We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Diamond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond House
Ranked #296 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Bareclona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Good place to start your trip, but you do have 3 flights of stairs to get to the rooms or the lift. Found the lower rooms a bit noisy because of the road. We found the beds hard, and the rooms dark. Also the strange split level floors can be a bit annoying in the rooms. Staff are great but lack good English , so can be confusing a times. Very clean and good location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thelate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    145
    76
    16
    7
See reviews for
13
139
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I got a superior room for 3 nights. We arrived and the staff were very friendly! We were showed to our room and it was very cute - quite modern and very clean. I really liked the style. It has character! We had a problem with the safe but the man from reception helped us no question. Breakfast was nice - a bit rubbish it wasn't included free of charge but never mind. The coffee is amaze!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The staff at the Diamond house was so fantastic to our crazy crew. Food was great, they were up at all hours to help with any need you had. I can't stress enough how great my experience was there and the staff. Fabulous rooms and extremely clean. Close to everything. Be careful of the Tuk Tuk drivers! Thank you again.

Rychard Mckeown
Canada!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rychard4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

YUMMY food at lunch time

Best food we had in our 4 day stay. We spotted it on our way to Grand Palace.

The staff were accommodating to our needs for the dishes to be extra hot and spicy

Cannot comment on hotel as did not stay here, but food was delightful

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

excellent location to Khao San road, only 10 minutes walk away but far enough away for a good nights sleep. water taxi also only 10-15 minutes walk away. The rooms were a little small though, no room for large suitcases and were too dark. The lighting was very poor and the dark decor didn't help. Also, the lift doesn't reach from ground floor to the top floor, you still need to climb some stairs. Breakfast was great and the staff were very helpful with good english too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pritchs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is more of a backpackers hotel in a good spot for cheap food, evening markets and entertainment. Rooms are small with no real area to sit in and some have a bunk bed arrangement even though they are offered as double rooms. There is a kettle and tea, coffee and free water. Wifi is good and reliable. beds were comfortable and importantly the shower was very good. We paid £22 through Agoda and were staying there with friends. Although it might suit some being older and wanting a little more i wouldn't stay again as there may be better value in the area.

Room Tip: try to avoid the front of the hotel and bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomastick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Diamond House for 5 days in early Jan '14. The Bangkok protests made the hotel difficult to reach due to the shutdown, but I think this went for everywhere in Bangkok at the time.

The hotel itself is very clean and well decorated. The staff made every effort to get us in a room before standard check in as our flight arrived at 6am. This was much appreciated, and we were in our room by 11am after a nice breakfast in the hotel cafe.

The rooms have a well stocked fridge, good aircon and a hard but comfy bed with duvet. The bathrooms are very nice, but our shower only ever had freezing or scalding water - never in between! The safe in our room was also broken, and not secured to anything, leaving it unusable. We were not unable to communicate this to staff, with them merely repeating the lock instructions to us time and again. (Other than this the staff were pretty good, booked us reliable taxis etc)

Our room faced the road which was constantly noisy, but again this is true of most of Bangkok. If you can get a room facing the canal though, or higher up this may help alleviate the noise.

The rooftop jacuzzi was very cool, and just what you want after a day walking around Bangkok. The location of the hotel is great, being just a stones throw from the Khaosan rd, and a number of markets and attractions. The Grand Palace for example is about a 20 min walk if you can figure out directions - and are brave crossing roads!

The hotel is a decent safe haven in Bangkok, surrounded by nice restaurants & bars. It's a long trip over to the main shopping centres and Silom, but if you want to be close to Khaosan without the noise - this is a very decent option.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#200 of 852 in Bangkok
190 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#313 of 852 in Bangkok
441 reviews
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#350 of 852 in Bangkok
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#314 of 852 in Bangkok
401 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#341 of 852 in Bangkok
1,270 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#324 of 852 in Bangkok
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond House

Property: Diamond House
Address: 4 Samsen Road( Khao San) | Banglampoo, Phranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Diamond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond House Hotel Bangkok
Diamond Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing