We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Getaway from the Hustle and Bustle of Bangkok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of House by the Pond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
House by the Pond
Ranked #429 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway from the Hustle and Bustle of Bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family and I stayed in the second building owned by House by the Pond and we were happy with the overall rooms and facilities. Just off Sukhumvit, Soi 22 where there is plenty of good food and drinks within a short walking distance. The Asok (sky train) is only a 10min walk as well. Quite place to stay while touring the busy city of Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank State2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
24
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I've been staying in House by the Pond for two months now. It's a fantastic option for reasonably priced short-term let accomodation in the Sukhumvit area.

The staff are absolutely wonderful, so helpful and friendly. I stayed in the older building, and I had a lovely spacious apartment. I really enjoyed all the old colonial features, it gives the accomodation lots of character. Yes you can stay in one of the usual modern skyscrapers in Bangkok, but House by the Pond really offers an interesting stay and good value for money for the area.

It's also so quiet round here, and you're guaranteed a great night's sleep. I really appreciated coming back to this calm, quiet road after a hectic day of sightseeing in busy, polluted Bangkok. The building is surrounded by lovely tropical gardens, with plenty of outside space to sit and chill in.

I was here on a mixture of work and holiday, and the fast internet connection and peace and quiet was great for my work.

I agree with some previous reviews that the cleanliness perhaps could be improved. It's not dirty or disgusting by any means, but it does feel like it could do with an intensive spring clean. For the most part though I found the cleanliness to be perfectly adequate.

Some might find the location a bit far from the action, it's about a 10 minute walk to the nearest MRT (Queen Srikit) and 20 minute walk to the nearest BTS (Asoke). However, the quiet location more than makes up for this. Also, you feel you're in a more local area, with Thai people going about their business (even though there are lots of expats around too) and I really liked that. You can also hail one of the many motorycle or car taxis passing by if you're in a hurry. HBTP is perfect in that sense for a long-term stay, perhaps for anything less than a week the location is a bit far from the action.

There are plenty of shops and cafes nearby as well, 7-11 just a few minutes' walk away.

There's also a gym and swimming pool, though I never used them, and laundry service.

I would highly recommend staying at HBTP and thank HBTP staff for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_girl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just got off the phone after trying to book a room for a week with them, and after taking my details they declined my reservation because I had an Indian passport. They told me that the owner had a strict policy of 'no Indians allowed'. It's really shocking and disappointing to know that this kind of discrimination and racism exists so explicitly. That one can be judged and refused entry to a business establishment based on one's nationality. In many years of travelling, in various countries all over the world this had been my first ever racist encounter.
What attracted me to this hotel was that it seemed green and peaceful and mellow, and it seems really ironical that so much darkness and ignorance lies at the heart of it.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone with a single moral fibre within them.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank longboardindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phuket230, Owner at House by the Pond, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
There must have been some kind of misunderstanding with our
New staff Indian national are welcome in fact we do have several Indian
Passport holders staying here only national from certain countries that the security
Services advised us the staff are unable to book the room for .we apologize for any inconvenience caused and would welcome u with a free night if u could identify the management
Which staff has prevented u from staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The only redeeming feature of this hotel was the staff - friendly and helpfull. Staff tried to find other accommodation when we werent happy about the hotel. Although the Hotel was old it did not need to be dirty. The linen, bedding, furnishing were all stained - no such thing as mattress or pillow protectors. Although we had booked two adjoining apartments it turned out that they didnt have any at all. The first room we were shown was very dirty - no cooking or laundry facilities. Gave up and left for another hotel - in fact not a great deal better. Finally found an exceptional hotel after visting three more unacceptable ones.

Room Tip: Dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in House by the pond for 3 nights, got a room A in building 2 (recommended), and enjoyed our stay there.
Place is clean, wi-fi works perfectly and the view from the balcony is just perfect: a little forest in the middle of busy Bangkok:)
The cushions are soft and very nice for sleeping.
Also, you have a rooftop pool in the main building, which is great for relaxing. The staff is helpful and very nice.
There is no breakfast, no hair dryer, but you have a little kitchen and you can make your own coffee in the morning before going out for breakfast (very near, but prices are higher than usual in BKK). The house is situated in a nice quarter (fency as it can be), so you don't have to worry about your safety.
I would choose this place again, way better than Khaosan or Chinatown places (very loud!).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notanotherbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We only stayed 2 nights at Christmas and enjoyed the space of what was like an old dated apartment. Facilities were basic though this place was evidently really nice once and could be quite smart. The area is not my favorite part of Bangkok so we walked a lot and the MRT was reasonably near though would recommend staying in Chinatown over sukhumvit. The area had good restaurants amongst the massage places it seems noted for. Overall, without breakfast or any facilities, with wifi, this is a good option at a low-medium budget. If a first timer in Bangkok you are better of nearer the centre and around Chinatown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've stayed here for on and off for about 5 yrs and it never disappoints. House by the pond is a quiet oasis in the bustle of Bangkok. Great location, value for money and facilities. The rooms/apartments are clean, spacious, quiet and accommodating. The staff are professional and helpful with useful tips on where to eat, spa treatments and shop etc. The rooftop pool is much appreciated after a day of sightseeing and shopping.
On the whole this is great stay with excellent value for money that will always make me return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#276 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#384 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlie House Pinklao
#221 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Sukhumvit
Studio Sukhumvit 18 by iCheck inn
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House by the Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House by the Pond

Property: House by the Pond
Address: 230/3 Soi Sai Namthip 2, Sukhumvit 22 | Khlong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — House by the Pond 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first international serviced apartment complex that makes you feel at home. Quotes from Jones Lang Wootton Asia Pacific Property 1996 Page 38 "The First International Standard serviced apartments in Bangkok which opened in 1991." House by the Pond is a period residence set in lush tropical surroundings full of greenery with a mature garden and a pond. House by the Pond is ideally located in the middle of the Sukhumvit area of central Bangkok within walking distance to the great entertainment and shopping centers and moments away from the Promphong and Asoke sky train BTS stations and the Queen Sirikit Convention Centre MRT underground station. We have many styles and room sizes, high standards and security which ensure the most comfortable stay at a very satisfying price. We provide roomy comfortable fully serviced apartments with a kitchen in each apartment, 24 hour security, free Wi-Fi high speed internet, room service, limousine service, self- service laundry, a roof top pool and sun deck with an extensive panoramic view of the city, a gym and a mature garden with an iconic pond which is a place of peace, serenity and tranquility to relax in the heart of the Bangkok metropolis. In addition, House By The Pond has a English Colonial style lounge area for all to enjoy and relax. The atmosphere is best described as being warm, friendly, charming and, above all, homely as all of our buildings are low rise. The architectural style of House By the Pond is truly refine and unique to Bangkok as it is of traditional period style. We have been in the industry for a very long time and pride ourselves in being one of the best valued for money serviced apartments in Thailand as we were one of the first serviced apartments to specialize in the international expat clientele and one which is truly a peaceful international residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your House by the Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House By The Pond Hotel Bangkok
Hotel By The Pond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing