We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and comfortable”
Review of happy guest house

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
happy guest house
Ranked #351 of 698 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have stayed here for 5 nights in March 2012 and had a good stay. We paid 800 baht per night, which is ok for a room with TV, aircon, hot water and wifi in the room. Room are not that big but the bed is really good. The location is good. Just 5 minutes walk from Khao San Road. The rooms on the front side might be a little bit noisy at night but in the rooms in the back you are not bothered by street noise.
The personnel in the restaurant could be a bit friendlier but the food is good. Personnel behind the reception are really friendly and helpful.

All in all a good choice if you are on a budget but not that thight.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for happy guest house
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 140 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at happy house for 4 nights in total, we initially booked for 2 but our plans changed and we we more than Happy to stay there. First of all, the staff are really friendly. The reception team are always cheery and very helpful.

We opted for the compact double room, for 590 Baht per night, This room was basic but clean. The bed was hard but comfortable and the bathroom was small but adequate. The room was by no means luxury but I cannot really fault it based on price. All rooms have a padlock loop on the door so you can use your own or one from reception.

The hotels location is perfect, after a few days in Bangkok we realised we much preferred staying near Sol Rambuttri as opposed to Khao San Road. (Although you can still walk there in less than 5 minutes when you like). We could still here a bit of street noise and music at night but not nearly loud enough to bother us in the slightest.

The cafe downstairs was really comfortable with a good reliable wifi connection and reasonably priced good quality food. They were never over busy so did not mind us taking up a table for long periods when we needed the wifi. They also seemed to show movies but its probably not the best place in the area to watch them with a beer.

Overall we felt Happy House was a really good no frills budget option for the easy going traveller. The staff really did bump my star rating up from 3 to 4 because I could not fault them and they always left me with a smile on my face.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the first floor you can usually get a wifi signal in the room. It does not reac...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This ticks all the boxes for cheap, clean and friendly backpacker accomodation. It is set just off soi Rambuttri and is near everything. Have stayed here a few times now and would recommend if you are on a budget but don't want to stay somewhere grimy for the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Location is good, for real. About five minutes from Kaosan Road. A lot of canteens of every kind around, minimarket right one the corner, great lobby with sofas, etc. Room itself is OK, but not expect too much. Stayed for two nights there, and on the second one a huge cockroach payed a visit to our bathroom and scared the hell of the girl. Not a big deal, but he is not a neighbor either.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZHDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Location is good. Room is fine. Service is normal. If it comes with wifi in room then I would recommend it. 660baht per night is a bit high compare to few guesthouse which is just few street away with free wifi and better room.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heilongxiaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is located in a nice quieter and greener part of Bangkok's tourist area. The hotel staff are nice and friendly, however the restaurant staff could be more polite. I stayed for a 5 days and the whole time the internet & wifi did not work at the hotel. The room is fine and the shower was in good working order and the aircon very new.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of hotel are quieter
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Despite the attractive website and our first impression, there is little happy about this place. The pictures shown on the webiste or at the frontdesk are not the ones you will sleep in. We booked the compact room and paid 600 Bh/night. Room was too small and dirty. Due to thin walls we heared noise and screaming all night. For us it was clear, we did not like the atmosphere in the hotel or neighbourhood at all but if you feel like meeting lots of noisy and drunk people, this might be your place!

Room Tip: Walk only 5 minutes further direction area Thanon and choose a guesthouse with a perfect price/ qual...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#359 of 880 in Bangkok
447 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#16 of 880 in Bangkok
1,729 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#646 of 880 in Bangkok
587 reviews
Banglamphu
Happio Hotel
Happio Hotel
#756 of 1,283 in Bangkok
98 reviews
Banglamphu
A&A Guest House
A&A Guest House
#148 of 698 in Bangkok
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to happy guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about happy guest house

Address: 46 Soi chanasongkhram, PraArthit Road, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 698 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing