We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise Birthday for my husband in Bangkok !”
Review of Le Normandie

Le Normandie
Ranked #21 of 13,400 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $169
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Description: Awarded 2 Michelin Stars in the inaugural Michelin Guide Bangkok, Le Normandie is acclaimed for its contemporary French cuisine by Chef Arnaud Dunand-Sauthier. Pure and precise flavours, wonderful taste combinations and the subtlety of herbs and seasonings offer a genuine and unique experience of haute cuisine. Le Normandie offers breathtaking views over the Chao Phraya River through floor-to-ceiling windows. The elegant surroundings featuring vintage crystal chandeliers and stunning flower arrangements create a unique air of sophistication. Noted for its splendid menu, impeccable service, elegant ambiance and superb river views, Le Normandie offers our distinguished guests an exceptional fine-dining experience.
Reviewed March 13, 2019

The surprise birthday dinner I organised for my husband would not have been such a beautiful surprise without the help of the wonderful staff at the Mandarin Bangkok Le Normandie. The service was superb, staff were all genuinely friendly, food and wine was great. Not a real desert sort of a person but I could not resist the Crepe Suzette which was fabulous. Last but not least, a surprise birthday cake with the staff singing birthday song for my husband topped the birthday dinner. Forgot to mention that we had an amazing window seat overlooking the Chao Phraya River.

Thank you to all the staff at Le Normandie.

Deborah

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DSKS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Manager at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2019

Dear DSKS2013

Thank you for this wonderful review on TripAdvisor!

I am delighted to read that you chose Le Normandie for this very special occasion and glad that you fully enjoyed your dining experience with us, especially for the food and wine offering as well as the quality of service.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to the immense pleasure of welcoming you again in a not too distant future to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Kind regards

Cedric Vinckier
Maître d'Hôtel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

Celebrated my birthday with a splendid dinner. Due to the visit from Tokyo then it was fusion with a Japanese influence as well. While one particular serving was a bit disappointing, the french blue cheese serving was one very very thin slice, then the rest was nice. I in particular liked the sea urchin. Service from the staff was good. Keep it up!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Kim-phuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Manager at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Dear Kim-phuket

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to read you chose Le Normandie for this very special celebration and enjoyed the food offering and quality of service.

Good note has been taken regarding the cheese offering and will be reviewed for future improvements.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Kind regards

Cedric Vinckier
Maître d'Hôtel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019 via mobile

The third visit, the service is just as good, the food is delicious, every meal has a surprise, it is a good restaurant worth trying, and there is a handsome and lively waiter - Cédric Vinckier, let us have a good memory during the meal.
美好的餐點,貼心的服務,還有主廚的關心,讓我有賓至如歸的感覺,餐後甜點很棒,還有桌邊服務的火焰秀很棒,活潑又帥氣的服務生Cédric Vinckier,讓我們在用餐時增添不少有趣的回憶,這是一間值得推薦的好餐廳

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank melody-cheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Manager at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Dear melody-cheng

Thank you for this superb review on TripAdvisor!

It was a great pleasure to welcome you again to Le Normandie and glad that you once again enjoyed your dining experience with us. I have shared your comments with all the team, they are delighted about them.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to the immense pleasure of welcoming you again in a not too distant future to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Kind regards

Cedric Vinckier
Maître d'Hôtel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

주말 점심에 방문했고 코스로 했습니다. 점심이라 가격도 괜찮았고, 같은 레벨의 레스토랑에 대비하여 가격이 비교적 괜찮습니다.

Visited on Saturday for lunch. We had wine and nice lunch at a reasonable price compared to the other restaurants at the same level. Not all the food was good to me but most of them were good. Loved their bread as well.

So, it is worth to try for a special occasion with family and friends in Bangkok. Also, kind, friendly and humorous staffs made me comfortable to be there. They provided a piece of cake and celebration messages for the guest's birthday. Will be unforgettable memory in Bangkok. Everything was well organized.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MsBomiKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Manager at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Dear MsBomiKim

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant Saturday lunch at Le Normandie and enjoyed the quality of service.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Kind regards

Cedric Vinckier
Maître d'Hôtel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

Outstanding service with amazing dinner we had!!! Definitely one of the best restaurants in BKK especially for your special occasions.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank youenjoywhatyoueat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, Manager at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Dear youenjoywhatyoueat

Thank you for this superb review on TripAdvisor!

I am pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your diner with us at Le Normandie, especially in regard to the food offering and quality of service.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to the Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok.

Kind regards

Cedric Vinckier
Maître d'Hôtel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Normandie also viewed

 

Been to Le Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing