We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Authentic, noisy surrounding for Thai-Chinese meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yong Lee

Yong Lee
Ranked #3,572 of 10,379 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic, noisy surrounding for Thai-Chinese meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We - a group of four - were treated and served well. At the time of our meal the corner restaurant was not packed so we got a spacious table for six. The lady of the house handed over the menus (showing the same prices 160/300 THB for each item) and food came quickly. Everything was tasty though not super excellent. Service was good but not especially polite. Top points for the environment: open, noisy, dark, simple - exactly like a street side Chinese restaurant should be. The bill was what we expected it to be. - We just wonder how long this historical relic can stay in the middle of new new shiny buildings. Some pictures here: http://wp.me/p1jVlh-1gu

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Funniest experience, best food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is an absolute must. It is run by a guy who appears to be 112 and his much younger wife who is probably only 77. They are both ornery! I watched as they refused service to a single person as they didn't want to give up a large table for just one person, and I was reminded of the "No Soup for You" episode of Seinfeld when some poor backpacker fellow wanted to come in just to buy a beer. I also got a hug from the older lady at the end, and she called me beautiful! So it really is all over the place. The food though--totally authentic. The place is full of locals and frankly, that's a good sign. It's cheap, delicious, and it is miles away from the nasty McDonalds and other western places now littering the neihbourhood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food but buyer beware”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Food here is great and this is probably the best roast duck in Sukhumvit but I would stick to ordering the one dish meals from the menu where the price is clearly shown. I would also strongly recommend asking for a breakdown. We were not presented with a bill but the proprietor just named the price. We were four pax and got charged 420 Baht per head. For what the place was - a dirty old shop by the street - we were surprised to say the least. We only had a noodle each and small plate of fried vegetables(morning glory). When we asked for a breakdown the owners became rather abrasive, so we paid rather than argue. We were definitely overcharged and I don't think this would happen to non-tourists.

Great food but caveat emptor.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yumfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beware Your Final Bill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

The owner is really too much and menu with no prices and charges for our order is higher than we eat in a Chinatown restaurant with air-con.I have decided to eat somewhere else in Sukhumvit.
Beware of the Final Bill!!!!!

  • Visited November 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leomak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
205 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A little bit of the old Thailand”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have been going to this place for around 10 years and a few years ago we shared a table with a couple of Kiwis who said they had been coming here for 17 years and the old guy who was serving there had been there since their first visit.

I did a bit of research and believe it or not the cafe has been operating from the same place for over 80 years. The "old guy" the Kiwis referred to is called Opas and the place was handed to him by his father. Unfortunately, it seems his grown up kids are not interested in taking the place over when he passes on and it is probable the little institution will go to the developers. What a shame this will be. Its already under threat with new buidings going up all around it.

The place is not really a restaurant- at best it can be called a cafe. The furniture and fittings are old, in fact very old and as its on the corner of Soi 15 Sukhumvit it tends to cop a bit of dust and some fumes from the continuous traffic passing by a few metres away but the food is fairly priced and the beer cheap and cold . Just try and get a table not too close to the road if you can. Its a walk in place so no bookings. I know they cook on coal fired woks in the tiny kitchen area- it must be 140 degrees in here on a hot day, a real sweat box. The food is delivered early morning near the side door and packed in ice in the kitchen ready for a days eating.

The place opens around 10 am and closes around 8.30pm most nights. They tend to close around 3pm to 5pm for a nap although the doors are not closed there is a hand written sign saying "closed- open again at 5pm"- You can see the two or three staff slumped over the tables having an afternoon siesta....... It is not open on Sundays.

Most menus don't seem to have prices on them- some new ones do. Expect to pay around 80 to 120 baht per dish and beer is around 110 baht for a large bottle of beer. The place holds around 12 tables and will take about 50 -50 people when full.

The food is good but not exciting- Although they have a few duck dishes on the menu and there are always cooked ducks hanging in a glass case near the front of the place- its a place for a cold beer and a quick bite on a hot day after shopping or walking to your hotel. We usually have the roast duck and its an enjoyable 7/10 job. The other thing is that you are visiting a genuine piece of history in a fast moving city. If you get a chance pop in, sit down have a cold beer and watch the world go by.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rovingrabbit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yong Lee also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Yong Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing