We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible quality meat, average rice, 250B”
Review of Shahrazad

Shahrazad
Ranked #1,557 of 11,055 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Lebanese
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
1 review
“Horrible quality meat, average rice, 250B”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

One plus: they brought water without being asked, good callz - My order: I asked for rice and chicken kebab. I was brought decent rice, absolutely disgusting meat and some basic vegetables like arab places usually bring. Te chicken looked old and overcooked or overspiced to mask that. I will NEVER eat at this place again! I ate half the rice, almost no meat and left.

Helpful?
Thank Ari Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“first off, let's get the spelling correct: it's Shahrazad as shown in the photograph!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

the charcoal-fired grill takes pride of place as you enter the restaurant, and rightfully so: they are masters of the grill! The meal was inevitably compared to Beirut, a week earlier: superb grilled sea bass, lamb kebabs..lamb heart should have been sliced thinner and flash-grilled..as it was, it was tasty, but overcooked, and slight tough..the tabbouleh was acceptable, but not as good as Beirut's..bread was far superior to Beirut..overall, Beirut beats Shahrazad in terms of the intrinsic quality of the food, as well as for value (portions/cost)..however, the service at Shahrazad is excellent, the manager is genuinely concerned about your enjoyment of the meal, and this counts for a lot

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dato' Ainuddin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Middle Eastern Food, Yes...”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

On recommendation from a friend, my wife and I tried Sheherazade this past weekend. I was sure to try a few staples as sort of a reference: hummus w/meat, falafel, cucumber/yogurt salad, lentil soup, grilled lamb. Nothing too obscure on this first outing. Very authentic food, and I have eaten in both Cairo and Jerusalem. I must say that these guys serve the best hummus in Bangkok. You could go here just for that, really. Everything else was excellent as well. The food alone gets 5 stars, easy. (There is also a page in the menu dedicated to Iranian cuisine, but it is written in Farsi, so bring your Persian friend if you want it deciphered.)

This place is near the Nana BTS station, which means crowds of Muslims from different parts of the world. It also means lots of sex workers and many of 'that kind' of massage parlor. It's a fascinating juxtaposition, and an equally interesting area to visit on a number of levels.

Having said all that, I will say a few other things, which may or may not affect your decision to come here. First, the staff are neither friendly nor unfriendly. I would say 'neutral and somewhat indifferent'. Do not come here if you have need to chit-chat with the staff. They do their job, and that's about it. Also, the prices are about what I would spend back in the US for a similar meal, so not really a 'bargain'. Last note: This place is staffed and frequented by Muslims, whose men take note of uncovered-up Western women. (For the curious, my wife was wearing a short-sleeve shirt, 3/4 length pants, and proper shoes - nothing remotely controversial -- and this is Bangkok, not Tehran.) The level of uninvited attention directed toward her wasn't to the point of overt rudeness, but *zero* would have been better.

In any event, I give 4 stars for the overall experience and will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSimonMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent shish-kebab and kifta-kebab;they actually use lamb.”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Other customers were mostly Arabic, so probably pretty authentic. Fast service, and food was piping hot from the grill. Best Middle Eastern food I've found in Thailand.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fwheby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kofta and Baba Ganoush Thats Second to None”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Located amongst many Middle Eastern restaurants on the Soi, Sheherazade stands above all with their craftsmanship at the grill. The best Kofta and Baba Ganoush I have ever had. The smokiness of the grilled eggplant in the BG just really takes it over the top.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank khillebrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahrazad also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Shahrazad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing