We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is it about this place?”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #149 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What is it about this place?”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I don't know what makes this place so memorable but it is one of my favourite hotels in Asia. The cost is budget/ midrange but for these prices it is such a lovely hotel. The location is perfect, in walking or short taxi ride of a lot of tourist sites but away from the main tourist drag. The rooms are beautifully turned out and some have nice views over the canal. We ended up going to Bangkok on 3 separate occasions and stayed here every time.
The pool is lovely and open 24hours, perfect for a late night swim after a couple of drinks.
The manager was very helpful and upgraded us when they were quiet which was lovely.
We stayed in both the main building and the separate building. The separate building was cheaper and the rooms were slightly newer and a little nicer, but it was a little bit of a walk from the main building which was a pain for breakfast and the pool.
The breakfast is fantastic. Come hungry.
Bring repellent- mosquitoes are a pest.
You might even spot a monitor lizard in the canal from your window!

Room Tip: If you're not bothered about the pool, stay in the separate building for cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    751
    146
    37
    28
See reviews for
363
951
100
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the staff: the hotel staff made sure we had a metered taxi for our travels around the city. They called one of their contacts, a driver who would not rip us off. When we wanted to make a special trip to a store in the Bangkok suburbs they arranged a driver for us at very little profit for the hotel.

Although we had come to Thailand for the food and the shopping the tasty entrees at the restaurant kept us dining in for most of our meals. My favorite on the menu: the Penang curry.

The rooms are spotless with traditional Thai touches. The suites on the roof deck offer privacy and opulence at the same time. For the regular rooms, the air conditioning and shower work well. My only complaint was the tattered shower curtain.

The location on a quiet off street by the canal is quiet and cozy, making you feel like a resident. And there are cute kitties and a bar with live music next door. We had a room on the side of the hotel facing the bar but didn't hear anything at night.

When we checked out I hurried out for fear the front desk would tell us we owe more money as it was such a great deal! This will be my hotel of choice next time. Can't wait to go back and splurge on one of the suites.

Room Tip: the suites on the top floor are fantastic value. Second choice would be a room with a poolside balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diplogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are compact but clean and adequate. Air con great. Bathroom tiny with low water pressure and could use new shower curtain and mould cleaning. However it still represents good value. Pool is a life saver after a hot Bangok morning. Staff are lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel is perfectly located when you want to explore the old city of Bangkok. The surrounding is regular leaving area so don't expect anything fancy there, though it allows you to soak into Bangkok "climate" quick.
Breakfast are good, though not very much options to choose from. Pool is really nice, but the best thing was the service. Very helpful, not forcing you to pay the tips etc.
The value is excellent here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Lamphu Tree House at the beginning and end of a two week holiday. We had a Suite in the Main Building, the bath had a rooftop view and the roof terrace was very relaxing for reading in the evening. The room was very spacious, beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. It's a tricky one to find, definitely print out the map they send with booking confirmation if you can. From the airport it is only 450THB to get there which was reasonable. The swimming pool area has probably seen better days BUT it was the perfect place for a dip when it was hot and they bring you cockatils to the poolside. The staff are unfailingly polite and gracious and the food in the restaurant was very tasty. You are wlaking distance to Khao San Road (if that's your bag) or very short tuktuk ride to the palaces and temples. We will return when we are next in Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is located next to a channel. It is a very nice hotel in a very quiet area. It is only 5-10min walking to Kao San Road.

We booked a standard room and when we checked in they told us there were no standard so we were upgraded to a deluxe room with same price. The room was nice but the mattress was awful, one of the sides was right but the other was very curved. We told the staff and inmidiatelly they changed for another room, this time was right.

Unfortunately during our stay from 28th to 30th of may the swimming pool was under maintenance, so we couldn't use it.

The breakfast was great. They gave us two bottles of water every day for free, this is very kind as in these days Bangkok is very hot.

The room was clean and big enough to place the baggage, with one wardrobe. It has a big TV and a minibar fridge. During the three days they didn't changed the sheets but they do changed the towels. The bathroom was private, it was clean, and there were no problem with water pressure. One day after a strong storm, a small part of the ceiling became wet but that was fine as it wasn't close to the bed.

There were free wifi in every floor of the hotel, very convenient.

In general, very nice hotel with a fair price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casanilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice pool, cracking buffet breakfast, helpful staff and very close to koh San road the back packed area. Also close to the palace and wats.

It's 400 baht from the airport so don't fall for their no meter 600 rubbish.

Tip: if you can manage a 3 minute walk around the corner to their building no. 2 the rooms are way nicer. Bigger and brand new bathrooms. There is also a really annoying wind chime on a building near building 1.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monami_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#120 of 867 in Bangkok
172 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#139 of 867 in Bangkok
1,541 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#172 of 867 in Bangkok
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#174 of 867 in Bangkok
1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#33 of 867 in Bangkok
428 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 867 in Bangkok
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Property: Lamphu Tree House
Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphu Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing