We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location with Good size and interior but Bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Ranked #99 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I booked through Agoda for this Hotel because the Hotel website is not working. Tried to make booking for 2 days by the Hotel direct website, can't make payment with all types of credit cards. Call Hotel twice and they insist problem is with my "Malaysia" card (even tried my Singapore credit card but still can't make payment) Finally Hotel realise is their problem but I still can't booked through them and I can't book through phone because rate is so much different. Anyway manage booked through Agoda at RM 1717.00 for 4 days from 13rd April to 17th April in a Delux world room with 2 twin (big) beds. (Agoda had the best rate after comparing, booking.com charge so much higher)
Checking in - Worse experience ever, only manage to get the room at 6p.m and I arrive Hotel at 3p.m. (Offer nothing just told me because is Public Holiday and they need more time) But when you request to check-in early they charge extra
Price - Is cheap because room is big and clean, although not much reno by I am happy
Area - Just beside the Centralworld shopping center, many food and shops around
There's also gym, swimming pool, restuarant and many more but service and price of restuarant is expensive. 4 of us had breadfast at the ground floor cost almost 1000 baht.
Not a Hotel I will stay again because of the bad check-in experience.

Room Tip: Book only if there's promotion rate, there's a few Hotel nearby which offer much cheaper rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Resident Manager at Centara Grand at CentralWorld, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Centara Grand at CentralWorld during your recent visit.
Please allow me to apologise for the shortfalls in service that you experienced. Certainly, this is not acceptable and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention for us to correct.
We hope you will consider staying with us next time you are in Bangkok so that you may observe at first hand our improvements.

Sincerely yours,
John Kendes
Resident Manager
Email: johnke@chr.co.th

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,548 - 1,554 of 2,677 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

First time in Bangkok and first time stay at centara grand. Upon reaching hotel, friendly welcoming hotel staffs greets and assist you to load your luggage. Hotel lobby is located at 25th floor and offers a beautiful overview of the city. The lobby also links the convention centre and the shopping malls. Platinum mall and pratunam market are about 5 mins walk away. To go to jatujak market, bts can be boarded via a pedestrian link to the station.

At night, dinner and drinks are available at the 55th floor roof top restaurant. Awesome view. Jazz band plays till almost midnight.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gal1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We staied 7 nights with 2 kids. Great And centeral shopping location. If you are not interested in shopping note that it takes about a hour to get anywhere with a taxi as there is a heavy traffic in the area.
Good hotel, we got room on 39 floor with great view of the city. The team was very helpful and solved any problem we had. The only reason the hotel gets 4 out of 5 is because of it's breakfast that not fits 5 stars, small verity of choices, poor vegetables if any , and a poor English of the guy that burned the ompet twice at the same morning. Besides the breakfast - perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateSh_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This has to be Bangkok's best hotel if you go shopping. Just ajacent to the hotel is Central World, Siam Paragon and MBK. If you want cheaper bargains the exotic Indra Market is just 2 minutes walk away.

The hotel has a very modern interior, go for a room upgrade as the lounge is wounderful, and cocktails or a late night drink on the roof is truly spectacular. I also like the gym as it is large and has a lot of basic equipment. This is a must try destination in Bangkok.

Room Tip: choose one on a high floor as the view gets better as you move up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RobinMitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family stayed here for one night on a layover from Seoul to Koh Samui. It was the perfect location for us, attached to a lovely mall with plenty to do and places to eat. We walked to the Jim Thompson house in the morning of our layover, then swam in the hotel's pool before our flight to Koh Samui. Wish we would have planned one more night in Bangkok!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seoullaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and i are regular visitors to Thailand as our son lives there, and this is our hotel of choice every time we stay.
The rooms are spacious and beautiful and the amenities are fantastic.
The fitness centre is great and the pool is allways immaculately maintained and clean.
We love the Skytop Bar and have had dinner in the restaurant which is 5 star.
It is conveniently located to the best shopping in Thailand and all the best restaurants are minutes away.
We stay on the higher floors and enjoy the breakfast with a view over the city and beyond.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views and breakfast is served in the club lounge.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Centara grand is the most centralized hotel in Bangkok and is located in the shoppers paradise of Bangkok. All major malls and cinemas in walking distance. Lot of restaurants in the vicinity. Even the restaurants within the hotels are worth a visit. Great rooms with amazing view of the Bangkok skyline and very spacious bathrooms. Hospitality is wonderful and a very good breakfast spread.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank prabal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#71 of 887 in Bangkok
5,820 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#55 of 887 in Bangkok
5,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at CentralWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Address: 999/99 Rama 1 Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#90 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#100 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#120 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $121 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at CentralWorld 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bangkok, the hotel seamlessly connects to its own convention centre and shopping centre. The 505 rooms and suites are beautifully spacious (up to 387 sq m.) and boast panoramic views. For leisure, there’s a 25-metre pool, a spa, tennis courts, and a fitness centre. The hotel is a phenomenal dining destination, with Redsky rooftop restaurant & bar, a champagne bar, and a Tapas bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Fastbooking and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Grand at CentralWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand And Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld:
Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld: Hotel Bangkok
Centara Grand At Centralworld Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing