We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!!”
Review of Lamphu Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamphu Tree House
Ranked #140 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights - our first time in Thailand. We loved it!!! From the moment I started to book the accommodation on line to the very second we checked out, the staff were wonderfully helpful. The manager had sent through (via email) a map written in Thai to show the taxi driver so he would not take us to the 'other' Lamphu hotel. We arrived in BKK about 9pm. A staff member came out to the road to assist with our bags; refreshing juice was given before checking in; paper work dealt with very quickly and just as quickly we were in our rooms. We had decided to place our 17 year old daughter in her own room and requested that she be immediately next to us; this was catered for without any problems. During our stay, ALL staff members were extremely helpful, polite, friendly and assisted where possible. They also advised us (and put up notices) about the local scams etc by taxi and tuk tuk drivers and helped to arrange a tour to the River Kwai ...which was the greatest fun and very good value for money.
I read some feedback about other guests not being understood, and complaints that the staff didn't speak/understand English. I can only say that we did not experience this but then we also respected the fact that we were visitors in a foreign country and did not expect everyone to speak our level of English.
The rooms were neat, clean, cosy and comfortable. Our rooms were on the 'wrong' side of the motel (not over looking the pool) but there was nothing wrong with this at all. They were cleaned every day and the bar fridge re-stocked. Water was complimentary. The breakfast was superb and whilst I and my daughter enjoyed traditional Thai meals my husband was able to indulge in bacon and eggs - all tastes were accommodated. Bar and restaurant for other meals etc was also excellent.
Location was also perfect. As per many reviews - 20 minutes to Grand Palace; 10 minutes to Khoa San Rd; wonderful bar on the corner (Rolling Bar) with live music; pier about 10 minutes; plenty to look at on your walks. Taxis and tuk tuks easily accessible. It has the ideal combination of being close to the action but also being far enough to be quiet and relaxing.
Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ItchyfeetTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived at 09:00 in the morning and we needed to wait till 11:00. That was fine because they tried to get it ready as soon as possible.
The staff is friendly and helpfull. The pool is perfect if you want to cool down.
The owner helped us to grab a taxi to drive on the meter instead of the fixed prices for tourists.
When im back in BKK I will return to this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merijn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at Lamphu tree last time my hubby and I were in Bangkok and would definitely use it again! It has everything for an intimate stay and a lovely decorated boutique feel.

The double rooms are decorated nicely and the beds comfy. The shower is clean and basic soap and shower creme is provided with fluffy towels.

The brekkie is huge and buffet and you can have most things expected- we had bacon, eggs and toast with juice and tea/ coffee. All lovely.

the swimming pool was nice to use after a day around BKK or just to relax after a long flight arriving.

The staff were always polite and helpful.

Room Tip: I did not use room service and I am not sure if there is any- but the restaurants are close or stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millyalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here in August-September 2012 for the third time. The hotel continues to uphold its high standards. Rooms are clean and large (though I admittedly splurged for a corner suite), the breakfast is hearty and good, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The manager remembered me from my previous visits, which is impressive as I hadn't been there for 18 months.

Highly recommended for those looking for something a bit out of the way of the busyness of the central area and a bit more upscale than the backpacker lodges on Khao San road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golda135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights. We had a standard room, which included a large TV, aircon, minibar and hot water. It was absolute luxury for us as we have been backpacking for a month! Sadly, we didn't have time to use the pool, but it looked lovely. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast is amazing! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C70088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 6am without a reservation. Right away we got a discount walk in rate, and we were allowed to immediately check in, take a shower and have breakfast in the outside garden, even though it was only included for the next day.

The staff was always super nice, and gave very good advices on how to get to places using public transportation, not just giving the easy answer "Take a taxi.".

The pool area was tiny, but good enough, once you have better things to do and see in Bangkok than to hangout there.

The only problem with the room were the small windows, but the decoration was nice. There are shower facilities available, in case you have a late flight, and have already checked out.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaCNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights after reading the reviews on TA. I didn't realise it's not directly accessible by road; it's actually set on a canal about 50m from the road, which was a little confusing for us and our taxi driver when we first arrived, but we soon worked it out. After that, it was actually nice being tucked away from the Bangkok traffic a bit. It's nice to go for a walk along the canal. The room was probably a little smaller than I imagined, but pleasantly decorated with a comfy bed. Staff were friendly and helpful, although when we got back late one evening and asked for an extra pillow, the night staff had to call one of the managers because they didn't speak any English and couldn't understand what we were after! The pool was refreshing, but there were lots of screaming children (with their parents yelling at them to behave) in and around it much of the time we were there. Breakfast buffet was awesome. Cocktails (and mocktails) at the restaurant were pretty good too. They looked after our bags for us after checkout on the last day (including our friend's bags, even though she'd had to stay at a different hotel). A good place for families.

Room Tip: It's nice to have a room overlooking the pool, but you will get more noise from the children in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ejidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#43 of 891 in Bangkok
450 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#57 of 891 in Bangkok
1,458 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 891 in Bangkok
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#171 of 891 in Bangkok
1,313 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#149 of 891 in Bangkok
184 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#183 of 891 in Bangkok
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamphu Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamphu Tree House

Address: 155 Wan Chat Bridge, Prachatipatai Rd. | Phanakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $52 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamphu Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thai style boutique house, we offer over 40 different well decorated Thai style rooms, all of which weed pieces are renovated of ancient gold teak wood passed from over 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamphu Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamphu Tree House Hotel Bangkok
Lamphu Tree Hotel
Lamphu Tree Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing