We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced at B3000+”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #36 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced at B3000+”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully well thought out designed rooms, prompt and friendly service, ok breakfast buffet but more of a B2000 place than B3000. Had a problem with mosquitos in the room. Pool was murky and very cold. Distance from CM downtown meant taking a tuktuk or song thaw each time we left. Didn't find good restaurants around the area, so either you need to eat at the hotel or leave. Staff were friendly though. Grounds well kept

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelernyc168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    208
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
106
336
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good but rather expensive hotel, superb service! Not in the central city, but well within reach with carservices, taxi or tuk-tuk (10 minutes from the old city), I think it was an nice place and i am happy with my time staying there (february 2013) / Bob

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed 5 nights with our 7 yr old. We booked the elephant suite and were wowed by the decor, attention to detail and amenities - and space!. The king size bed was slightly harder that we'd prefer, but overall we had very restful nights. The food was was delicious - breakfast and dinners included. The staff was very friendly and efficient. We felt well looked after. Although not in the centre on the 'action' it was easy and inexpensive to get a tuk-tuk to and from the hotel. The only recommendation I'd make to the management would be to enlarge the spa. I only went for one massage, but the area felt cramped and the services were pricey for what you got - especially considering we were in Thailand and you could get as good a massage in town for a fraction of the price. Similarly priced spas were much more luxurious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very good hotel, I travel a lot and was very satisfied. We stayed 3 nights in mid January. As others have commented, the service is what makes this place stand out.
Just a couple minor complaints: the rooms kind of look into each other so we tended to keep the curtains closed We had to sit by the pool for about an hour before our room was ready (we arrived early), and we had a couple mosquitos in the room that we were able to kill ourselves and were careful with leaving the door/window open after that. The hotel did provide a little repellant; I had also brought my own. Lots of mozzies in Chiang Mai. I also broke a plate soon after arriving and the maid was very gracious about cleaning it up, which my clumsy self appreciated.
We ate there a couple times besides for breakfast. Good vareity and reasonably priced and good quality. Nice rooms, clean, good A/C and hot water, and loved the tub. That is what made me book the place! It’s quiet, nicely landscaped on the river, but a bit far from the main part of town to walk, but an easy tuktuk ride. The hotel also has a free one-way shuttle to town in the evenings.
Loved Chiang Mai town, night market and Sunday evening market is not to be missed. We also did an elephant excursion and visited the temple on top of the hill. The hotel helped us arrange all of this and also advised on local restaurants, etc. I also used the hotel spa for a massage and they did a good job. It was super convenient to be able to just go downstairs. I used a local spa too; most of the high-end ones offer pick up service and it was fabulous. And so cheap compared to the West.
All in all, loved it, and want to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times when we were deciding whether to move to Chiang Mai. Now that we moved here, we send all out of town guests to the hotel to stay - its that good!

Very welcoming lobby and front desk staff. Rooms are very nicely decorated (older people might have problems with the low platform beds in some rooms). Food is okay, but not the reason to stay here. Nice view of the Ping River from the back of the hotel as well.

I believe the great customer service and friendly atmosphere make up for any thing lacking at this hotel. The only issue we had was its right near a mosque and some travelers might be woken up early by the morning call to prayers (I work in the Middle East so didn't really notice it after the first night.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's very good boutique hotel in Chiangmai. very comfortable hotel near the Ping river and not far from the night bazaar.when you come chiangmai and looking for a nice hotel pls contact with Aruntara hotel

Room Tip: room the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thaiuniquetour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed three nights at Aruntara when we recently visited Chiang Mai. It's a great boutique hotel on the river. The service was wonderful, very accomodating. The rooms are a little small, but clean and the bathroom was very spacious.

The hotel isn't in the "main" part of town but it's about a 20 minute walk down the road to the night market. In addition, the hotel provides shuttles to take folks there. Of note, because the hotel is off the beaten path, not all of the Tuk Tuk drivers are familiar. The hotel will give you a business card and a map with their address and location--be sure to take it with you when you leave the room!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with multiple people and are NOT a couple, be sure to ask for a room with two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#34 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Property: Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing