We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice hotel, a bit out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #42 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay. the staff was friendly, the room clean and quiet and the breakfast was also very nice with an omelette station as well as thai options. The spa was very relaxing and the bell boy very helpful. We struggled with dinner one night, the dinner staff didn't speak very good english and asking for vegetarian options was a bit of a task. It is a bit out own town, so walking to the attractions are not an option. they provide bike rentals, but I am a walker and coming back, I would choose a better location when it came to hotel preference.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberMeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 705 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel doesn't look much from the outside, but inside, its a hidden gem. The hotel is quiet, very clean and makes you feel like you aren't in a city at all. My husband and I spent a couple of days on the back area lounging. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the hustle and bustle, but the walk is pleasant and helped us work off all the food we ate!

Staff are super helpful and the crossing guards are very nice. There is a shuttle to the night market each day and available bikes to rent. Breakfast is included and is a great start. Menu is limited, but given size of the hotel, its understandable.

Bed is a little on the stiff side. Sleeps weren't great (this is my only feedback).

Would come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful small hotel.This was a haven of tranquility on the river, from the time we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful. Our room was lovely, beautiful Thai style, spacious and clean and lovely smellies in the bathroom in ceramic containers (no tiny plastic containers). This is a very peaceful hotel just outside city wall but Tuk-Tuk and Taxi always available to take you wherever you want to go (very cheap).We would definitely come back.unfortunately didn't have time to use spa so can't comment.

Room Tip: Suites are on the top floor and have large balconies, perhaps worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graceMidlandsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

• I stayed in the elephant suite. The room was gorgeous, the jacuzzi tub, wonderful.
• Breakfast was delicious
• Location is pretty terrible IMO. No view and nothing around to visit. The night bazaar is not nearly as nice as the sunday night market in old town Chiang Mai.
• The wi-fi went out during my stay and they were not able to fix it. They apologized but I needed that internet for planning. For $200 a night, they should have provided a discount for the inconvenience.
• I didn't visit the spa but it seemed overpriced.

Room Tip: The elephant suite is worth it for the giant jacuzzi tub. Bring your own liquor; mini bar is more ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DexterousCerebrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was a very good experience. A very pleasant stay for me. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was great. Services and staff welcomed me very well and they gave me a great impression. This was one of the very best places and I will be looking forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thepnorarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A lovely boutique style hotel, right on the river. Beautiful, private and amazingly quiet. Highly recommended. It is advisable to have transport and/or a motorbike and the hotel staff will arrange this for you at a very competitive price.

Room Tip: We booked the Elephant Suite and it was very comfortable and large with 2 sitting areas, king bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Interior is very modern. Breakfast area is beautiful. Its a quiet and very relaxing atmosphere. We enjoyed it very much. Service is excellent. Theres a daily free shuttle to the night bazar and free bike rentals. I will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#34 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,010 reviews
1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#41 of 395 in Chiang Mai
978 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#29 of 395 in Chiang Mai
528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: 351 / 1 Charoen Prathet Road | T Changklan, A Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $82 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aruntara Chiang Mai is a true treasure for hotel aficionados and the traveling cognoscenti alike. Its British colonial design is complimented by Northern Thai influences that embrace the present while respecting the past. High ceilings sit above beautiful towering teak columns traditionally crafted by Thai tradesman. Each of the luxurious guest rooms is designed to offer stylish accommodation with an expansive open-plan living area and an abundance of room to relax and unwind while glancing over Chiang Mai’s Mae Ping River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing