We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not Just 61st Floor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar

Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar
Ranked #92 of 10,379 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sathorn
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not Just 61st Floor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading the many reviews we have decided to book a table for two well ahead. After arriving to the hotel we took the lift to the 59th floor where we were greeted by the staff and informed that due to the rain few minutes ago (well, yes, it's the rainy season here) the Vertigo restaurant is closed for cleanup and would remain so for the next 30-45 minutes. We were given three options – to wait at the bar downstairs, to wait at the bar on the 59th floor or to cancel our visit. We decided to take a Singapore sling and the bar up here and enjoyed the already extraordinary view. After 40 minutes we were taken up to Vertigo roof top restaurant to a table on the highest deck. The difference between the restaurant two floors below and here was striking. There was an unobstructed view 360 degrees. Our waiter spoke very well English and was perfect. There is nothing we could say negative about the food. It was what one would expect at this price level. The cutlery could have been silver and the glasses made of crystal but overall impression was good. The two main assets were the view and the waiter. Expect a pricetag around 10.000,- bht for a complete dinner with drinks (champagne excluded, that would increase the price by a factor of 2-3)

The value for money ratio if looked at only through the prism of getting dinner is not good. But our conclusion is – worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,982
    1,220
    535
    186
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1,175 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
“Great Evening with the Right Table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had been an on-and-off customers of the Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar since they opened for business. Being on top of the building over-looking the Bangkok panoramic view is definitely exciting especially for the present iPhone photo craze. However with the limited space, the tables tense to be quite tightly arranged. Braving the weather and the uncertainty of no-show, the management tried to position each assigned table with the best view and proper surrounding. We always enjoyed our evening with the Vertigo however we also bear in mind of the advance reservation and cooperation with the waiter for the best available table. Beside the view, the wine and food in the Vertigo were quite good disregard to the distance from the kitchen.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Bar only - forget the price - just take in the view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Seriously breathtaking! The minute you step out of the door - which be aware is up quite a few staircases from the top of the lift! - you are iniundated with the wide and wonderful spectacle of Bangkok's high-rise night-time skyline.... keep going up to the bar though and the view is 360 degrees and superb on a warm sultry night with the breeze blowing!
It's extremely vertigious - as is the bar bill (but the drinks were good!)... have a couple, take it all in and head all the way down to earth (for prices too!) ... don't complain about the $$$ - let's face it - it WAS worth it wasn't it?!!
(we ate next door at Nahm - separate review)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slhguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow! Worth overcoming fear of heights for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I visited the moon bar for a few drinks recently. The weather was fine so we made our way to the 59th floor and walked up 2 further short flights of stairs... The view really is breathtaking...a panoramic, uninterrupted view of Bangkok. We had cocktails and asked for a table .. They gave us a table when one became free and we ordered a bottle of wine ( all decent wine is very expensive in Thailand) .. And you would expect to pay a little extra for the setting..

The atmosphere was buzzing, staff attentive and the view incredible.

Would definitely visit next time I am in Bangkok. A view I will remember for a long time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank C-A63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Only for views!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile


The view at night is breathtaking. That is all what you go for, donot expect a fancy cocktail coming up. The cocktails were expensive 370baht and not at all fancy or tasty. Just mixed and put in a glass. The atmosphere was nothing awesome. The bar was crowded and so we were offered seating in restaurant. There were few people dressed really classy, but didn't know that smart casuals also allowed collarless t-shirts.

Just go for view and nice breeze. Also one tip for photographers, I was objected by a stewardess for using tripod. You might want to check first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ankismile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing