We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian in Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Piola - CLOSED

La Piola
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I never miss visiting La Piola when I visit Bangkok. Just been again and was not disappointed.
Try the fixed menu - full price - and enjoy the surprises that you will receive, They always pull the stops out for full menu customers. Make sure you go with a healthy appetite. There is an a la carte menu as well which is very good. Don't miss it!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Rydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    3
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How quickly standards have gone down!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I'm a 10 year customer,so I'm very sad at what seems tp be happening at La Piola

A very died up LAMB SHANK in january-like dried meat off the bone,which neede long chewing.I should have sent it back
)N sunday 2 march 2014 I asked for Saltimbocca a la Romana I specifically asked if they had veal for this.'Yes' came the reply form the chef/What came was fully matured dark beef.The taste of the salvia herb was completely masked.I have had excellent Saltimbocca before.Now the owner said that one can do it with beef.He agreed it would never have the delicacy of veal.Why did the chef lie to the waiter?'Oh I don't know what chef say to waiter.
'But as owner ,shouldn't you know?' No reply
'When you saw a customer sending back a dish,don't you want to find out what was wrong?'
'I'm too busy' (we were the only customers.
It was SO DIFFERENT when the other son of Mama was in charge-he really cared and supervised all.I reassured the head waiter it was nothig to do with him.I've known hinm ten years and is good (sometimes the plates come cold,but,oh well)

This sis so depressing-will I go again?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
435 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good food, simple place in tourist area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

first visit to La Piola, in Sukhumvit soi 11, Bangkok, the place is nice, cozy, located in a busy tourist area, food was good, we ordered drinks, pasta , pizza and sole fish which were all quite good.
service was mediocre as they forgot the bruscheta we ordered and after reminding started making it but were nice enough not to charge us for it.
at the end of the meal we were served complimentary limoncelo.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

No need to look for any other restaurant when in Bangkok! This is the best, most authentic Italian restaurant. Great food, great service. Hats off to Mama.

Helpful?
Thank Meg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly Cooked Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I've been here many times over the years, since it was on Soi 13. The food is always great and the service is good.
Sometimes you'll go in and someone has been smoking inside and the TV is on an Italian channel. But the put out the smokes and put on the Dean Martin during regular hours or if there are a couple of tables occupied.
The four cheese spaghetti is simple and tasty. And the noodles are cooked to perfection. I've tasted the pizzas, ravioli, t-bone and calzones. All very tasty.
I've seen negative comments about the service and food. Maybe it was true that day (the family, including a genuine Big Mama [now in a wheel chair] that can be indifferent. But they are friendly enough and have always cooked great food when I've been there.
Given all of that, it's definitely worth a visit for some authentic Italian food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KhunBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piola also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing