We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly and Helpful Staff - Good Location - Great Value No Rip Off Tourist”
Review of Hostel Na Nara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Na Nara
Ranked #433 of 1,189 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and Helpful Staff - Good Location - Great Value No Rip Off Tourist”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I travel to bangkok a lot and have finally come across a guest house / hotel that I can now call my home while in Bangkok. the staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. the accomodation is of a good standard, comfortable and very clean. The management of this establishment really have got it right by not ripping off tourists with food, drink, internet and laundry prices, wow this is a first for me.
The food is really tasty and very very reasonable, the internet and wi fi is free for guests and the in house laundry is also reasonably priced giving you no reason to return with dirty laundry.
The location is great for all the bars and sights, I enjoy the 10 minute walk to the gay bars and clubs each evening. The hotel is run by gay management and obviously gay friendly and every one is welcome and accepted, I would recommend this hotel to each and every one what ever your preference.
I used to stay at BBB Inn but no more, as I have found a better alternative and service with a smile which always helps make your stay more comfortable.
I would fully recommend this hotel for single travellers and couples a like, its not 5 star luxury but you wont be disappointed for the value and service that you will receive.
Well done to the management and staff at Om Yim Lodge, please keep up the good work and service as it really is appreciated.
Michael
London

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
3
21
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

When I first started to go to Bangkok 15+ years ago I was able to stay in some fairly up-market hotels - and yes, it can be nice to have doormen salute you every time you leave and staff to lay your towel out on your poolside chair before you park your backside.

I no longer stay in such hotels, first because they seem to have got a lot more expensive in relative terms (including the £/Baht conversion rate) and second because I have realised there really is no need.

You don't go to Bangkok to stay in a hotel room, therefore, who cares if you can turn off all the lights from a panel beside the bed? Om Yim has everything a traveller would need., except perhaps a pool, but you can live without that for a few days. It was cosy, clean, very well connected via the skytrain network and friendly. On top of that the place is very good value for money for the capital city (and I stayed in the largest room on the top floor).

I am already booked to stay again when I return to Bangkok in May and even with the myriad of choices available at all prices in the city, I will be very content to return to Om Yim.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank apbarkway2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Every time I went back to Thailand (I am Thai), I do have to stay in hotel, in BBK at least f3-4 days for shopping and catching up with friends. Omyim Lodge was one that i like to recommend to both Thai and foreigner. You will be treated as well as every guests.

The place more like big guest house but there are every things you need like other hotels. Room is not so big but was good decoration for this price, bathroom is good clean for a clean toilet freak. Please note, towel was old but clean.

Location, location..... this is the best. We love that BTS is just out there. I do not have to flight with taxis anymore.

Breakfast, serving until 4 pm and you can pick some from menu too. I don't remember which page that you can order instead of ordinary breakfast.

In overall, of course you can't compare with 4-5 stars hotels but this is an option that make you comfortable enough and it is affordable. More extra money for shopping ^^.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My partner and I travel to Bangkok very frequently. We have stayed in many types of hotel there but none can beat Omyim Lodge for value, location and friendliness. The price is budget but everything else about the place far exceeds any other budget hotel in Bangkok and some that are not budget. The staff give a warm and friendly feel to the place and nothing is too much trouble for them. The restaurant serves excellent Thai and western food and, breakfast is until 4pm (wow) Love that!!!
The rooms are all equipped with TV, Fridge, daily drinking water, Tea/Coffe, aircon, wi-fi (which works everywhere in the place) or lan on request and safe. The windows are double glazed so NO NOISE!!!
If you are a bit lazy like us then having the sky train just 30 meters away is a godsend. However if you are going to the night life in Silom Road you can stroll there in 10 minuits.
The guests seem to be mixed (straight and gay) but its not in your face so if you are not gay dont worry about it.
The owner is a young Thai guy named Aek, he manages the place to really good standards as do his staff. Well done Aek and staff for creating this beauty of a home from home.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petersperfct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stayed in June for three nights during a quick leisure trip to bangkok.

The positives - right on the Chong Nonsi skytrain which is a godsend. Also within walking distance of the Patpong night markets (lots of fun) and walking distance to Healthlands Spa (excellent, professional massage, health and spa treatments).

The Thai staff at the lodge are friendly and helpful.

The negatives... unfortunately the big negative was that the owner of the hotel was away on holiday and had left some rather crude European and Australian men in charge of the place. Their language (on many occasions) left a lot to be desired and this included the use of swear words and discussing the various problems they have had with Thai boyfriends (and other things which are not suitable to print here).

I felt uncomfortable.

There is no lift in this property and while the staff are happy to carry your luggage for you, it is still a hike in unairconditioned hall ways up and down to your room.

The rooms themselves are very basic, but they do have everything you need in terms of airconditioning, tea/coffee, a safe, hot water and free wi-fi. The beds themselves are large and I slept well.

Breakfast is included in the rate and was cooked to order. It was ok (eggs and toast and coffee). I tried a couple of other plates of food at dinner time and they were very average.

Finally, the hotel seems to have no concept of privacy. Each day I was there the full list of all hotel guests (including first and last names) was left in full view on the front counter.

Unfortunately I would not stay at this place again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Rooms- good spacious/clean/have fridge & tv. Bed very comfortable
Location: - very good right next to BTS skytrain
Food: Breakfast small but acceptable. Other meals good value and good quality.
Facilities: Free internet/wifi
For the price you pay it is excellent.
Only complaint some staff are not the usual Thai friend for life you normally find.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifes-Real-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

The hotel is centrally located next to chong nonsi metro station and only a couple of metro stops from the river on one side and silom nightlife on the other side. So I found the location to be excellent. Staff were extremely friendly, but then I share the same experience with the staff all over Thailand.
I had a big room oberlooking the street with big window so it was a bit noisy. Bathroom was very big and clean, and the food served for breakfast- a bit small portions but then they served excellent dinners with a touch of European and Thai cuisine. Great value for money and already recommended it to few of my friends
Daniel

  • Liked — staff and location
  • Disliked — small breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank danielstockholm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
#302 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Silom
Sabai Sathorn
Sabai Sathorn
#296 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#747 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Silom
Good One Hostel & Cafe Bar
Good One Hostel & Cafe Bar
#17 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Silom
Quad Suites Silom
Quad Suites Silom
#492 of 1,189 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Na Nara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Na Nara

Property: Hostel Na Nara
Address: 72-74 Narathiwasratchanakarin Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Om Yim Lodge)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,189 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Na Nara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Na Nara is located less than 50 metres from Chong Nonsri BTS station. It provides both private and dormitory rooms with free Wi-Fi, laundry and luggage storage. The hostel is opposite the La Lai Sap Market, a 10-minute walk from Patpong and Hindu Temple. Suvarnabhumi Airport is 38 km away. On-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Na Nara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Om Yim Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing