We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic German Food in the Heart of Bangkok”
Review of Bei Otto

Bei Otto
Ranked #381 of 10,959 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: The leading German Instituiton for over 30 years in Bangkok and Thailand.
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food in the Heart of Bangkok”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What do I know about German food, I am Chinese but I have been coming to Bei Otto almost every time I am in Bangkok for the last 20 years. Many times I come here with some German people from the Swabian area and they all say the taste is very close to what they get at home.

The German mixed salad and weinerschnitzel I had the other night was very good. I don't think I have ever had a bad meal here, that's why I keep coming back. The service is ok but sometimes you have to flag them down.

It is a little pricey, I usually spend more than US$20 per person for dinner but I think it is worth a try if you want a change of taste from spicy Thai food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    215
    82
    49
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love Love Love it!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am german by decent and I love going here for a German fix. Well priced by Bangkok standard and the food is amazing. Great selection of beers. This place has its own bakery and deli open well into the night with a great selection of breads, cakes and small goods. We also go here for breakfast from time to time and have there set breakfast for 2. A little taste of my childhood.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PerpetualTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best German Food in Bangkok”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Bei Otto is always busy. Food is great. There is never a long wait for the food. Never disappointed. If you don't mind the traffic of Sukhumvit soi 20, sitting outside is great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shazell212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best German food this side of schwarzwald”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This little restaurant is a shocker. Apple strudel that is better than what can be found in most of Germany. Real weisse beer on draft and all the trimmings. The brotzel bread is a show stopper and having tried most of the menu (quite extensive) have yet to find something that is not just wunderbar. If you like German food, despite being in the heart of Bangkok this is a treat not to be missed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xbusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've been coming to Bei Otto for years and the food is always reliably excellent with typical German dishes and plenty of beer. Service is fantastic making Bei Otto a great place to spend and afternoon or night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bei Otto also viewed

 

Been to Bei Otto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing