We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted it to be!”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #142 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are a young professional couple and stayed at Lamphu Tree House for 2 nights on a 2 week trip around Thailand. We wanted a location close to Koh San Road, but not right in the hustle and bustle, and somewhere we could easily explore Bangkok from.

The Lamphu Tree house delivered this and more! The hotel staff were really welcoming and let us check in early, with a nice glass of fruit juice to refresh us after a long flight! The room was not 5*, but then it doesn't claim to be, but we got a great nights sleep, with very efficent air con, good safe etc.

We started every day full with a great breakfast; tasty and great selection catering for all tastes! The swimming pool is great and very nice for cooling off after a manic day in Bangkok, and they provide towels, shower etc for if you would like to use the pool for the day after you check out, whilst waiting for the overnight train to Chiang Mai for example. They also provided a secure luggage store which was so useful.

Wifi was great too, and free, and the hotel food (we had thai) was gorgeous as well.

The walk to Koh San Road was about 7 mins max and very easy to do, and easy to navigate round Bangkok. Some tuk-tuk/taxi drivers didn't know where the hotel was, but you just need to be clear and have a map and it is fine, not a complaint to the hotel! Also, there is another hotel with a similar name, 'Lamphu house' or something like that on Koh San Road so just be mindful that they might take you there!

As another reviewer said, when we wanted to get to the train station when we were going to Chiang Mai, the hotel staff wrote it in Thai for us to give to the taxi driver so we didn't get lost!

Firmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lamphu tree house 3 times over our 3 week holiday to asia. We have stayed here many times in the past too as it is close to all the main tourist spots and also khao san road.
This time we stayed in the second building. The rooms are bigger and nicer than the first building but obviously breakfast and the pool is in building one. This didnt bother us as it is a 1 minute walk.
On arrival on second visit we were upgraded to the suite which has amazing views over bangkok and a brilliant balcony.
The service is excellent....when we left at 4am to go to one of the airports, a staff member wrote which airport it was in thai so we could just hand the note to the taxi driver

Thank you very much

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived after a long flight feeling disheveled and exhausted. Walking through the open restaurant/entrance to reception room felt like a great ahhhhh. We were greeted professionally and given a glass of cold juice while we checked in. During our email exchange we were unsure what room we would get, but were told we were upgraded to a superior. It was spacious even with the extra cot for our son, and the aircon worked great. My only dissappointment was the shower which was a mere dribble of hot water. The breakfast buffet had a big selection, and the restaurant area was relaxing. We found the location reasonable for seeing the sights such as Wat Pho. Just a short walk away, my husband found a canal commuter boat that took us directly to the Siam Square/MBK area for shopping and seeing the Jim Thompson house. We used this boat several times. The staff was professional, courteous and exceptionally helpful.

Room Tip: We had both a superior and standard room in the main building when we added a night to our stay. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We (family with 7 and 9-year old girls) stayed in this hotel during our first visit to Bangkok. We booked the hotel on the website of the hotel. When we asked the owner some questions, we got an immediate answer in good English.
We had a superior room with one kid sleeping on the couch (sleeps like a normal bed) and one kid on an extra bed. This didn't leave us much space in the room, but hey, the room is just for sleeping.The room was nice, clean and with good aircon.
We were tired and didn't want to go far the first evening, so after a quick plunge in the pool ,we had a nice dinner at the restaurant in the hotel and for a good price!
The breakfast was also very good.
We also liked it that we could walk to a lot of attractions. Kao San Road, the Grand Palace, etc. If you walk to the river (10 min walk), you can take the river taxi to the Grand Palace or the Wat Pho. Also nice when it's very warm.
Being in this hotel just felt good.

Room Tip: We liked being in the main building, but didn't see the other location. If you ask by email, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinekeVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and had the unique opportunity to stay at both locations. We were were in the second building our first night. It was really pretty and comfortable - good value for money.

The next morning, for some mysterious reason, the electronic lock on our door stopped working. The hotel needed to call in a repairman, but instead of making us wait around all day they let us move to a more expensive room in the main building. This was really generous of them and underscores the professionalism of the staff.

However, we weren't as impressed with the 'better' room in the main building. It was clean and comfortable, but it was a bit aged and nothing special. We had no major problems with the room, but it just wasn't as nice as the first.

Other notes: breakfast was good; super-late check-in at 2:00am is no problem; relatively quiet and peaceful neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the Lamphu Tree last February (2013) and absolutely loved the quiet place and location. Rooms are starting to get old, but we were exactly what we expected. Good service. Close to KhoSan road. We also walked to Grand Palace and Wat Po. (15-20 minutes)
We certainly enjoyed the clean and lovely pool after a very hot day outside!
We certainly recommend it and would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claumax8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here last visit and loved it however thought as we were on a budget would try to find somewhere a little cheaper. We hunted yet ended up back at the Lampu as nothing else represented half of the value we received here. We just love the arty touches and view from the window. The manager is so kind, suggesting a couple of eating places that proved to be excellent. All the staff were outstanding in service. The breakfast kept us going for ages. Coming back after a day out always felt restful and comfortable.
Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#48 of 891 in Bangkok
460 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 891 in Bangkok
1,476 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#139 of 891 in Bangkok
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#172 of 891 in Bangkok
1,340 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#162 of 891 in Bangkok
185 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#180 of 891 in Bangkok
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $55 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphu Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing