We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Worth overcoming fear of heights for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar

Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar
Ranked #100 of 10,626 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sathorn
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow! Worth overcoming fear of heights for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I visited the moon bar for a few drinks recently. The weather was fine so we made our way to the 59th floor and walked up 2 further short flights of stairs... The view really is breathtaking...a panoramic, uninterrupted view of Bangkok. We had cocktails and asked for a table .. They gave us a table when one became free and we ordered a bottle of wine ( all decent wine is very expensive in Thailand) .. And you would expect to pay a little extra for the setting..

The atmosphere was buzzing, staff attentive and the view incredible.

Would definitely visit next time I am in Bangkok. A view I will remember for a long time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank C-A63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,186
    1,337
    576
    216
    112
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Only for views!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile


The view at night is breathtaking. That is all what you go for, donot expect a fancy cocktail coming up. The cocktails were expensive 370baht and not at all fancy or tasty. Just mixed and put in a glass. The atmosphere was nothing awesome. The bar was crowded and so we were offered seating in restaurant. There were few people dressed really classy, but didn't know that smart casuals also allowed collarless t-shirts.

Just go for view and nice breeze. Also one tip for photographers, I was objected by a stewardess for using tripod. You might want to check first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ankismile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambais, France
Level Contributor
300 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Check the weather first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Vertigo is uniqueon the roof of the Banyan Tree hotel meaning on the 61 st floor (you have elevator till the 59 th) and then climb 2 floors. You are completely outside with fresh air compared to street level and in an expensive restaurant for Thailand with Westerner prices but very good moern food. However if it will rain or has rained before they will move you to the 59 th floor restaurnat which is no interest noisy, people more casual than smart and where you are not garantteed to get a window table meaning zero interest to go there so make sure the weather is fine and you will enjoy Vertigo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trotteglober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An expensive beer but good view of the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good place to go see the lights of bangkok at night, but it is very expensive. If it rains do, they will ask everybody to go down. We didnt had the chance to eat there but the drinks we're good.

The service do, was very bad. Control freak didnt let us pull a chair with another table... It was a snub atmosphere where the employes expected a very big tip. Not the kind of atmosphere we like.

Worth going for the view of the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloéNalexandre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rooftop dining, magnificent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The experience of dining on the rooftop is great! Food was good but not excellent. Overall service is fantastic. You even get a free photo taken by the staff as a memorabilia. Nice touch! Pricing is steep but not unreasonable for fine dining in such settings.

As it is outdoor rooftop dining, be prepared to be disappointed if the weather turns bad. Also could be a bit warm, depending on which time of the year you visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank alphaev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar also viewed

 

Been to Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing