for my room before even seeing it but other than that I would certainly return and recommend. All the action is nearby and yet Riverside is very quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChilledVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

I have stayed at this guest house a number of times and will happily return. The price we paid, we certainly were happy with the service and accommodation received.
The service was excellent. We were picked up from the airport (all seven of us) for 200B. We arrived late in the evening but were greeted by the owners and warmly welcomed back.
In terms of accommodation, we stayed in the new rooms out the back. They were well furnished, spacious and clean. The bathrooms were small but adequate. The gardens were nicely presented. The breakfast provided is a light meal, however you can purchase delicious smoothies and waffles if toast and fruit is not enough.
It is a short walk from the night market (perfect distance to walk off one of those delicious banana rotis we bought at the night market!) At the front of the guest house is a great tour company - MaePing River Tours (I think!) where you can also book excellent tours that are not over pricey...

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spcurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

This hotel was a great bargain for our family at 1,000 baht a night for a superior room with extra bed (we are a family of 4). I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the facilities are - simple, but clean and perfectly acceptable rooms, lovely flower filled courtyard, etc. They picked us up from the hotel for 200 baht and were waiting with a sign. Of course you are not going to get much in this price range, but if you just need a clean place to sleep, it is fine. You even get a mini fridge (while smelling vaguely of fish, it's perfectly fine for chilling drinks). There is a 7-11 a few steps away to the left and right beyond that is an AMAZING grocery store. The hotel is right across from the river (though the rooms are behing the check in place and gardens, so you can't actually see the river) and just couple blocks pleasant stroll to the night market and restaurants. We arranged a trekking tour through them and highly recommend this as well (though only if you are in pretty good shape). You can store your luggage with them while you are off trekking and they have a safe for your valuables. Breakfast is as they specify - toast, fruit, coffee/tea. You can also order eggs, waffles, smoothies, etc. for a reasonable price. The only bad thing I can say is that they are doing construction right next door and started jackhammering at 8 am. So if you are an early riser, no problem (they obviously don't make noise in the middle of the night), but just be aware that it will be difficult to sleep in (or else bring some ear plugs). They do have free wireless internet (in the breakfast courtyard area only, not in the rooms). It was a little patchy service, but got the job done. Staff was friendly, and I would definitely recommend it! By the way, there's no reason so splurge for a nicer hotel in Chiang Mai. The town has a bohemian backpacker feel to it, and I think you would lose some of that staying in a generic high rise hotel place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MmeCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This is a very inexpensive but clean and nice b&b. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a nice garden area between the office and the rooms and a nice area to use your computer during the day or evening. The place is very secure as it locks up at 8 PM and guest have a key to the locked gate. The complimentary breakfast only consists of coffee, tea, toast and fruit but you can buy eggs, waffles, musli, etc. for about $1.00 each to add to the complimentary breakfast. It is within 3 blocks of the Night Market. I enjoyed my stay at the Riverside House and will go back to stay if I return to Chaing Mai.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

When I stay in Chiang Mai, I usually stay here at the Riverside Guest House. All rooms are out to the garden (no river views, in case you're after those). It's conveniently located in walking distance to the night bazar and the old town. The staff are super friendly and will help you with anything they can. They have a very well organised travel and tour agency which comes in handy for organising trips and tours, renting cars etc.
Price includes a simple breakfast of tea or coffee, toast with butter and jam and some fruit. But there is also a coffee shop that will supply eggs, shakes, fancy coffees etc. at an additional charge.
The rooms are simple, clean and spaceous enough. You can choose between fan and aircon. Some rooms have cable tv, some don't. Clarify when booking. They recently added new rooms in the back, which are obviously nicer and a little more updated.
There are several bars along the street and a very well stocked supermarket nearby that has a lot of imported goods from all over the world. There are tons of hotels and guest houses in Chiang Mai but I always come back here because the people remember us, they are super friendly and look after us well and we have a good laugh together.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fah Lanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

The hotel owners are fabulous. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and help organize things for you to see and do in Chiang Mai. They provide a complimentary 1/2 day tour of several traditional craft areas (umbrella making, silk weaving). The rooms are clean and well taken care of. This was not my first time staying here, and I will definitely return every time I visit Chiang Mai in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlemisstravel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Galare Guest House
Galare Guest House
#72 of 395 in Chiang Mai
299 reviews
0 mi away
Glur Chiangmai
Glur Chiangmai
#59 of 395 in Chiang Mai
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#45 of 824 in Chiang Mai
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 824 in Chiang Mai
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#87 of 824 in Chiang Mai
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
KETAWA Pet Friendly Hotel
KETAWA Pet Friendly Hotel
#63 of 824 in Chiang Mai
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House

Address: 101 Chiang Mai - Lampoon Rd. | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 824 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $29 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riverside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing