We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive beer but good view of the city”

Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar
Ranked #113 of 10,686 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sathorn
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An expensive beer but good view of the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good place to go see the lights of bangkok at night, but it is very expensive. If it rains do, they will ask everybody to go down. We didnt had the chance to eat there but the drinks we're good.

The service do, was very bad. Control freak didnt let us pull a chair with another table... It was a snub atmosphere where the employes expected a very big tip. Not the kind of atmosphere we like.

Worth going for the view of the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloéNalexandre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,241
    1,366
    592
    220
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rooftop dining, magnificent view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The experience of dining on the rooftop is great! Food was good but not excellent. Overall service is fantastic. You even get a free photo taken by the staff as a memorabilia. Nice touch! Pricing is steep but not unreasonable for fine dining in such settings.

As it is outdoor rooftop dining, be prepared to be disappointed if the weather turns bad. Also could be a bit warm, depending on which time of the year you visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank alphaev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, good food, bad ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The place is fabulous for its views but the ambience is really lame and can get a bit boring...everything else is good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moises Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We should have paid more attention to other postings about Vertigo.

Yes, the view is good. Yes, our waiter was fine, but beyond that we have nothing good to say.

Food was so average, staff were generally poor and even the Banyon Tree Hotel was disappointing.

Prices are outrageous!

Please don't go

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MartynLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Distinctly average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

As honeymooners we were very excited and looking forward to staying at the banyan tree and our first night at the vertigo restaurant at the very top of the hotel. The views are quite spectacular however the same cannot be said for the food. Very pricey and mainly imported we had the seafood tower at 2,200 Bhat and for the first time in my life left the lobster on my plate.

The service was good but the moon bar and vertigo restaurant hectic and crowed so would recommend going either very early or much later in the evening (we arrived at 7pm and things quietened down by 9)

For those looking for post dinner cocktails this would be great but for us not the luxe experience we were hoping for.

For a more relaxing experience with the same view try saffron a few floors down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing