We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, food was okay but expensive, service was lacking.”
Review of The Deck

The Deck
Ranked #277 of 11,062 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great ambience, food was okay but expensive, service was lacking.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I think for where the restaurant is situated, this place has a very high potential. It's located down a small alleyway with a nice local touch...the view of Wat Arun is stunning seeing how close you are to it. I love the isolation and quiet atmosphere by the river.

I really want to give this place 5 stars because they have a lot of potential but I think that the service was not very good. I occasionally had to ask for things twice, attitude of the staff not friendly (one was good) and when plates were changed, it was done very unprofessionally (getting food all over the table, tableware still soaked with curry/soup and placed directly on table). I am not sure on the rating this restaurant but for the 4-5 star price you pay here the food was not on par.

My advice to the restaurant is please invest either making your food to higher quality/creativity and push that little extra mile for customer service or simply just lower the prices.

My dining experience was nice here however so I'll give it an overall 4.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    398
    147
    53
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
“Great food and location”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We had such a good dinner in front of wat arun. I would reccomend to book a table with good views before you go.

Waiters are so kind and the food was great. Try the banana dessert!

Helpful?
Thank jguillenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Spectacular view of Wat Arun - from the bar or your table!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

BEFORE SUNSET - Arrive by river taxi, walk past Wat Po - enter a small alley back down to the River and either go up to the bar or to your ( pre booked) table.
The Thai food is good/unpretentious - but you are there for the river side ambience - and the fabulous view of the Temple of the Dawn. It is a bit touristy, but its small and cosy ....
Also you can stay in the boutique hotel for c 5000Baht /night with a temple view

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee and Food!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Iced Thai Coffee is amazing.... I had one cup and wanted another one... but was told it was sold out.... unbelievable!! The food was great. I had a craving but local Thai food that was not on the menu, but the Chef was happy to cook for me. Awesome!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chin Meng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good view, but service not good”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The view here was really nice but the service was really bad. We had to wait for a table which was fine, we went upstairs for a drink. But when we ordered, the food came before our drinks and we had to ask to have them. Even after that they were unsure how many dishes we had ordered. The food was not great either. I had prawn noodles but it included one prawn and just lots of noodles with no real taste. I would go for a drink, but go somewhere else for food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank romi1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck also viewed

 

Been to The Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing