We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Ranked #121 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best hotel in bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in 15 hotels in Bangkok and this one is by far the best, the bar on the roof was amazing (a little pricey but worth it)

Literally can't find anything to fault about this hotel, my room number was 5007 and it was so so nice!

I'm back in bangkok in a few months and I'll defiantly be booking this hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
11 Thank Johnny_Essex84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at Centara Grand at CentralWorld.

We are also pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience and we are glad that we have met all your expectations.

We will certainly share your kind words with all our team members and we earnestly look forward to welcoming you back at Centara Grand at CentralWorld in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    867
    278
    72
    46
See reviews for
529
720
131
549
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beyond the superb location next to Central World and in the heart of Bangkok's major shopping district, the hotel is in dire need of a makeover. The whole property looks tired, sparse and dated which makes you not look forward to returning each night. The rooms are spacious but the carpet and furnishings are old, musky and uninspiring compared to the dramatic views outside.

I also do not like the design of the bathtub whereby you have to climb over the huge circular tube in order to shower. It's an accident prone hazard and definitely not friendly for people of a senior age. The service is mediocre. You do not feel that extra warmth nor welcome you had hope for when you checked into a good hotel. Gym and pool is huge but looks dated again in my taste.

I will not return nor recommend unless the hotel gets refurbished.

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevSG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Resident Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Centara Grand and Bangkok Convention Centre at Centralworld are currently renovating all hotel guest rooms and we do regret your room was not to your total expectations.

We will review your comments on service as this is extremely important for us to offer all our guests the very best service at all times.

Thank you again for your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the centara 10 days while on a business trip, while I got a little bored of this location it was still a good stay.

The breakfast buffet had a great variety. It has close proximity to trains and malls. The room was basic, yet pleasant The staff are all around fantastic and helpful. The pool area is a small secluded oasis in the middle of a bustling city.

Proximity to JJ market is also convenient, Especially if hauling a load of treasures.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much, for taking time to share your experience with us.

We are glad to hear that our hotel provided you with the convenience and style you were looking for. I further appreciate your feedback regarding to breakfast the pool area.

Please let us know how we may assist with your next trip back to Centara Grand at CentralWorld.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have a booking at this hotel for Feb 2014 (£550 for 4 nights, prepaid last June). Due to the worsening situation in Bangkok we emailed the hotel and asked that if it becomes dangerous would they be willing to transfer us to another hotel in their chain. The answer was simple "no". Well done, the Thai tourist industry is being ruined by the minute and this attitude only makes things worse

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is very well located in the high end shopping district of Bangkok with convenient access to the Sky Train and Bangkok's BTS (transport system). If shopping is not your main priority, it would probably be preferable to locate at a hotel on the river rather than this hotel which has a business feel to it and is attached to a shopping centre/conference facility. The hotel offers all expected facilities in very nice and spacious rooms. The buffet breakfast is very good (although the volume of patrons of a hotel of the size (perhaps expectantly) comes at a cost to service levels). The hotel staff are very polite and helpful however the size of the hotel does result in the "5 star" service falling between the cracks. We arrived (with 3 kids) at 6pm and only 1 of our (inter-leading) rooms was available. By the time we returned from dinner the other was ready. On another day we returned to our rooms after touring at 4pm and neither room had been serviced. Whilst housekeeping responded to my complaint with a service team within 15 minutes it meant we did not have access to the 2 rooms for the next 45 minutes to an hour whilst the rooms were serviced. When we intended to use to use the time to refresh before heading out in the evening this was inconvenient and not of the service levels expected for a 5 star hotel. Overall however a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Resident Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We thank you for your recent comments.

I wish to apologise that your room was not serviced on time and will review the standard procedure here.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Sincerely yours,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you're looking to stay in this area because of MBK or Central World etc. then this is a good hotel choice. However, it is nothing special and just like any other hotel i've been to. The staff are quite friendly and were fairly responsive to our needs. The restaurants at the hotel and room service are all quite overpriced (we ordered 2 glasses of milk from room service and had to pay about 500 baht). Likewise, we ordered from the bar at the pool and payed a lot for not much in return.

Overall, Its an OK hotel that is good for just being close to shopping, don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in the hotel many times for business and pleasure. Always enjoy 55 and Red Sky, and great daily buffets in the all day dining restaurant. A bit of a factory sometimes but overall service is good

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

Those are truly grand words about our hotel and we are grateful that you have taken the time to share them here on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to hear that you were well looked after by our team. I will make sure to pass on your kind comments as our team is always excited to receive some praise and recognition.

The team at Centara Grand at CentralWorld looks forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at CentralWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Property: Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Address: 999/99 Rama 1 Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#100 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#120 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at CentralWorld 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bangkok, the hotel seamlessly connects to its own convention centre and shopping centre. The 505 rooms and suites are beautifully spacious (up to 387 sq m.) and boast panoramic views. For leisure, there’s a 25-metre pool, a spa, tennis courts, and a fitness centre. The hotel is a phenomenal dining destination, with Redsky rooftop restaurant & bar, a champagne bar, and a Tapas bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Grand at CentralWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand And Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld:
Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld: Hotel Bangkok
Centara Grand At Centralworld Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing