We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly toilet & mosquitos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baiyoke Boutique Hotel
Ranked #595 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smelly toilet & mosquitos”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I booked 7 day trip to Bangkok with 1N (11 Nov 13) in this hotel, 2N in Pattaya and another 3N in this hotel for 3 persons. The lift does not land on the same floor as the lobby or on guests rooms, We had to climb about 20 steps up to the lift level and another 12 steps up to the room.
On the first night we found the room (914) infested with mosquitos. The toilet was stinking and the foul smell permeated into the bedroom. We complained and the HSK staff came and spray the room with mosquito repellant. We decided not to complain any further as we would be checking out early next morning for Pattaya.
On 14 Nov 13 we returned back to this hotel and checked into Room 817 and hoped for a better and cleaner room. We were very disapointed again. There were mosquitos flying all over and the toilet was stinking, far worse than our earlier experience. One of the light was blown and the TV was not working. I made a complain and the Engineering and HSK staff came. The TV and lighting was fixed. The HSK sprayed some chemical into the toilet bowl and bathtub. The smell of the chemical was so strong that we could not breathe well inside the toilet. We requested for a room change but was not granted.
I went out to the nearest supermarket and bought a can of disinfectant to spray the toilet to reduce the chemical smell.
Having stayed in other hotels in BKK, we found this hotel was the worst in terms of rooms, acccessibility to rooms and cleanliness. All of us suffered mosquito bites and did not sleep well. The attitude of the staff to our complains was one of indifference. They adopted an attitude of "take it or leave".

Room Tip: This hotel has nothing much to offer. The lifts do not stop on the same level in the lobby or guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthonydasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    170
    304
    108
    85
See reviews for
144
166
63
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and liked staying here because:-
1) Nearby BTS (train)
2) Got night market and morning market (start at 5am) nearby the Baiyoke area. Tips: morning market price is cheaper than night market
3) Near with Pratunam market, shopping complex and suitable for shopaholic.
4) Helpful staff
5) Got halal food near the hotel
6) Free shuttle to JJ and other hotspots
Things that I did not like:-
1) Weird lift concept, where you have to lug your luggage upstairs or downstairs
2) Thin wall where you can hear people talking along the corridors
3) Small room so might not be that comfortable for family

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights with my family.

Pros -
1) Good location for shopping.
2) Airport metro link at walking distance. Also, helps in connecting to other parts of the city.
3) OK breakfast (if your package includes it)
4) Courteous staff
5) Free shuttle service to few places

Cons -
1) Smelly and very small rooms. Poor quality linen and creaking beds. Noisy A/C.
2) No free Wifi or free breakfast
3) Faced problems with the key not working twice in 4 days.
4) Joke of a welcome drink!
5) Lift stops in between 2 floors and you need to climb up or down the stairs to get to your floor.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfu022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

The internet is very pricey, other than that nothing special. You can hear people's voice outside from your room. Small tv and okay bed. Good enough if your priority is just to sleep, nothing more. It's close to street market but the only food around is dominated by Indian food. If that's not your thing, I suggest you find another hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jupiter_Bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintulu, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice lobby but some rooms need to be renovated. One of the trainee receptionist staff is rude to us during check in. Other staff are very friendly and helpfull. The foods are acceptable. Location is very good because the shops are just walking distance.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

No free wifi, breakfast included is not good at all and the staffs speaks minimum english. The location of the hotel is very good for moving around and weekend market is just a stone's throw away. Last thing is they will charge you even when you made cancellation 10 days in notice

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank timothytok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The place is exactly behind the Baiyoke Sky Hotel. The location is pretty good. Given that it is really 5-10 minutes away from Platinum mall where you can really go crazy shopping. Lots of night shopping stalls around, massage houses, authentic restaurants and near the train station that is direct to the airport. However, the staffs are not that welcoming if I will compare it to my experiences in other hotels/inns. When we came, nobody even bothered to assist us while we were waiting in the lobby with our luggages. The stairs are not very 'traveler friendly'. It'll require you to take at least 6-10 steps going to the elevator, and yup, nobody assisted us. The room is average. But there was a foul odor coming from our toilet (8th floor at least). Haven't tried their gym (?) if there is any. Wasn't able to try their pool because it's all the way up to the Baiyoke Sky Tower. The breakfast is buffet style, nothing special in particular, though you have various of choices from bread, rice to pasta. Not sure if I'm being too sensitive but you can actually feel their hospitality and accommodation to non-asian travelers. It's like "sit wherever you want or place it wherever you want" if you're asian. =P Oh, and it sucks, because there is no free wifi. It's pretty pricy to avail it, forgot the exact price.

Room Tip: If you'll choose a room and request for an extra bed/mattress, DON'T. The extra bed/mattress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbycelestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#710 of 867 in Bangkok
894 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baiyoke Sky Hotel
Baiyoke Sky Hotel
#295 of 867 in Bangkok
4,775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Alpine
Grand Alpine
#690 of 867 in Bangkok
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Citin Pratunam Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
First House Bangkok
First House Bangkok
#344 of 867 in Bangkok
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cozi Inn
The Cozi Inn
#599 of 867 in Bangkok
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baiyoke Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baiyoke Boutique Hotel

Property: Baiyoke Boutique Hotel
Address: 120/359 Rajprarop Rd | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Stella House)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#150 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baiyoke Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baiyoke Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baiyoke Boutique Bangkok
Hotel Baiyoke Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing