We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay! Felt like at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #42 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The aruntara team is fantastic! Since the moment they picked us up at the airport they were so attentive and helpful and then upon check in and all our rooms where ready early. The breakfast is very basic but you can see the staff is trying their best to assist you with anything u need in the best possible way. Overall is a nice breakfast, it has eggs, pancakes, fresh fruits, coffee tea and they change the hot dishes everyday therefore is never always the same. The hotel has a great atmosphere really cozy, fresh and modern, the staff does not annoy you they leave you to yourself and just greet u and try to help you with the tuk tuks or taxi requests anytime you need it. I would definitely come back here next time in chiang Mai!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greentan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 705 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and i stayed at this hotel for 5 nights mid Dec 2012. We booked the standard room which was absolutey beautiful, it overlooked the court yard. The staff were so helpful, they organised bike hire and day trips for us. The hotel overlooked the Ping River, eating breakfast on a morning was surreal. The rooms were immaculate, modern, they had a dvd player, it was really stunning i didnt want to leave! It was only 60 baht on a tuk tuk which security flag down for you into the night bazzar, literraly 5 minute drive. We would definately go back to this hotel on our next visit to Chiang Mai as it was just perfect, if you like luxury, this is the hotel for you. AMAZING stay here, thank you.

Room Tip: The basic room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divvydora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms are spacious and clean and well furnished and equipped. The staff is very helpful, sometimes we experienced language difficulties, but could always solve them.
The breakfast is comparably poor; it does not adequately correspond to the the quality level of the rooms, neither in variety nor in quality.
Restaurant and Tea Room were closed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went to chiangmai during new year holiday. Decided to book Aruntara from reading all good reviews. Overall I found this hotel to be very nice. Had a concern about the windows overlooking opposite rooms, but actually it's not so bad. Room has both light + thick curtains that can blocked people from seeing you in the room.

The only thing I dislike is the step to the bed. Had to be extremely careful not to miss the step every time going to the bathroom at night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_v77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had a great experience staying at the hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed and well maintained. The buffet breakfast, although limited in terms of variety of food, is very tasty and well cooked. It's quality rather than quantity.

The staff are very pleasant, polite and helpful. Their professionalism helps to make the stay all the more pleasant.

In terms of faciilities, the hotel has the following:

1. A relatively small pool to dip and relax in.
2. Spa - massage.
3. Small back garden that oversees the river. Nice spot to while away time via reading.
4. Reading room.
5. Wifi but must pay for usage.

All in all, its a very nice boutique hotel in Chiangmai. A pleasant place to come back to after a long day out at elephant camps, river rafting or simply sightseeing around Chiangmai town (night market, mall etc). Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stay here, if budget allows bok one of the white elephant suites. The best is suite 221 which has a good size balcomy at the back of the room plus an "indoor" balcony with sofas overlooking the garden in the middle of the hotel.

The staff are perfect, privacy when you want and a proper service at al times. From the warm reception you recieve upon every entry tothe hotel to the room service where they set your table you will not be left lacking.

The hotel itself is set about ten minutes walk away from the bustle of the main markets, a fairly nice walk with coffee stops along the way or 100 baht in a tuk tuk.

The hotel made us a dinner table in the middle of the garden one night, a perfect private setting with the intimacy that you would not get in a european hotel. I could not ask, or want for more service than we were given.

A big thank you to the hotel and it's team for giving us the most perfect week in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Splash out on 221, it is worth every minute that you work to pay for the trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimondSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I wanted a quiet stay away from the hustle and bustle and the Aruntara Hotel mostly delivered. My room was very comfortable -- loved the big bathtub and the functional desk space. Despite being right on a main drag, the hotel itself -- especially the area in back -- can be very quiet (except for the occasional loud prayers from the mosque down the stree). Breakfast wasn't very imaginative, but the dinners I had were great. The front desk and staff were very polite, although I think some remedial English might be in order. I've lived in Asia for 6+ years and so am used to communicating with people who don't speak good English, but I found at least two members of the staff who seemed to have absolutely no idea what I was asking for, which was a bit frustrating. I was also a little dismayed to find that my leftover room service plates put outside my door stayed outside my door for more than a full day.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the road as possible - also on the side that doesn't face the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prestonHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#34 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,010 reviews
1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#41 of 395 in Chiang Mai
978 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#29 of 395 in Chiang Mai
528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $82 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing