We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centara really is grand!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Ranked #125 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Centara really is grand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was our first trip to Thailand. This hotel is sited close to the Skytrain station at Siam and the shopping centres at CentralWorld and MBK. This is a very impressive hotel with excellent lifts to the main reception where you get another lift to your bedroom floor.
Our room was really comfortable with a great view across the Bangkok skyline. A very large shower and bathtub and a really comfortable double bed. The room was very clean and the maid service kept everything really fresh. The staff on the reception floor are really friendly and knowledgeable about where to eat.
One great example of their willingness to please saw them opening up the outside terrace to allow my wife and I to take pictures. The terrace was closed for refurbishment -we did not ask to be let outside the staff just wanted to please.
Breakfast menu's are varied and cater for western and eastern palettes. Plenty of choice although we felt the breakfast did not live up to the top notch quality of the rest of the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel for couples who want to stay close to the action in this bustling city.

Room Tip: I guess the higher you are the better the view of Bangkok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChelseaMark1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    855
    276
    71
    46
See reviews for
515
708
130
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in a club exec room. Really friendly staff. Clean hotel. Excellent food. Great views from our 47th floor room. The swimming pool is great after a hot day sightseeing!!!
Close by to the sky train

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel is so well-located within the mega shopping mall of CentralWorld. All the shops and dining places are within the complex - there's even a supermarket, and a movie cinema.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel is for the, convention center and the largest mall in Bangkok and it is just that and if you have to be at a convention or the largest mall then you should stay here but if you want to be in Bangkok then there are 3-5 hotels within 1/4 mile so much better and a dozen within a mile. Just down the road are the JW Marriott and the Sukhumvit Grand Sheraton both so much better for similar prices. Check out my reviews. This hotel is a B - which is not bad given some of the ones I have stayed in on this trip. But this is Bangkok the city of luxury on a budget. The hotels have more marble than Italy and more service than Paris. Unfortunately this hotel has neither. I was on an upgraded room on the executive floor and it just does not make it. The executive floor closes at 7PM no liquor after that. The food they put out is poor quality and greasy in the evening. The service on the floor is just marginal compared to the JW which is nothing like this. The rooms are decent size. I had the bright orange one and the other person had the purple one. Yes bright orange and purple. The grout work is slipshod showing age and poor maintenance. The lobby on the 23rd floor is there to lead into the convention center and everything is geared to that level. The towels are not great and the aircon which is so critical in BKK is either 12 degrees or 78. The rooms smell musty and damp which is also something you do not get at the better hotels. I liked the pool it is lap size and that was nice. I have included a great picture from the elevator that basically sums up the Las Vegas quantity over quality experience. Again why would you go with B when A+ is around the corner?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

The room: large, but mold was growing in several places in the bathroom. I complained, but the reception folks didn't seem to understand / weren't able to translate. The room also seemed dated because the walls were covered in a sort of pillowed layer, and the stuffing was pulled out, faded, and dusty.

Location: very handy to shopping ( which is so very fab in bangkok!) easy to get to the air train, too, Nd cabs & yuk-tusk are readily available, too.

Spa: super clean, not expensive, innovative. The gym was also modern, clean, and the pool / hot tub lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H2where
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Just completed a 5 day stay at Centara Grand as part of a business conference. Great hotel and service in the heart of Bangkok.

The breakfast buffet is impressive with all needs catered for, however the lunch buffet is even better. Over this trip we have stayed in 4 hotels - Centara Grand, Le Meridien, Indigo Pearl and Cape Sienna and the Centara Grand's breakfast buffet was the best.

Great access to shopping centers if that is your thing, Central World, Siam etc.

The gym / fitness club - The best of any hotel gym I have stayed in anywhere in the world. Very impressive - Personal trainers on hand, cold water, towels, great Technogym equipment, free weights, classes and a spectacular view. A must visit.

The Sky Bar is one of the wonders of Bangkok and well worth visiting... we were there every night before or after dinner and the service and VIEW are fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for an end / corner room, they are slightly bigger in layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GlobalTVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed at the Centara Grand for 4N/5D with my husband. I almost cancelled this trip as it was during the time of the riots (I was there just before it got really bad, actually this hotel ended up as one of the casualties, very sad) but I'm glad I did not because it was such a great experience. I stayed here as a newly-wed and the hotel not only gave me a room upgrade but sent us fresh fruit and champagne as well. We were given a beautiful corner club room which was very spacious with modern interiors. A huge TV was placed on a wall mounted bracket that allowed us to view it from anywhere in the room. And the bathroom was even more amazing with a huge deep stand alone tub that can comfortably seat 2 people. There was also a purple mosaic shower that had both a rain and telephone shower. There are also 2 generous sinks for you and your partner to use separately. Heaven.

The hotel is located high above the Centralworld mall and the Convention Center but it's not too much of a hassle because the elevators are fast. And staying on top of a huge mall is just heaven if you're a shopaholic like me. And it's just a short walk through the skyway to other top malls like Paragon. Even Platinum Mall may be considered a walking distance. If the hotel is full, you can access the mall through escalators leading to the cinemas.

Don't miss breakfast at the hotel. The selection of food is just mind-blowing and the food is good! Just the choices of bread will make your head spin. My husband and I easily spent 1-2 hours enjoying breakfast each morning and even if we were there for 5 days, we never got sick of the food. And even when the breakfast rush would get too busy, the staff was always efficient and very friendly.

I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hidden0rchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#63 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,857 reviews
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#102 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at CentralWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at CentralWorld

Property: Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Address: 999/99 Rama 1 Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#71 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#107 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at CentralWorld 5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right at the heart of the city, Bangkok has a state of the art Convention Centre, fully integrated with a Five Star Hotel and world class shopping and entertainment facilities. The Bangkok Convention Centre and the Centara Grand together make a stunning landmark on the city skyline. Inspired by the shape of a blooming lotus and its symbolic theme of the four elements of life: water, earth, air and fire, Bangkok has a new icon. Connected to CentralWorld, Bangkok's world class shopping centre which incorporates hundreds of retail and dining outlets including leading brand names such as Isetan Department store and 15 movie theatres, the whole development constitutes a unique and unbeatable combination of meeting, business, accommodation, entertainment and shopping facilities all together in one place - CentralWorld. Situated in the heart of Bangkok's business district, delegates will also find many Tourist attractions within easy reach. Easy access to the BTS (Skytrain), which also links to the MRTS (Sub Way) network and convenient access by car and coach to Rajdamri Road and Rama 1 Road provide convenient connections to other areas in the city centre and the inbound and outbound expressway - and Suvarnabhumi Airport is just half an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Centara Grand at CentralWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand And Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld:
Centara Grand & Bangkok Convention Centre At Centralworld: Hotel Bangkok
Centara Grand At Centralworld Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing