We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but tasty - could do with a facelift” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bug and Bee - CLOSED

Bug and Bee
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Silom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple but tasty - could do with a facelift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Great modern cafe-style Thai and Thai fusion, with some really nice dishes - both traditional and also some more creative dishes. Particularly liked the breakfast Thai rice porridge, and the mini mango chicken kievs. The interior is looking a bit worse for wear though - doesn't befit the quality of the place. Still, would highly recommend for something simple but reliable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tebiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    35
    28
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Veggie Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This restaurant isn't a vegetarian restaurant, but offers a very reasonable amount of vegetarian dishes, with labels to indicate which ones are also vegan.
I have been in Thailand a while now, and still love every mouthful of food I consume, but the vegetarian options have been getting pretty repetative, I've been wishing for a slight change from pumpkin, potato or zuccini curry/stir fry.
I ordered the wing bean red curry stir fry with rice. It was absolutely delicious, and gave what it promised on the menu (i have noticed a lot of restaurants will warn food is very spicy, and then served to me quite mild). This wasn't a particularly spicy dish, but the point is that it was essentially what it said on the tin.
Food was also very beautifully and elegantly presented, there's only so much vegetable carving you can witness before it becomes tacky rather than cool.
Given the area, it was also very cheap. For my meal and a drink I paid about 160THB.
My only constructive criticism would be the staff could maybe improve their english a little. It may sound slightly ignorant to suggest this, given that I speak no more than 2 words of thai, but it's just what one comes to expect, especially as the location is very central and touristy.
Also, for me, as extensive as the dessert menu was, I have been constantly disappointed with the lack of thai dessert options apart from mango sticky rice. However, there is definitely a lot of choice if you enjoy a big heavy dessert!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“extensive menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

they catered for non and vegetarian. extensive choice of food and drink menu. averagely priced and really recommended.
but the space can be very congested sometimes and the aircond seems like not too cold

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank akublues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Below Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Foods are below average n pricey. Still he a lot of room for improvement from the service to presentation of the foods.

Helpful?
Thank ps w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bt btk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food taste moderate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I would definitely pay a visit to a street food kiosk and give them my dollar any time. But if you want an AC place to rest n have some food, can patronize here

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ndro69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing