We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Valuable Price”

Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #164 of 10,969 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Description: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok's signature Thai restaurant has been transformed into a miniature palace serving fine Thai cuisine. A lavish Thai buffet lunch is served daily and guests can also enjoy a gourmet set dinner menu accompanied by the region's most spectacular cultural performance and dance show nightly. A welcome addition is the Terrace Rim Naam, an open-air pavilion adjacent to the restaurant overlooking the splendid Chao Phraya River.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Valuable Price”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great Food and Valuable Price. MUST try in bangkok, even not staying the hotel
Detail please read my hotel review
user name: Fake N

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    154
    64
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average food, excellent dance shows and services”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

As many pointed out before me, the food was average and bland. Thai food in my opinion should be strong and with many flavors. Nevertheless the food served in this restaurant was mild. The desserts though were definitely the highlight of the entire meal.

I chose to come here because I wanted to watch a dance show albeit without being among hundreds of people in a crowded & noisy buffet setting. The dinner served this purpose very well. The setting was quiet and intimate. The services were top-notch. The dance show was lovely. It was overall a great experience if you aren't too picky on the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiceFan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice location. As for the rest...”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I can see why a first time tourist in Bangkok (with a thick wallet though) might give 5 out of 5 to that place.
The location is nice, the short boat ride to cross the Chao Praya "soooo typical" and the show was quite OK (but nothing exceptional). And the food is tailored for their palates.
I was there for an official function with local and foreign VIPs. The local VIPs and us, who have been living here for some time, really though the food was not at all what we would expect from a MO restaurant. Of course they can't make it a spicy as Thai would love, but try at least to make it less bland!
The service was OK, but again, this is Oriental, i would expect a bit better, And the show... maybe I am partial as i have seen too many over the years, but i would have expected at least some comments in English for the foreign guests, explaining exactly their performance instead of relying only on a the pamphlet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience in Bangkok”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Took my visiting family here so that they could experience some true Thai food and culture and we weren't disappointed. The short ferry ride on a teak boat, was a nice precursor to a lovely evening. Staff were very attentive, the food was presented to a high standard and tasted very good. The best element was the thai dancing and music.

Highly recommend this place if you would like a dining experience with a bit of culture thrown in. We would go back but as we have seen the cultural performance, next time we will opt for the outdoor dining on the terrace as the riverside location looked very romantic and here you have a choice of an al-a-carte menu whereas if you sit inside to experience the cultural performance, you must have a set menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Average food and service; lovely atmosphere and cultural dance”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The boat ride on the river from one end of the hotel to the restaurant was really nice. Cultural performance was good. Food was ok but service was not what I'd expect for MO

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MimiPetalingJaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Sala Rim Naam at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing