We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disappointed”
Review of Hostel Na Nara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Na Nara
Ranked #476 of 1,245 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Brunei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not disappointed”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This budget hotel was recommended by a friend of mine. The taxi driver had a hard time finding it when we reached Bangkok. Just tell the taxi driver its near Chong Nosi BTS station next time. Checking in was easy. Staff were friendly and could carry your luggage for you to your room. I had to move to another room (since I booked for the cheapest room but it was unavailable during the first night I was in Bangkok) and they said they will moved my lugggage to the other room for me. Convenient. The cheapest room I was staying had no window but it was big. No claustrophobic feeling for me. Aircond was cold. Towel available with free soap/shampoo. The toilet was clean. Housekeeping done everyday. Downside was that there were no iron in the room (but you can ask them to do that for a cheap price). Had TV with the Thai channels in there.. had a kettle, thermos (water boiler) .. and the usual complimentary water, coffee and tea. And the most thing I needed most - FREE wireless.. very fast!! Im so chuffed! They do locked the door around midnight though, so if you are out and about at night, and going back late, just ring the door bell and they will let you in. So its ok for me. I so recommend the hotel. (",) And the staff are so nice.

Room Tip: The cheapest room is BIG! If you are a non-smoker do not ask for room at level 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTouristBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmYimLodge, Owner at Hostel Na Nara, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hi Happy Tourist BN.
You are not the first to get lost in a Taxi in Bangkok. We now have our own car that we do airport transfers with and this way you will not get lost. hehe....
Sometimes the staff lock the door early but they are always around as we have 24 hour reception for ease of checking in and out at any time because the flights in and out of Bangkok are 24 hour as well and it also means you can enjoy the night life around Bangkok and come home when you are ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
3
22
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Summertown, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Excellent location--close to the elevated train which takes you about everywhere--or connects to everywhere. I had the least expensive room with no window--was great--no noise and no sun coming in the window--if you do not want to carry your bags up and down the stairs one of the employees will.. Was able to leave my bags here when I went out on several trips into Thailand. Meals were ok but right next door was a great Chinese place that served several types of Tofu and had fantastic soy milk--great place if you are vegetarian. the crew was always helpful and wifi in all the rooms. If you need something and the crew does not understand--which never happened just wait for the mgr who is Australian
This is a gay owned place but I booked rooms for three straight long time friends-everyone enjoyed the place

Room Tip: the room with no windows was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmYimLodge, Owner at Hostel Na Nara, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hi David. Thanks for your kind words about our lodge. Our staff try very hard to help all of our guests and there English is good for the most part. Hopefully we will see you guys again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very nice staff great location just a shot walk to the sky train and the man bar areas in Bangkok some nice restaurant near by to what more can you ask for. Also a very good price to and very clean. No point in looking for anywhere else and would stay again no problem.

Room Tip: go for one with the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynese15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmYimLodge, Owner at Hostel Na Nara, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hi. Thanks for your kind words, we try as hard as we can to keep the lodge clean.
Yes it is very handy for guests having the sky train entrance just 30 meters away.
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great little lodge if you are on a budget. Well located, about 2 mins from Chong Nonsi BTS. Also close to the attractions of Silom Rd, Patpong and the night markets. Clean and basic accommodation. Bathrooms could do with some attention to detail. Beds are large and very comfortable. Spacious rooms. No lift though, so beware if you don't like steps! Staff are very friendly and helpful. The small kitchen serves great food that is reasonably priced. Very nice spa next door for a high quality massage or facial - again at reasonable prices. The free wifi is always a bonus and works very well. Have stayed many times and happy to come back. If only the bathrooms got a makeover!

Room Tip: Ask for level 1 if you don't like the steps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztraveller2Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 10 days over the Songkran period... I thought it was a great no-frills guesthouse. It's basic but clean. The bathroom definitely needs some work but I could still take a shower.

The best part of course is the location. It's within walking distance to the Silom night life area and right next to the sky train for easy access to other parts of the city. There's a great reasonably priced restaurant downstairs. Unfortunately it's only open for breakfast and lunch but not dinner.

The only negative for me was the staff. Other than the Australian guy, who I assumed to be the manager, the staff were not overly welcoming and very much gave the impression they'd be happier if the guests weren't there. But for the price, what do you expect?

Next time I'm in Bangkok, Baan Saladaeng will be my first choice. I tried to book it this time but it was full. Om Yim Lodge would be my second choice.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was my first stay at the Om Yim guesthouse and I was not disappointed. It is well located next to Chong Nonsi BTS station allowing one to get across Bangkok quickly. Being on busy Naratiwat Road also gives one quick access to meter cabs to get you to either airport (about 270 baht only!!) painlessly. I had a large double room which was well appointed and, unusually, had lots of storage space and lots of electric sockets. There is free wi-fi and daily English language Thai newspapers. Their restaurant has a good selection of Thai and western food, including a decent breakfast at a very modest cost. There is no lift but staff will help carry bags/suitcases for you.

Room Tip: I had room number 12, a large well appointed double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank talismanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Apart from a big discussion on check-in about whether my reservation included breakfast or not, and a rather unfriendly receptionist (maybe because he lost the discussion - wanting to charge me for breakfast), everything else about Om Yim is great, location next to BTS station, opposite McDonalds & 7/11 & short walk to Silom, rooms clean, reasonable size, & comfortable bed, bathroom ok xcept shower in Room 21 needs attention but otherwise adequate & plenty of hot water. Rooms on 3rd floor are a bit of a hike with no elevator but willing staff will take luggage up for you. All in all a good value hotel in an excellent location with mainly friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Try for 1st floor room even if paying a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
#270 of 867 in Bangkok
1,503 reviews
Silom
Sabai Sathorn
Sabai Sathorn
#210 of 867 in Bangkok
126 reviews
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#747 of 867 in Bangkok
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Cafe ice Residences
Cafe ice Residences
#91 of 670 in Bangkok
46 reviews
Silom
Triple 8 Inn Silom
Triple 8 Inn Silom
#151 of 670 in Bangkok
62 reviews
Silom
Quad Suites Silom
Quad Suites Silom
#529 of 1,245 in Bangkok
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Na Nara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Na Nara

Property: Hostel Na Nara
Address: 72-74 Narathiwasratchanakarin Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Formerly Om Yim Lodge)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 1,245 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Na Nara 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Na Nara is located less than 50 metres from Chong Nonsri BTS station. It provides both private and dormitory rooms with free Wi-Fi, laundry and luggage storage. The hostel is opposite the La Lai Sap Market, a 10-minute walk from Patpong and Hindu Temple. Suvarnabhumi Airport is 38 km away. On-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Na Nara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Om Yim Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing