We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ceases to please”

Rang Mahal Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 11,609 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Traditionally, "Rang Mahal" was the pleasure house and banqueting room specially decorated by Indian Kings. Rang Mahal concentrates on offering truly, authentic Northern India delicacies all whilst taking in some of the best views of Bangkok. Winner of Thailand Tatler's Best Restaurant for over a decade.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have eaten several times at the Rang Mahal. My family who live in Bangkok eat there regularly. I do without fail when visiting BKK. Last week we all had another excellent meal. The service is second to none and they had a big engagement party in but still we received the same attentive service as always. The variety of dishes. the flavours, the music and the service make this one of THE very best restaurants. If in Bangkok do visit for Sunday Brunch. I should add that it is not expensive - just darn good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorPico, Manager at Rang Mahal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Patron,

We would like to thank you for taking out time from your schedule to visit Rang Mahal whenever you are in Bangkok city and also thank you for your compliments about the food and service at Rang Mahal.Your feedback is always encouraging and it surely motivates us to do better in providing consistent service and good quality dining experience to all our guests.

Regarding the Sunday Brunch buffet, recently we have made the buffet spread much more elaborate so that our guests can enjoy the variety of dishes from different regions of India.

We look forward to welcome you back at Rang Mahal in near future.

Sincerely,
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 526 of 850 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a must do for any gourmet visiting Bangkok, I am never disappointed, great service, great food and great views

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DAVEJAPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorPico, Manager at Rang Mahal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Patron,

Rang Mahal team would like to Thank you for patronizing Rang Mahal frequently and for your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcome you at Rang Mahal in future and also promise to deliver the same consistency with regards to delicious food and services.

Thank you,
Manager, Rang Mahal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The view from the 26th floor was phenomenal, the food was exquisite and the staff were excellent. The best Indian I have ever had.

Thank TPert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorPico, Manager at Rang Mahal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your five star rating for Rang Mahal and also we thank you for your compliments about the food and service at our restaurant. Feedback like this certainly helps us in keeping ourselves motivated to do even better in terms of providing a good dining experience to our guests.
The view from the restaurant is certainly mesmerizing and it surely makes the dining experience for our guests at Rang Mahal much more pleasant and memorable.

Sincerely,
Rang Mahal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What once was my all-time Indian food restaurant is now the place I won't return to. To be clear: Rang Mahal is still the stunningly located restaurant with enchanting views, especially at night, and a great decor. However, this is not enough for an expensive restaurant (for Thai standards) in a very competitive, food loving city. My guess is that it will go down quickly, if not significant course corrections are made very fast. The evening started already on a wrong foot since the reservation was lost. The food: The semolina pancakes with tamarind sauce was an ugly plate, the Murgh Chicken Tikka Marsala which consisted once of succulent large pieces of white meat disappoints today with chicken leftovers hiding under a thick sauce. Big let-down. I won't return, ever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorPico, General Manager at Rang Mahal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Allow us to thank you for patronizing Rang Mahal frequently in the past and also we thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent dining experience at Rang Mahal.

Please accept our sincere apology for the disappointment you had with regards to your dining experience at our restaurant on your recent visit.

Your feedback is very constructive and we have taken it very seriously.The feedback has been shared with the Rang Mahal team and we are taking all the corrective measures in order to keep the consistency of food so that it does not lead to any disappointment to our guests.

Regarding the reservations at our restaurant, we are working on making our internal communication more effective so that it does not lead to any disappointment to our guests on their arrival at the restaurant.

We promise that when you will visit Rang Mahal in future, you will surely have a good and memorable dining experience like you had been having for past many years and Rang Mahal will remain your all time favorite Indian cuisine restaurant.

Sincerely,
Manager, Rang Mahal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Being an NRI it's always a great to find good authentic Indian food outside my hometown! The restaurant has great views and the service is good

Its good to call ahead and get a good seat by the window and take in the views

Thank ClintonAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenorPico, Manager at Rang Mahal Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Raven Frost,

Rang Mahal team would like to thank you for your nice feedback about the food and service.

We are delighted to know that at Rang Mahal we are able to give you the same flavor and taste of authentic Indian cuisine as you get in India. Our Chefs, surely do not compromise with the authenticity and true flavors of the dishes they prepare for our guests.

Your feedback is surely motivating for our team and we look forward to welcome you back at Rang Mahal in near future.

Sincerely,
Manager-Rang Mahal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rang Mahal Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Rang Mahal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing