We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Thai Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naj Exquisite Thai Cusine

Naj Exquisite Thai Cusine
Ranked #322 of 10,625 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Silom
Description: Naj Exquisite Thai Cuisine is a restaurant and Thai cooking school located in a century old historical house on Bangkok's Convent Rd. At Naj you can experience Thai cuisine as it was prepared in times past, as our chefs have painstakingly resurrected historical recipes and the obscure ingredients needed for them. Customers who visit Naj, whether for dinner or to learn how to cook their favorite Thai dishes, will not only be enthralled with it's atmosphere, but also by the real touch of Thai taste and service.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good Thai Food in relaxing atmosphere in downtown Bangkok. Taste of the food is quite authentic and since the restaurant is located in an old wooden house, you do get a feeling of Old Thailand. Prices are higher than what you'd pay in a local place with similar food, but then you won't have the wines and cocktails.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BurmaTraveler1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    109
    35
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

When we visited Bangkok we really wanted to enjoy the authentic Thai food.
Many hotels westernise the Thai food or don't offer much of it on offer.
A night out at Naj gave us the Thai food experience w were looking for.
Loved the food the atmosphere and traditional Thai dancing throat the night.
Recommend this restaurant to all Thai food lovers

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai of high standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings, great service and well presented food. The variety of dishes was outstanding and I can't understand other reviews that the food wasn't spiced enough.....it was! The desserts were also really lovely and they make a great cocktail. Think the pricing was reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We love spicy food and asked for our food to be really spicy, perhaps we had high expectations because our hotel recommended it for upmarket Thai food. We were dissapointed to put it midly, the Ga Grapow (if I spelled it correctly, minced meat with basil) was without any taste. I gave it average and not poor, because the ambience was great, staff were friendly and our kid's cashew nut chicken was tasty. Perhaps our waiter got the order wrong.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappypapaBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quite solid place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This old three story wooden house opened as a restaurant some 30 years ago. It has an extensive menu of Thai dishes. The food is competent and well presented. Highly recommended to go to this restaurant early during your Bangkok visit to sample a range of dishes. Then you can try more expensive and less expensive restaurant. Naj gives a good benchmark.

The house is well kept, but the buzz has clearly left this place years ago. I wonder how often all the three floors in the restaurant are busy. On the same plot of land is also a nice small spa where you can get a little massage before dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matsaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naj Exquisite Thai Cusine also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Naj Exquisite Thai Cusine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing