We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #36 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A most relaxing stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Aruntara and enjoyed ourselves very much. It is situated a short distance from the centre but as we had bicycles with us we were able to reach the centre and all the sights quickly and easily (the hotel also has bikes available). The grounds are peaceful with river views and the staff were always helpful and friendly. What made our stay extra special was the fact that we were lucky enough to get a room upgrade to one of the White Elephant suites, which are extremely spacious and well appointed. The only thing which could be improved upon was the buffet breakfast, which though perfectly acceptable didn't quite meet the high standards of the other aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jg6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    208
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
106
336
44
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Modern, beautiful boutique hotel located by the Mae Ping river – 10/15 min walk away from the “old town” of Chiang Mai. We found it after disappointing stay in B/B outside the Chiang Mai. The lady at the reception desk showed us the room which was decorated with rose petal and swans made from towels. After checking in we received complimentary fruits which was very nice gesture.

We stayed at the Deluxe Room (I guess the “water element” one because of the blue interior) with a view on the courtyard and it was fantastic! The room was elegantly furnished, clean, specious, amazing bathtub separated from the room with wooden sliding doors. There was also separate shower and toilet. The bed was very big but a little bit hard. Buffet breakfast was quite good – beautiful breakfast area. Simple but charming and stylish garden with unique black swimming pool is a perfect place to relax after exploring Chiang Mai. Aruntara has amazing reception area with wide choice of beauty care products. Free bicycle rental and free shuttle service to the Night Bazaar (much cheaper than in Bangkok, Phuket or Khao Lak ;))

Staff was very friendly and helpful with arranging taxi’s, local transport, tours (Elephant Nature Park and Siam Rice Thai Cookery School) advising on sightseeing’s.

Couldn't be happier to spend couple of days of our honeymoon at the Aruntara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tusialek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for almost two weeks at this delightful and relaxing hotel. With a very friendly and helpful staff. A few times housekeeping needed to be called to fix or recheck supplies, but they always handled it promptly.
The hotel is located fairly close to city centre - and a red cab or tuc tuc will get you far.
Unless you are ready to hit the street food, you need to get away from the hotel in more than walking distance - try the River Market - a very nice restaurant. The hotel ofcourse has it's own restaurant with relatively long waiting time but decent a la carte - and they are very helpful towards children.
The hotel only lacks a gym.

Room Tip: 319 - very nice (Elephant White Suite)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and loved it. It's a small, cosy but excellent in every way. I believe the service had a big part to play as nothing was too troublesome for them. I travelled with my aged parents who had difficulties in walking and the guys who helped with your bags would always help them over any stairs and doors when they see them coming. Their hospitality always came across as genuine.
Breakfast was a very quiet affair...with birds chirping all around you while you take in the pretty manicured garden right next to the Mae Ping rive. The spread is small but everything you'd want including your bacon, sausages & eggs how you would like them. My only request would be some tropical fruits that are only available in Thailand/ South East Asia be added in for good measure.
On, they have a free shuttle that leaves at 7pm to takes you to the night bazaar. You need to book a space though - although on both nights, we were the only ones on the shuttle. Highly recommended

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoanneHoSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay. The grounds floor were beautiful and serene. our garden balcony was so comfortable. The food was excellent. everyone was so friendly and helpful . We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seksan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent 6 nights at the Aruntara with my wife and young son at the end of January 2013. Everything in this hotel is superb. The staffs were outstanding. Our stay was wonderful Tara Elegance package which included dinner and free airport transfer. Room was fabulous with a large bath and shower, comfortable, clean, spacious. It's the little things like an iron and ironing board that we can request. They provide the daily free shuttle bus service to the night market great shopping. A little way from city centre (5 minute drive) but that is a good thing and they run shuttles to the main evening attractions and were able to give us a car and a driver when we wanted to drop somewhere else. For sure we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirirada k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The location, reviews and prices attracted us to stay at this hotel for three nights. The rooms were spacious although the doors are tricky to navigate given that they are narrow. The breakfast, whilst basic, is on par with other hotels we have stayed at. The staff are attentive, keen to please and helped us to arrange our time in Chiang Mai and made us feel welcome. Whilst situated on the outskirts of Chiang Mai, the hotel do provide a shuttle bus to parts of the city. But seats are limited and one night four people were left behind as the mini van was full and made their own way to city centre.

The pool is in a shaded part of the hotel so was too cold for us to enjoy. The back lawn, overlooking the river, has so much potential, and we were drawn in by the Tea room. But this was never open and does not appear ever to have been.

If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive hotel on the outskirts of the city, but within easy transport distance of the main city sights, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We have stayed at other hotels in Chiang Mai where we experienced a more enjoyable stay, hence the three stars.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#34 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Property: Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing