We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location & good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Ranked #127 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Worcestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location & good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

The room was typical of a new hotel being smaller than some but was comfortable. The bathroom was much more impressive. The room was not ready when we checked in at 2pm which was a little annoying but service for the remainder of the stay made up for that. The location was good being at the heart of the city. The Red Sky Bar on the 55th floor was impressive with views across the city. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice, something for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AlanWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,137
    857
    276
    71
    46
See reviews for
518
708
130
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed in the Centara for 3 nights having transfered from our Phuket hotel which had excellent service with friendly staff. We arrived at 16:00 to be informed by receotion that our requested (2 months previously) King bedded room was not ready,we asked how long we had to wait and were told to sit in reception away from the check-in desks. Some minutes later a receptionist came and said there were no King bedded rooms available and would we accept a twin room for the first night. I said that as there was no alternative we would accept. Some minutes later the receptionist came and gave me the keys, We finally got to the room to find we had a King bedded room!!. The room was small but well serviced. The Restaurant on the 24 floor (The World) provided an very good breakfast and also dinner, with excellent service. The hotel has good facilities but so it should as a 5 star, but it was impersonal and customer service at reception was poor compared with other Thailand hotels we have used.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

amazing hotel centrally located in the city center within the same block as ZEN and Central World so no need to get stuck in traffic if you want to go shopping. Also a wonderful mojito at the Red55 bar on 55th floor and a nice pool area on 24th floor

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank jacobsterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

if you want a great hotel, exactly in the centre of bangkok..this is it..nothing else matters..malls connected to the hotel..great rooms..even a sky walk connection to siam paragon..abundance of street food fendors on the street to sample the local dish..and the best of all..sky train is just a stone throw away..escaping all the nightmare in bangkok taxi, stuck in traffic for hours..

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
10 Thank danielbasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

Located at Chit Lom BTS, lower part of bldg is Central World shopping mall, opposite is Big C and 5 - 8 mins walk to Plantinum mall. Very big room with 5 star hotel facilities but the breakfast is unsatisfactory. The only trouble thing is you have to change another elevator at 22/F hotel lobby to your room floor. What a ptiy I missed the roof top lounge - Red Sky, the night view should be great

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k0k0k0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

room service twice per day, with fresh and nice fruits and candy.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank winniez82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

This is the first time we stayed at the Centara Grand. Our agent told us that if we stay three consecutive nights, we would be upgraded to a delux room. Indeed, we were upgraded to the executive floors. The room was big and the amenities are fine. However, I find it quite frustration that there are only 4 lifts that take you from the lobby to the rooms. So each time you take the lift down, it stops at least 10 times before reaching the lobby because it is a big hotel and there are lots of guests on each floor (There are 530 rooms!). Whilst the hotel is connected to ZEN, it is quite a walk to Siam Paragaon and the nearest skytrain station. I visited the pool and the gym which was quite big but I didn't use it. The best I find is the Sky bar and restaurant on the 55th floor. I had drinks there one evening and find the view stunning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World_explorer_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#63 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,863 reviews
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#101 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at CentralWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Property: Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Address: 999/99 Rama 1 Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#108 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at CentralWorld 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the heart of the city, Bangkok has a state of the art Convention Centre, fully integrated with a Five Star Hotel and world class shopping and entertainment facilities. The Bangkok Convention Centre and the Centara Grand together make a stunning landmark on the city skyline. Inspired by the shape of a blooming lotus and its symbolic theme of the four elements of life: water, earth, air and fire, Bangkok has a new icon. Connected to CentralWorld, Bangkok's world class shopping centre which incorporates hundreds of retail and dining outlets including leading brand names such as Isetan Department store and 15 movie theatres, the whole development constitutes a unique and unbeatable combination of meeting, business, accommodation, entertainment and shopping facilities all together in one place - CentralWorld. Situated in the heart of Bangkok's business district, delegates will also find many Tourist attractions within easy reach. Easy access to the BTS (Skytrain), which also links to the MRTS (Sub Way) network and convenient access by car and coach to Rajdamri Road and Rama 1 Road provide convenient connections to other areas in the city centre and the inbound and outbound expressway - and Suvarnabhumi Airport is just half an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Centara Grand at CentralWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand And Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld:
Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld: Hotel Bangkok
Centara Grand At Centralworld Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing