We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #131 of 10,625 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $58
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Description: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok's signature Thai restaurant has been transformed into a miniature palace serving fine Thai cuisine. A lavish Thai buffet lunch is served daily and guests can also enjoy a gourmet set dinner menu accompanied by the region's most spectacular cultural performance and dance show nightly. A welcome addition is the Terrace Rim Naam, an open-air pavilion adjacent to the restaurant overlooking the splendid Chao Phraya River.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We came here based off reviews but we were quite disappointed. The food was average overall. Some dishes were good, but most were not impressive, especially for the price. It was more expensive than I spend in the US for a really nice restaurant. With the taxes and fees they add, it came out to about $100 per person. Add wine to that and we were paying over $120 per person. We had better food from street vendors. The atmosphere was too stuffy for our taste as well and we felt like we had to whisper to each other it was so quiet before the show started. The show was interesting but too long. We grew a bit bored with it after about the fourth dance. Afterward the dancers came around for photos but then expected us to tip more money. All in all, we wished we had saved our money and gone somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jax3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    142
    62
    31
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Good for a one off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were staying at the Mandarin and it was our first trip to Bangkok so had pre booked this event with our booking agent. It was a nice Thai show in a nice room. We like the fact that you didn't know which dish was coming and all was very good. I would not say the food was 5* but the experience was. Saying that there is no need to do it again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Epicureously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Epicureously,
It is always a great pleasure to receive a positive feedback, even though (as in your case) it’s only for a “once in a life time experience”. I am glad to read how much you enjoyed the legendary Oriental service and the set menu. Your compliments have been shared with Restaurant Manager Khun Sumnuk and his team and we all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back.

With culinary regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful show with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Booked table for 7.30 but arrived at 8 because of bangkok protest related traffic trouble! This meant I was more rushed than other guests but still had plenty of time - finished eating around 9.30. Show is very extravagant although some dancing (traditional) is slow and can seem odd. Costumes and make up incredible, room it is held in is beautiful. Food was excellent especially duck curry. I'm learning to be on my guard for Thai spice levels! The performers come to have photos taken with you at the end which is a fantastic touch. If you are not staying at the hotel (or even if you are) would recommend hopping on the hotels junk boat across the river to the hotel for a post dinner cocktail on the terrace -one of the best things I did in Bangkok.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear yenkles,

Wow! Thank you very much for you positive review and the kind recommendations.

I’m so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the culinary delicacies, our Oriental service and the incomparable atmosphere at the Chao Phraya River. It’s all about the people, as we love to say and Restaurant Manager Khun Somnuk, Chef Vichit and their teams understand how to delight their guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sala Rim Naam & Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok very soon and please feel free to contact me for your next reservation. I would be glad to assist.

Kind regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fun experience with little emphasis on authenticity of food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is an ideally located restaurant... You get great views of the river, and are welcomed in a warm manner by the attentive staff. For those who are visiting bangkok for the first time, this is a great experience. Unfortunately I can't say the same about the food. It has - like many other restaurants - been adjusted to please the western palette. This is not necessarily a bad thing, it just takes away from the rest of the experience in my view.

That being said, the food is cooked perfectly, and there is nothing else that i can fault. Go for the experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Muscatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Muscatore,

Thank you very much for you review and the kind recommendations.

I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed the culinary delights and the Oriental service at Sala Rim Naam. We appreciate your feedback concerning the food and I shared your comment with the Restaurant Manager Khun Somnuk.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sala Rim Naam very soon and please feel free to contact me for your next reservation. I would be glad to assist.

Kind regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb Thai food on the river in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The food at this fabulous restaurant is absolutely delicious. Beautifully presented in a magnificent setting right on the river. There is an indoor part to this restaurant where there are nightly shows of traditional Thai dancing, but we chose to eat outside on the terrace enjoying the exquisite views of the main hotel across the water. This place is faultless and serves perhaps the best Thai food in Bangkok. But that is just my opinion. I grew up in Thailand and if I never ate European food again I wouldn't miss it, not when you can eat like a king at this amazing restaurant. The service is charming and the staff reflect why Thailand is known as the Land of a Thousand Smiles.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Fiona V,

It is always a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I am glad to read how much you enjoyed your evening and dinner at Sala Rim Naam. We continuously strive to provide exceptional services to all our guests, and I was so delighted to read about your positive experiences. Your compliments have been shared with Restaurant Manager Khun Somnuk and his team and we all look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back.

With warm regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing