We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at valued pricing”
Review of An An Lao

An An Lao
Ranked #2,092 of 10,831 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: An An Lao (Thonglor) opened its first restaurant in Baytong, the most southern part of Thailand, in 1980. Baytong is where the Chinese from various parts of China migrated and call this town their home. This formed the mixture of Chinese culture, the richness of Baytong food ingredients, and the way local Baytong cook and resulted in unique Baytong cuisine. An An Lao is the only restaurant in Bangkok to carry on this unique cooking tradition and serve you local dishes together with Chinese, Thai, and Seafood dishes daily. It also serves their popular Peking Duck for B350. An An Lao is now located in Soi Sukhumvit 26 (opposite K-Village).
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food at valued pricing”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was there with my wife for lunch and being not such "large" eaters, we ordered a portion each "small" portions as per the menu jellyfish, chilled free range chicken, fried noodle and stir fried vegetables. To my surprise the portions came out much better than I anticipated. The taste was as well great. The noodles was a little oily, but other than that it was great. Portions were well balanced, taste was generally good and well seasoned! Worth going back again :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chankk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    21
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“350Baht Peking duck”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time trying Peking duck. I don't know if this peking duck is better or worse comparing to others but I really like it. The skin is crispy and tastes just right. Stired fried veggetable is also very good.

I ordered 5 dishes including desserts and spent 1,300baht for 4 people. Not too bad for this price. I'll definitely come back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M-Monthly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I went there specifically for the Peking Duck, which I like with the meat shredded off the bone with pancakes, Hoisin sauce and the usual accompaniments. BIG disappointment. For 350 THB you get a bunch of crispy skin and tiny amount of meat served stir-fried with vegetables - along with pancakes etc. I've no idea what they do with the rest of the duck which was formerly attached to all this skin, but they don't serve it to the customers who order Peking Duck at 350 THB. Won't go back - I'll stick to Chinatown for decent Chinese food - at a decent price. The staff also had an irritating habit of constantly trying to fill up your drinks glass after being told I'd rather do it myself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norrie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
244 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good food and Value for $$$”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The food is very Chinese -Thai, standard is above average. Local homecook style. If you are looking for a cheap and good chinese-thai food. I will recommand this.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a no-frills Chinese restaurant. The food is average, and the service is so-so. Their Peking Duck was good, but not the best. If you are Thai orr Chinese and are looking forward to a no-frills place, then you may enjoy An An Loa. But if you are a foreigner on a trip to BKK, you may want to go elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An An Lao also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to An An Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing