We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel on river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with grandparents. Rooms spacious and very clean. Breakfast while not a huge array was perfect for everyone. Tip: choose one of the outdoor tables for breakfast next to river, very peaceful. Small pool big enough for young kids but not quite long enough for lap swimming. Staff very friendly & helpful. Highly recommended

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dibbbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    207
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
106
334
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at the hotel and we really found it was good value. This is a small hotel by the river. It is not in the centre but you can hire free bicicles and be in the centre in about 10 min. Chiang Mai is flat so cycling is totally recommendable.
Rooms are beautifully decorated and they are huge. Everything is clean and wifi is strong and stable in the rooms. You get some complimentary fruit at your arrival and departure, and you can also arrange for a taxi to pick you up for the airport. The rooms are well-equipped, including both shower and bath tub.
Staff is helpful and attentive. We requested a change room and there was no problem. The receptionist also helped us to make some phone bookings. Unfortunately, other staff does not have English skills, but they will ensure that when needed, you are able to speak with someone who can translate for you. I really appreciated the smile and greetings from every body at all times.
Chiang Mai is a beautiful city with lots of corners to discover and we felt the Aruntara hotel really added to the pleasant and memorable experience we had.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We enjoyed 4 nights at this hotel. It was backed onto the river and was on a quiet street. It was in a good location for getting around to the sights. The rooms were well maintained (although we found the beds a little hard). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ordered off a menu most days and the variety was great. Never left hungry.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Aruntara was a wonderful. We were immediately greeted with Thai iced tea and welcomed to the property. Before choosing this hotel I had read many of the reviews. We did not experience any trouble with mosquitos even when eating at the hotel along the river front. It is true that the hotel is not in the immediate center, but it is only a short bike ride away. (And they provide free bicycles.) The hotel also offers a free shuttle to the night market each evening. A trip to the center of town cost 60 baht by Tuk Tuk, which is approximately $2 USD. Honestly, our only minor complaint was that the beds were really, really firm. But, if we truly cared we would have asked for the additional bed mat that I read they will provide at no charge. My vote, stay here. It was a tremendous value, beautiful, unique, wonderfully helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emhollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great location. Enter your room through wooden double doors. Rooms are spacious, clean, and wonderfully decorated. The hotel grounds are lovely. Perfectly manicured lawn overlooking the peaceful river. The pool is located in the shade and the water is very cold – which must be refreshing to some, but I found it too cold. The breakfast is delicious. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here back in Feb 2013 after finding this place in Trip Advisor. The hotel has a nice feeling to it. The room we were in was beautiful - top floor corner with a nice view of the surrounding area. It was quiet (we had no issues with mosque, road noise, or chickens) and clean. The breakfast was also nice - there are not a lot of guests staying here and they custom cooked our meal (eggs with cheese or veggies) based on our selections.

The location was great too - we walked everywhere. There are many convenience stores nearby for snacks/water/ice cream. A few doors down (on the right as you face the hotel) there was a local laundry place that was inexpensive and fast.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs corner room facing the back of the hotel (river view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This little gem of a place, with only about 30 rooms, located about 2 km from downtown Chiang Mai is perfect if you are looking for an affordably luxurious hotel to escape from all the hustle and bustle of holiday traveling and shopping. Quiet - check. Beautifully designed - check. Pleasant helpful staff - check. Comfortable - check. It is as good as it looks in the photographs!

What did I like?
Comfortable beds in bright, airy, comfortable rooms. While the rooms are not particularly large, they were adequate for two. It comes with a day-bed which could sleep one more (kid perhaps) but having another person in the room would make it a bit cramp, what with luggage and all.

How quiet and welcoming it felt. Stepping into the hotel makes you feel like stepping into a different world - cool, clean, quiet, welcoming - accentuated by the slightly old-world design of the place. Think white wash walls, columns, mixed with wood panels, manicured lawns and hedges and tasteful decor.

Attentive and helpful staff. From the security staff outside, to the bell service and reception, and the breakfast crew. Responsive housekeeping that made up our rooms while we had breakfast. There was a complication with my on-line booking and the receptionist offered to call and speak to the main e-tailer who had supplied the booking to the hotel booking site I had used. And she solved the problem. Thank you Noi.

Breakfast. I'd read previous comments that the breakfast selection was limited. Ignore that comment. They provide a small but thoughtful selection for breakfast; something asian (rice, curries, porridge etc), something western (the usual suspects), something heavier and something lighter. Generally good quality, aside from some slightly tired looking salad greens (low season syndrome?). The best thing, with so few guest, the kitchen crew on hand will cook you your hot breakfast exactly the way you like it.

My suggestion for the hotel:
☞ perhaps teach kitchen crew to prepare something a little special, à la minute, such as eggs benedict. Perhaps have a small à la minute menu available.
☞ make available freshly 'squeezed' juices with a small selection of local fruits and vegetables.
☞ make available a small espresso machine for coffee lovers.
☞ your location on Google maps is WRONG!!!! Please fix it so people don't get lost.

Suggestions to make your stay even better:
1. Make sure you hire a motor bike (great fun - USD4) or a car ( longer journeys and rainy weather - USD20 for a compact like honda Jazz). At these prices, you can each hire one. They have parking on the door steps. The main tourist area is more than 2 km away.
2. If you care to walk around in the area, you will discover little noodle shops and bakeries and restaurants primarily serving the locals. Cheap authentic eats. You will also get to meet friendly locals.
3. Try different routes back to the hotel and get to see a different side of Chiang Mai, where locals work, live and play.
4. If you are finding your own way there, the google maps location is currently incorrect. It is about 400m before the bridge crossing the river to get to the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: The only room with views are the suites (only 2 or 3) which face the river. All other rooms face inw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willtravelformoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Property: Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing