We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great mexican”
Review of Coyote on Convent - CLOSED

Coyote on Convent
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Silom
Description: If you're looking for the Best Margaritas and Mexican Food in Bangkok, this friendly authentic Mexican/Southwestern Restaurant sits on Soi Convent, just 30 seconds away from the hustle and Bustle of Silom Road and two minutes from Patpong. Open from 11a.m. till late for food and drink with Happy hours most days you will find a selection of 75 Margaritas to choose from and great TexMex and Mexican food. Whether you want to just sit next to the window and watch the world go by with a plate of Nachos and a Margarita or are having that special night for two with a sumptuous steak or fabulous fajita, Coyote hits the spot...every time! We also cater to parties, both private and corporate. Our downstairs bar is full of action with whizzing Margarita blenders and a casual eating/drinking crowd, whereas upstairs is quieter, with a more refined atmosphere. And all of this served by staff who really do understand the food and drink offering. Ask, and we will serve!
Deinze, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great mexican”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

great mexican in silom. Fantastic margaritas and excellent spare ribs. We have been here 2 times and we cant get enough.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank brigitte c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    27
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great food and lively ambiance”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Mexican-style casual dining restaurant on Convent that serves the best fajitas ever.Enormous food quantity with top-quality ingredients. My companions grilled half-chicken was enormous too, more like a half-turkey! Prices very reasonable, service good. Licenced but very kiddy-friendly too. Makes a change from the big chain fast-food joints. Give it a try.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,188 reviews
613 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“Margarita”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

In a lane called Convent Street (ironic, it's called convent street but has bars and is just across the road from Pat Pong, Bangkok's famous strip bars).
The food is nothing to write home about but drinks....yes. They have 75 different Margaritas on the menu. The best three are the Firecracker Margarita, where they use chilli infused Tequila, the Copacabana Margarita, with Cachaca and the Grapefruit Margarita, the bittersweet citrus flavour of the grapefruit makes a good mix.
On an earlier visit I had a fish and chips with salsa. It was quite good but this time they didn't have it. It was a temporary special on the menu but they said it would be back soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank percyvakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My first time Coyote Soi Convent”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

ok we were with a group of 70 , so perhaps this is not a normal judgement for a restaurant,
but the choice of food was good, they have vegetarian options, and the serve really exceeded my expectations ( and that is very rare in Thailand)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeOnnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“marginal but happy hour is happy hour”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stumbled into the Coyote on my way back from a day trip around town. Being from Southern California maybe my expectations are too high, maybe not? The enchadlada suaza was ok, not bad, kind of middle of the road but I'll rate high due to the long proximity from the Mexican border. But the refried beans and Mexican rice was lacking, really lacking. Maybe that's the best they can do in this part of the world. In my opinion, it just ain't good Mexican food unless they get the beans and rice right. They get high marks for 2 for 1 happy hour though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote on Convent also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing