We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Bangkok. . . great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Ranked #107 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Centara Grand at Central World has been my preferred hotel in Bangkok for many reasons. The location, hospitality, service standards, close proximity to shopping, convention center and quality of food and beverage. This trip was purely on leisure with my family. Spa Cenevere was exceptional and the quality of spa services are first class

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DinushkaChandrasena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time providing us with some great feedback regarding your recent visit to Centara Grand at CentralWorld.

I am delighted to hear, that you are such a fan of Centara Grand at CentralWorld that our property provided the same high standard of service and comfortable facilities you have come used to over the past years. I also appreciate your constructive feedback regarding of our spa treatments.

Once again, we are glad to hear, that your experience with us was enjoyable and we all look forward to having you back with us in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
There are newer reviews for Centara Grand at CentralWorld
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

i stay here during political crisis which protesters are in front of hotel. There are not so many guests here even situation is not bad but its abit difficult to access to the hotel due to road has been blocked so Skytrain is the best choice. Shopping mall still open but close earlier, hotel's restaurant still open with nice promotion.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Alistitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much, for taking time to share your experience with us. Your comments are helping us to better understand guest perception will certainly guide us when making future decisions.

Once again, we are glad to hear, we all look forward to having you back with us in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Well located hotel although accessing by car/taxi can be busy and you seem to go round the block to get there. The hotel is attached to the large shopping mall which in turn accesses the Skytrain so superb for traffic free exploring of Bangkok.
Rooms are functional with large shower and bath, as the hotel starts from the 23rd floor rooms have good views of Bangkok.
We took a club access room which is well worth the extra, the club staff are friendly and efficient. A good choice if breakfast options available together with soft drinks all day, afternoon tea (lovely cakes for those who indulge), in the evening hot and cold canapés together with a wide choice of alcoholic drinks are on offer. The club lounge is large and she we stayed there were never more than 3-4 other people using it.
We only used the RedSky restaurant which we did on our last night, great views of the city and nice surrounding with live jazz playing. The food was very average in quality but with high end prices (obviously paying for the view), service was also pretty poor considering the location/price. If the want a view and dinner go to Sirocco at Lebua Tower in Bangkok, if you just want a drink the RedSky should be OK.
Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: If you like breakfast and an evening cocktail then go for the club level rooms they represent great...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Centara Grand at CentralWorld and I am glad that you have had a comfortable stay with us. The team at Centara Grand at CentralWorld looks forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here for our first four days in Bangkok after arriving on a long flight. The service was excellent and everyone smiles. The doorman took our bags at the door and delivered them to our room while we checked in.

We originally only planned to stay two nights, but extended our stay online in a separate book. The staff at the hotel had already noticed were were already staying and booked us into the same room so we didn't have to move.

The restaurants at the hotel are excellent, but they are quite expensive compared to the the also very good restaurants in the attached shopping mall.

The staff were very friendly and would arrange taxis for us to where ever we were going and offer advice on what to do there and how to get back, which was hardly a problem as the hotel was centrally located.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DaftDuck22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

hank you so much for your review.

It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them.

Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again at Centara Grand at CentralWorld.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have been back to the Centara Grand twice because of its superb location and it’s excellent value for money, coupled with their outstanding range of services they have on offer…from the BMW long wheel base chauffeur drive pick-up from the airport, to the concierge service on the Club floor, including an excellent spa, a very well equipped gym with a fab view right up to their open-air rooftop bar and restaurant under the stars, some 57 floor up in the air giving you a bird’s eye view of fabulous Bangkok.

But most important of all is the location if you are on a shopping spree, being right bang in the middle / very close to the biggest and best shopping malls Bangkok has to offer. Also a short walk to the sky train which is an essential mode if you want to visit other areas, as the notorious Bangkok traffic continues to be a challenge up until 2 am…it’s quicker to walk or to "sky train" than it is to take a car & driver ,or even a tuk-tuk.

Loved Centara Grand Central World!

Room Tip: Club Floor Rooms
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank koosjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much, for taking time to share your experience with us.

We are glad to hear that our hotel provided you with the convenience and style you were looking for.

Please let us know how we may assist with your next trip back to Centara Grand at CentralWorld.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great location attached to Centralworld shopping centre making it perfect for any type of food you want, shopping, cinemas etc. Tends to be a walk away from everything else e.g. train station, Siam Paragon, MBK etc as you have to walk through Centralworld to get everywhere and then again through to the skywalk.

Stayed here over new years and has to be the PERFECT spot to watch the nightlife and firework display (just have to pick the rooms overlooking the front of Centralworld)

Rooms are spacious and modern (Premium world rooms). Free wifi is only available once you sign up for the free Centara points card which is a bit silly. Found the room service to be average - french fries were just a shell with nothing inside..worse than frozen, on the whole the food was ok, but you would much rather just eat/takeaway from the nearby Centralworld. Also the staff on the phone can be quite blunt and almost rude at times when placing orders for room service. Breakfast has the usual spread expected at hotels but again has a very commercial feel to it i.e. can have long queues, wait for eggs etc.

The Red sky bar on the top most floor of the hotel has fantastic views overlooking the city and is a great place for a cosy drink. Can be very windy up there though!

The most annoying thing about this hotel is the lifts!!! One was out of order during new years i.e. peak season! Takes a long time to wait for the lifts (52ish floors!) as there are only 4 usual in hotels of this magnitude there are 6 functioning with maybe even a separate service lift but not here :(

Top class gym! One of the best I have seen at any hotel, fantastic all new equipment overlooking Bangkok city. Unfortunately the jacuzzis are outdoor with pretty cold water, the pool is also dark tiled so doesn't have the tropical blue/holiday look to it, which can be a bit gloomy.

Overall Centara grand is a nice hotel but has quite a commercial feel to it, probably due to its link with the convention centre. Definitely stay here if you are looking to shop and stay in the centre of Bangkok but if you want to unwind and relax I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a Premium world room for a bit more space. Rooms overlooking the front of Central...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Resident Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We thank you for your positive comments and are happy you enjoyed the New Years Eve celebrations and shopping in BKK

We do regret that one lift was temporary out of order on New Years Eve which did cause some delay until it was repaired on the night.

We will review of food standards in In room dining and also investigate the "bluntness" of the order taker.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back

Sincerely yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have stayed here during the last December 2013. I have been to Bangkok for 3rd time in the year of 2013. WAs thinking of staying in a hotel near to BTS main line. So we opted for this hotel.

Price is not cheap. I have stayed in Hansar hotel, Courtyard by Marriot. these two hotels were located off the BTS main line. you have to change station at Siam station. But Centara Grand is NEITHER here or THERE. You have to walk 15minutes to either Siam station or Chidlom station. Due to the riot we couldn't take cab during our trip. Therefore, BTS is very important.

Changing 2 lifts in the hotel to get to the ground floor is rather annoying and during our stay, they have wedding functions everyday and not just one wedding but two or more.

we normally walk outside the building of the hotel, which is a shorter walk. If you come from inside the mall. It could take you about 15mins inside the mall alone.

Thank God nothing major happened from the riot during our stay. They were peaceful and I was amazed by the way of people reacting. the patriotism.

Hotel concierge was quite good since I have two deliveries from my friends in Bangkok. They delivered to my room while we were out.

Room wise is spacious, clean, but weird design. No complain. Business type of hotel.

Oh yea, the tailor in the hotel itself is very good. fast and good quality. We custom made both men and woman's suit.

Breakfast was good too. Plenty of variety. the honey comb they provide was good as I was not well and lost my voice. Honey helped me recovered my voice.

Oh hotel doesn't provide Free Wifi after charging us high rate. But they do offer us to join their member and every time we go to their hotel just flash the card and will be given free access of internet.

Spa in hotel was rather good. Price OK. I'm not a thai massage person.

I will stay this hotel again if we were offered good deal next time.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
11  Thank DVH212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us again and thank you for sharing the details of your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our restaurants. I will pass your comments on to our food and beverage staff.

We will certainly share your kind words with all our team members and we earnestly look forward to welcoming you back at Centara Grand at CentralWorld in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#21 of 879 in Bangkok
3,208 reviews
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#75 of 879 in Bangkok
5,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at CentralWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Address: 999/99 Rama 1 Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#97 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#100 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#120 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $109 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at CentralWorld 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bangkok, the hotel seamlessly connects to its own convention centre and shopping centre. The 505 rooms and suites are beautifully spacious (up to 387 sq m.) and boast panoramic views. For leisure, there’s a 25-metre pool, a spa, tennis courts, and a fitness centre. The hotel is a phenomenal dining destination, with Redsky rooftop restaurant & bar, a champagne bar, and a Tapas bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Centara Grand at CentralWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand And Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld:
Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld: Hotel Bangkok
Centara Grand At Centralworld Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing