We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good no frills meal”
Review of Suda Restaurant

Suda Restaurant
Ranked #229 of 11,055 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A good no frills meal”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was a bit put off by some of the recent reviews from local ex pats, but have to say that my experience didn't bear out the criticisms.
I have been visiting Thailand for many years and I would not call the food "tourist thai", at least not what I had, I counted about 30 customers, only two farang and maybe 4 or 5 that were probably Asian tourists, the rest looked more like local office workers.
I found the wait staff smiling and efficient, maybe I caught them on a good day!
Yes the prices are higher than the nearby street food places, but the standard also was higher, the beer was cold and I would expect they had fridges in the kitchen, rather than just a simple cooking hand cart that is the usual for the no name street set ups

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    361
    124
    48
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
powellnut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just a bit off Sukhimvit, but worth the effort. Lots of locals eat here and now quite a few tourist. I usally eat here several times each trip..very low key and reasonable

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank powellnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food, good ambience and good value”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In the heart of Bangkok, Sukhunvit Soi 14, in quiet alley, Suda Restaurant is convenietly located to have dinner before enjoying Bangkok nightlife.
Always very busy, but there are lots of tables, so although I have been there at least 6 times, I have never had to wait to be seated.
The family that run the busines are all really nice and smiley, as most thai people are.
Beer is cold and cheap.
Food is perfect. I would recomend chicken in banana leaf, clams with chilli paste and tom yam kum. But the rest are fine too.
Is very good value. Samer food in a proper restaurent could cost you easily for or five times more. Is street food. But you are siiting in the centre of BAngkok, are you can enjoy cold drinks. Everytime I go to Bangkok, I visit this restaurant at least twice.
Don´t think it twice and go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedroimr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Very traditional”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located away from the main road. So, on the whole it is quiet from the street noise.

Food is great. Plenty of tourist patronise this restaurant.

Not a 5 star place but great

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Long M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Thai food!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little place in a busy strip of bangkok for those that want tasty Thai food. Sure, it is more expensive then what you pay on the street (but not as costly as some very 'weatern' thai eateries on some close soi's!!) but it's a fun place to sit, eat great food and people watch, as you will see people from all over the world dining here!! I think the staff were great and happy to have a laugh.
Food was very tasty; with all Thai food, it's what you order- there are meals for the western palate; but you can also get some tasty dishes here that are packed with flavour. I would go there again; I really enjoy the open air dining experience!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherryPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suda Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Suda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing