We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sad to be leaving :-(”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside House
Ranked #46 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very sad to be leaving :-(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is our last night here in Chiang Mai and we have had the most relaxing week after finishing off a tour around Cambodia & Vietnam. After reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor we booked up with Riverside House & we're so glad we did. We even extended our stay an extra 2 nights.

We were looking for somewhere we could relax and enjoy some quiet down time and this was easily achieved here. We were picked up from the airport (for 200b, admittedly a taxi is probably cheaper but this was convenient for us so we went with it) and when we arrived shown to our lovely deluxe room. The staff here are so friendly and welcoming I cannot praise them highly enough. As mentioned by others there is also a travel agency within reception and we booked some flights here too which was hassle free.

The free breakfast is basic consisting of toast, fruit & cereal but for only 20b you can get eggs or for 65b a smoothie (I recommend the 'wake-up' smoothie - delicious & refreshing!).

Due to some flooding before we arrived the pool was not in use until yesterday but we did try it out and found it quite refreshing.

The rooms are cleaned daily and at least in the part where we were, bright & airy with air-con and a balcony out back and a table & two chairs overlooking the garden out front.

I would definately recommend those looking for a more sedate stay in Chiang Mai to come here. It was precisely what we were looking for and would just like to thank the staff here for their friendliness & attentiveness. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room on 2nd floor right in the corner which was nice & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trudie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    102
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
52
93
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I'd like to thank those of you who wrote reviews about the Riverside House since they helped me with my choice during my stay in Chiang Mai in September this year. And, a good choice it was too !

Initially, we spent two nights in a standard room. This room had little daylight but it aided us with a very good sleep. Several days later we returned to the Riverside House and stayed in a delux room with lots of daylight, a fridge and a TV. Both rooms were very clean. The price of the room included a breakfast with plenty to eat.

The small swimming pool and garden made for a pleasant atmosphere. The night market is just a few minutes away across the river and the city center is pretty close too. Morever, the staff, Nok, Pom and Kai were very friendly and helpful in answering our questions about Chiang Mai

Room Tip: For a better sleep stay away from the rooms closer to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AjarnAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
227 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during the first week of August 2011.
The hotel is located just a five minute walk from the night market.
Rooms are very nice and clean.
Staff is very friendly and helpful, the same goes for the at the hotel located travel agency.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Rooms in the new building are surely the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Nice rooms with everything you need (a/c, wifi). Ideal location, just walk over the bridge and you are at the night bazar. Paid 500B/night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hjegberink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Very nice. We got a older room at first. Not so good but cheap. Noisy and claustrophobic for a couple and a kid. After first night we upgraded to a newer room. The new rooms were big and fresh. TV and refrigerator and a small balcony. Staff was very helpful and nice. They even stopped a minitaxi and get us a VERY good price. They have a lot of "trips" but never annoyed us or tried to convince us to take one of them, like other guesthouses in Chiang Mai seems to do.
The male generator seems to be a real energy-pack. U feel energized just by looking at him working in the garden and occasionally swimming in the coooooold pool with his wife.
Not everybody do, but I like it with the cold pool. Very refreshing in the heat!
Definitely coming back. All so friendly. All guests as well. Whole family loved it.
Is the manager an old MuayThai boxer? He seems to have very strong legs.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are newer/nicer but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaulNaapanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

First of all if ur not the backpacker type avoid this hotel . I paid 500 bht which is really cheap but expect the usual things in these small guest houses such as stained bed sheets , mosquitos in room , small shower & really stained towels . The place itself has a lovely small pool & although they advertise b'fast it only consist of tea/cofee, toast and some water-melon/bananas. As i said for 500 baht its quite worth-it but some reviews here are misleading . Location is far from night market and center areas but i always enjoyed walking to reach them.....around 20/30 minute walk. If ur planning to staying here avoid the taxi arrangement by staff themselves . They charge me 200 baht for one way but i saw 100 baht changing hands of taxi driver & receptionist on my arrival!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baksy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billund, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Although right next to busy traffic, the rooms are on the behind ,surrounding a small garden and a small swimmingpool.., so a quiet place to stay in city center. It is informal and friendly with different types of backpackers, families and solo travellers.. Nice people all around you, but not crowded.. Tour easily arranged at the desk. I booked a 2 day trekking tour- so saved the cost of one night at the hotel. Actual price for the trip than only 50 dollars- incl of meals, transport- sleeping in village on straw mat, trekking, bamboraft, whitewater raft and elephant riding- of course everything simple in an old jeep- simple food etc.- if you want air.con busses and bigger trips with "services" pick a more expensive trip , - a question og preferences-- but I enjoyed it although for several days after my legs were killing me !!. So nice to befrindly treated without feeling like a VIP, as I did at the more expensive places I stayed

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Ing Ping
Baan Ing Ping
#64 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#49 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZZ House
ZZ House
#4 of 809 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House

Property: Riverside House
Address: 101 Chiang Mai - Lampoon Rd. | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing