We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of happy guest house

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
happy guest house
Ranked #340 of 643 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Location is good, for real. About five minutes from Kaosan Road. A lot of canteens of every kind around, minimarket right one the corner, great lobby with sofas, etc. Room itself is OK, but not expect too much. Stayed for two nights there, and on the second one a huge cockroach payed a visit to our bathroom and scared the hell of the girl. Not a big deal, but he is not a neighbor either.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZHDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    43
    55
    20
    11
See reviews for
9
59
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Location is good. Room is fine. Service is normal. If it comes with wifi in room then I would recommend it. 660baht per night is a bit high compare to few guesthouse which is just few street away with free wifi and better room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heilongxiaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is located in a nice quieter and greener part of Bangkok's tourist area. The hotel staff are nice and friendly, however the restaurant staff could be more polite. I stayed for a 5 days and the whole time the internet & wifi did not work at the hotel. The room is fine and the shower was in good working order and the aircon very new.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Despite the attractive website and our first impression, there is little happy about this place. The pictures shown on the webiste or at the frontdesk are not the ones you will sleep in. We booked the compact room and paid 600 Bh/night. Room was too small and dirty. Due to thin walls we heared noise and screaming all night. For us it was clear, we did not like the atmosphere in the hotel or neighbourhood at all but if you feel like meeting lots of noisy and drunk people, this might be your place!

Room Tip: Walk only 5 minutes further direction area Thanon and choose a guesthouse with a perfect price/ qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
305 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed one night in a double room AC with my wife and baby boy.
The rooms are quite small but clean,wifi is free and they have their own restaurant.
1000bath room deposit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We booked a room online 2 days before our arrival in Bangkok. When we got there the place was crowded and people were standing in line to get a room, so make sure to call or book your place in advance. One of the girls checked our reservation and showed us 2 rooms to choose from: the only difference was that one of them had a TV, otherwise they are all the same- extremely small,clean, with the bed occupying most of the space, AC and hot water shower. As we weren't planning to spend our days in the room this was quite a bargain. In they lobby they had a small restaurant with yummy thai food and right next to it there was also a travel agency from which we booked some trips around Bangkok.
This place has the huge advantage of its location, as it's really close to Khaosan Road and even if the monsoon season wasn't over, we had no problems what so ever with floods or blocked roads. I would definitely stay at Happy House the next time I'll travel to Bangkok

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desireehalaseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night, as we couldn't stand to stay anymore. We were in a double room where we paid about 600 baht. There were little ants that we were afraid, was going to make it into our bags. The stunk like cigarette smoke and it was probably the smallest room I had ever seen. There was barely any room for the door to open. The bathroom was very gloomy and beaten up. In the pictures the room looked comfortable and basic, but this was a huge disappointment, considering all of the MANY other options you have around Khao san road.

The bed was large but felt like a piece of wood. The mattress had a sheet on it, but felt more like a rubber sheet. There was no real blanket given either.
The only good thing about the room was receiving air conditioning, which is rare for that price point. But it was needed to take the smoke smell away.

All in all, spend a few extra baht, or look around (beside it, across from it or just around the corner) a bit more. I am a budget traveler and I am always looking for a bit of a deal, but when it comes down to it, spending maybe an extra dollar or two, will put you into something WAY more comfortable. Though I wouldn't even try paying for a nicer room at this place. This place was awful, don't waste your time.

Room Tip: Always make sure to tour the room before committing to pay. When inspecting look at the small things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#328 of 858 in Bangkok
441 reviews
Banglamphu
Happio Hotel
Happio Hotel
#719 of 1,192 in Bangkok
93 reviews
Banglamphu
Phra Arthit Mansion
Phra Arthit Mansion
#365 of 643 in Bangkok
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Siri Suvan @ Rambuttri Guest House
Banglamphu
HIIG Hostel
HIIG Hostel
#609 of 1,192 in Bangkok
2 reviews
Banglamphu
Four Sons Village
Four Sons Village
#422 of 643 in Bangkok
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to happy guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about happy guest house

Property: happy guest house
Address: 46 Soi chanasongkhram, PraArthit Road, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing