We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great location”
Review of The Deck

The Deck
Ranked #263 of 10,831 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great location”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We visited here after many hours of doing the regular touristy things around the area, easy to find, right at the end of the lane to the right with views over the river. You can sit outside on 2 floors, we opted for the nice cool air-conditioned inside as it was such a humid day. We ordered the prawn spring rolls to start to share, they were delicious, very fresh tasting. For our mains we had a vermicelli noodle dish with king prawn and soft shell crab, both were superb and felt nice and full afterwards. All washed down with 2 large singhas. Cost around 1,250 baht, a bit more than what we would usually pay for a lunch but in £s it's £21 so not bad at all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    394
    145
    53
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exsquisite”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved everything about it. The view of Wat Aru, the service and the food was amazing, yes you pay more but its worth it for what you get

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArranLuktup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good view, expensive food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I read about the view from the Amorosa bar of the Arun Residence in my Lonely Planet guidebook. Since we arrived at 3pm and the bar doesn't open until 5:30pm, we decided to eat in The Deck, which is the restaurant at the ground floor of the Arun Residence. We were able to see Wat Arun from the restaurant window, although part of it was blocked by the building in front of us and there were some residents who live on the riverside swimming and hanging out just outside the window. The food was good but not as superb as we expected from the price. We ordered the onion soup (good), the omelet with bacon and pink sauce (3-4 eggs omelet with a tomato-based sauce on top and few pieces of cut-up bacon and lettuce with vinaigrette on the side). We also ordered the carbonara and their version of a club sandwich, both of which were good. I had a caramel italian soda and my companion had 2 cans of soda.

All in all, not bad for a riverfront restaurant but still very expensive (total bill added up to 1260 baht). the view is good, but if you're looking for spectacular, climb up to the 4th floor where the bar is.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanitumlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The view is not everything”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Another restaurant for tourists. Strange place. Not really friendly and well, very simple. Think of plastic menu card and so on... The food ok, but no more. The view nice but the surrounds poor. Overpriced for what you get.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saperavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great location, perfect food, good service. Well worth a visit. Be sure to book if you want to go later in the evening as they get quite busy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BudapestJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing