We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Diamond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamond House
Ranked #294 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Love this place. My husband and I have stayed here a couple of times. Food is great, rooms are small but very cozy and staff are so sweet and helpfull. It's in walking distance, 5 min, from the khao San shopping area, but because it's a bit more expensive you don't feel surrounded by backpackers and it's possible to sleep nice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pennylane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    145
    76
    16
    7
See reviews for
13
139
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Angusthescot
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

we stayed for 3 nights even though we were booked in for 4.Great location.Excellent staff.deluxe rooms come with bed,fridge,storage,en suite bathroom with shower air conditioning.Rooms cleaned every day.They serve food and alcoholic beverages.We checked out a day early and booked a flight upto Chiang Mai.They refunded us for the 4th night and arranged our taxi to the airport.Would definitely stay again when we are next in Bangkok.Word of warning.Don't ever use the tuk tuks.They never take you were you want to go and take you to travel agents and other places trying to sell you stuff.Waste of an afternoon.Just flag a taxi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angusthescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Diamond House is the perfect place in Bangkok if you wish to be close to Khaosan Road without the added bonus of a quiet nights sleep.

Rooms were more than adequately, with bunk beds offering an almost double sized mattress! They were clean and offered hot showers with a good water pressure (a rare luxury in the backpacker world)

Staff were friendly and well mannered, with a smile at check in.

My only complaint was with the 'hot tub' on the roof, which was not working during my stay, or if it was I could not turn it on! I did ask a member of staff to aid me but no one seemed to be that bothered. I thought that due to this being a unique selling point to the hotel this would have been better managed or at least notified upon check in.

I would not let this minor point put me off and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azzabarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent Christmas week there and were pleased with the room as well as the great location. It's surrounded by great shopping, restaurants, and sites yet still nice and quiet. The staff was warm and helpful. I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Diamond House is a lovely place to stay. If your backpacking it is a nice place to come to once you have landed in Bangkok. It is on the main street (Samsen) just round the corner from Khosan Rd. Far enough away to not be too noisey. But just a short stroll to all the party amosphere.
They have good food, with pleanty of options for both meat eaters and vegetarians.
Comfortable beds, a lift, clean and generally nicely decorated.
The highlight for us was the jacuzzi, which no other guests seemed to know about. The staff allowed my friends who weren't staying to use it too. Brilliant place to chill out!
The one draw back from a backpacker's perspective was the price. 24 gbp a night for a twin bunk room. Very basic hostels nearby charge around 3 gbp a night, but hotels with roof top swimming pools and large suite rooms charge 100gbp upwards. I felt this was nearer to the latter! Still you get what you pay for. My verdict bargain. I wish I'd taken photos, but the ones used by the hostel to advertise are accurate enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRJuska1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and had no problems. The location is good. Close to the busy Khao San Road but not too close. The room was very dark and small, but otherwise fine. Helpful staff and rooftop "lounge". I think the price was ok for a double room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sallydorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Diamond House is walking distance from Khao San Rd but not near as noisy. The entrance is tucked away a bit. When your staying here, make sure you tell the taxi driver(s) to go to Banglampoo Soi 2 (Soi song), as they do not seem to know where Samsen Rd is.

My room was small and the mattress quite hard. I also couldn't get the shower at the right temperature, and though the heat can be adjusted manually. Could've been my bad. Other than that it was a nice hotel and the staff were very friendly! The food was good and always brought out very quickly. They charge 10% extra for room service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverside82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#201 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#314 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#344 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#315 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#340 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#323 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond House

Property: Diamond House
Address: 4 Samsen Road( Khao San) | Banglampoo, Phranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Diamond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond House Hotel Bangkok
Diamond Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing