We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view but eat somewhere else”

Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar
Ranked #113 of 10,686 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sathorn
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great view but eat somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Having visited many Banyan Tree resorts across Asia, I was really looking forward to dinner at Vertigo. I was VERY disappointed. The view is amazing--great view across the Bangkok skyline but that is about it. The food is average at best and very expensive for Bangkok--would definitely not mind paying the high price if the food was up to the standard, but average at best. The bread that was brought out was really stale and our starters and mains were just OK. The lobster spring role had some spice that was overpowering and the foie gras would have been OK, except it was served on the same stale bread and there was something in the citrus garnish that was VERY sour. For mains we had the prawns and a steak--both were OK but nothing really to comment on. The dessert menu was a bit strange--almost trying to hard to be interesting..so we didn't get anything. Recommendation--go there for a drink to enjoy the view, but eat somewhere else. To be fair, the servers were very friendly and were attentive which was positive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,240
    1,366
    592
    220
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The view and the experience of sitting so high up is what makes this a memorable experience. The food is fine without being great. If this restaurant was at ground level you would grudge the cost and say it was too expensive. But it is all about the location. That is good enough to make it worth it as a one off experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great view but not more”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

From the Vertigo, you have a great view over bangkok. Just wonderful. There is an outdoor restaurant and a bar. Just for a drink, it is perfect, but the food was not good and MUCH TOO EXPENSIVE. As a starter, we have ordered an apetizer plate for around USD 70 for 2... 9 small bits for 70 USD is too expensive. For main course, we have ordered shrimps... they were ok (eventhough the stomach has not been taken out) but simply not enough. The sauce served with the shrimps was, however, really great. In total we have paid over 300 USD for 2 cocktails, 2 glass of white wine, appetizer and main course for 2. For Bangkok, too much After this dinner, we went to the hotel restaurant where we had again a dinner. Go to the Vertigo for a drink, but definitely not for dinner (unless you are on a strict diet)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have a Drink and Enjoy the View - Eat Somewhere Else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

A truly remarkable view and rooftop space make this an attractive place for a first time visit, but sadly, the horrible service, uninspired food, and excessively high prices (by Bangkok dining standards) will assure that no sophisticated diner will ever return for another look.

We first enjoyed a nice cocktail in the bar area, while enjoying the view and looking forward to our dinner. Little did we know that our martini would be the last decent thing we were served.

We decided to share the 7 course tasting menu with wine pairings. Sounds nice, but that's when trouble began. The fresh oyster starters came out warm, not cold. Subsequent wine pairings were either poured long before the next course arrived, or only after we waited while our food grew cold. In one instance, our Merlot was not timely served with the blandest duck dish I've ever tasted, so the "couldn't care less" waiter decided it would be smart to simply bring us a glass of tardy Merlot with our beef course and poured it alongside the Cab!

Not a single dish was better than an average- skilled cook could prepare at home, and one dish - the Ribeye steak - was a truly ridiculous thin slice of beef that did not come with menu-described Bernaise sauce but instead was served with some salty brown liquid of no discernible sauce-type.
It was as if the kitchen and waitstaff held the tourists they were serving in utter contempt.

The price for all this aggravation was more than we paid for our next two dinners in Bangkok, at much better restaurants!

Bottom line: Incredible sky-high open air views; incredibly bad, sky-high price, dining experience. Have a drink there if you must, but dine elsewhere ( almost anywhere) in Bangkok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DTDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This restaurant is located on the top of Bangkok.
It is under the sky and has clear view of the entire city.
Menu has good variety and the food is delicious.
Prices are a bit high comparing to Thai style but I can see why it is so expensive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbarnea2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Vertigo Grill and Moon Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing