We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good BUDGET hotel with some nice touches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #151 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good BUDGET hotel with some nice touches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

I was a little bit skeptical about this hype on TA about this place. It turned out that it really was a good decision to stay there while exploring BKK. The hotel is in a quiet alley but close to the main street. The neighborhood looks a little bit dodgy but its safe place both day and night. Its 10mns walk to kohsan road and 15mns to the temples, Buddhas ect.
The hotel is clean, not expensive, staff is nice and helpful. Bathrooms are small and simple but we didnt mind. For that price it is a really good choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oasisman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    739
    140
    37
    27
See reviews for
352
935
97
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

Lovely small hotel making a big effort. Staff were very helpful, location excellent for Grand Palace and KSR etc, we had a wonderful stay with 4 families all meeting up here. Lovely breakfast. Free wifi in lobby. Great little pool. I feel lucky to have found it via tripadvisor as there are a lot of not so nice hotels in Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninthtoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

Although the hotel is somewhat hidden that is one of its benefits. Used AOT vehicle to get there from airport. The driver had no trouble once we gave him the instructions the hotel sent. Breakfasts were excellent and plenty of it. As we were only there on stop over had our evening meals there too. Very inexpensive.
Nice area on the roof top, it is a pity it is not promoted more. Very handy to Khao San road and a relatively short walk to the river taxi service which is a cheap way to get around Bangkok.
Staff very friendly and extremely helpful especially getting luggage to and from taxi.
We had two superior rooms which were more than adequate for two nights.
Great little hotel handy to the old quarter and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tboneChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

In comparison to other places in Bangkok, this place represents excellent value for money. Sure, the location could be a little better, but that's why this place is cheaper than most. I've noticed in some reviews people complain about the canal smelling - it was fine when we were there, didn't notice it at all.

From a location point of view, it's a 10-15 minutes walk from Khao San Road, and also a 10 minute walk from the river ferries. If Khao San isn't your scene though, like it wasn't ours, you might want to have a think about what you want from Bangkok - if you want to be somewhere a bit more central, it may be worth shopping around some more.

The rooms were fine, although a wee bit small. Very clean, no problems there. The main complaint is that the walls were thin, and we could hear people in the room next to ours talking at night, which was a bit of a pain. There is supposed to be free wifi available in the rooms according to their website, but the signal was very variable in our original room on one of the higher floors (but that room had a good view!). We moved to a room on the second floor, where the wifi was variable but a little better.

The included breakfast was excellent, and the pool was nice - however, being right next to reception it's not that private so bear that in mind!

Excellent service from the staff - they were really friendly when you consider how people in Bangkok can be! Come well prepared in knowing how to get to the hotel - taxi drivers don't have much of an idea at all.

On balance, this is a good place to stay when compared to other places in Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed 4 nights in July. The hotel is OK, well located (although the poverty around the hotel may result shocking to some people), the common areas are beautiful (particularly the swimming pool), breakfast was correct, our room was basic but nice (the views were just roofs), and I would have rated this hotel as "very good"... but a pair of trousers were stolen from my suitcase in my room.

The day the trousers were stolen, our room was not made, but one of the hand towels was missing, thus someone from the service had entered the room. I explained everything to the person at the reception desk and, suddenly, nobody spoke English at the hotel. I was told to wait, I had to explain everything again to at least 3 other members of the staff, but nothing was done. The only thing that happened was that our room was neither done the following day... I received no apologies or explanations. It was quite disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadridWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

I've stayed at the Lamphu Tree House in February and in September of this year. Most recently, I stayed there with my adult son, who was recovering from retina re-attachment surgery in Bangkok. Perfect recovery spot - friendly, helpful staff; full buffet breakfast; relaxing pool and quiet atmosphere; close, but not too close, to Kao San Road. A real, rather than touristified, neighbourhood. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

Double Room was basic, view wasn't great!
Roof top terrace was nice with a view over the city. DOnt think many people even knew it was there though. Maybe they should open a bar up there! Pool is small. Breakfast was good. Internet was pay as you go.
Close to main tourist area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dosulli8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#37 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#133 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#66 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#187 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#51 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Property: Lamphu Tree House
Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#96 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing