We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap food”
Review of Diamond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diamond House
Ranked #301 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Ski
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cheap food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay in Bangkok. This restaurant was quite small, and they had typical thai food. The prices were low and the food well tasting. Wi-Fi was OK here. We didn't stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    146
    76
    16
    7
See reviews for
13
142
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

As this was our first time in Bangkok we relied on the reviews to point us to a pleasant, cheap room with a good location and that's exactly what it was.

Ok the rooms were tiny but very clean as they were cleaned everyday. The staff at reception were brilliant, a lot of the reviews say the staff wernt very friendly but we thought otherwise. They did everything they could to help us as we were first timers in Bangkok.

The location of the hotel is brilliant, away from the party scene so you will get a greats nights sleep, but only a 5 minute walk away.

Great stay overall and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03bellisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is not a too bad quality/price, if you are a budget traveler and if you can share ALL things with an other person, because the bathroom is separated with a sort of transparent plastic and is not closed up until the ceiling.. ha ha, can be funny!!
Concerning the people at the reception, I knew before they don't smile or say hello because of the reviews there and it didn't matter (I thought) but I tried and it was very unpleasant to have no answer to a simply good morning, no reaction, nothing -_-' lol!
The cleaness was ok, except the jacuzzi that was truly dirty.
It is not too far of khaosan 5 min walk.

After 3 nights there, I didn't go back when I returned to Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qufu, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Diamond House before it was recommended in the Lonely Planet and had a great stay, we had a huge room on the top level and were really impressed.

This time we came back an the rooms seem to have shrunk!! Could it be possible that they have added another room or two to the floors? To be honest, compared to some of the other places we have stayed in Bangkok for that price, it didn't live up to expectations. However the staff were absolutely lovely and the location is brilliant. Rooms are clean, but cramped.

Decent budget option if you don't mind not having a lot of room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyeleanor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the location (near to Khao San Rd) and of course the price.

This is a lovely boutique, authentic style hotel. The room was a bit cramped, but how long do you spend in there when you're in a city like Bangkok? Staff were great, 24hr reception, good English speaking - Although we weren't told much info about the surrounding area. However they did give us a map upon request.

Room overlooked an estuary of the river wasn't too noisy.

The hotel was only a 10 minute walk through an authentic market to Khao San Rd, close but far enough.

We asked for a taxi to Don Muang airport when we were leaving, when we were informed of the hotels taxi service, which would cost 500THB. We agreed as the room deposit would cover this. When we returned to Bangkok near the end of our trip, we covered a similar distance in a metered taxi, at a much cheaper price. I would personally request/flag down a metered taxi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaJ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Booked this one online after reading Tripadvisor reviews of Bangkok hotels. We checked in and had some help getting our bags up to the 3rd floor and surveyed our small but comfy room. The bathroom/shower with the glazed glass partition was a little different but nothing we couldn't handle, the beds were hard (as per Asia) but the safe, WIFI and cable TV all worked fairly well. We had a few breakfasts in the restaurant/lobby and we slept fine, despite some heavy rain downpours and crazy neighbours. We didn't use the roof hot tub but did lounge around up there one evening and found some cute restaurants nearby to try out. Overall it was a great place to come back to and made you want to go out and experience all that Bangkok has to offer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyestones1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Location is amazing, its away from the noise but its only a 2 minute walk to Kaosan road. rooms a fine, bed is hard but arnt all beds hard in Asia??? shower room is very clean. Hotel is very peacefull and the roof top area is a nice added touch. The hotels doesnt have an elevator so if you dont like stairs maybe ask for a low floor. We was on the top floor and we didnt hear a peep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMAabouttheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#205 of 862 in Bangkok
200 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#321 of 862 in Bangkok
414 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#341 of 862 in Bangkok
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#323 of 862 in Bangkok
231 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#347 of 862 in Bangkok
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond House

Property: Diamond House
Address: 4 Samsen Road( Khao San) | Banglampoo, Phranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond House Hotel Bangkok
Diamond Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing