We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Management needs to show more interest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citichic by iCheck Inn
Ranked #281 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Management needs to show more interest”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a not bad hotel in its niche and price range. But it could so easily be so much better.

First impressions are favourable because of an attractive decor. These however diminish on closer acquaintance. As said by previous reviewers, the rooms are being allowed to degrade due to lack of appropriate and timely maintenance. This is a function of Management which appears to be deficient in a number of areas.

The knocks and damage resulting from a constant throughput of travellers could easily be countered by regular retouching with varnish. paint etc. This is elementary.

Similarly the first impressions of cleanliness are good but again these are let down by further experience. The areas around the edge of the bath, the shower compartment and the base of the shower doors were dirty and needed a thorough cleaning. Again elementary.

I wonder how often Management actually visit the rooms to inspect them and ensure they are of a satisfactory standard.

In a similar vein on my first day my breakfast was served without the beans mentioned on the menu. When I drew the waitress's attention to this she retreated in some confusion to the Kitchen to come back and tell me they "were finished". When I tried to explain to her that this was not acceptable she was completely bewildered as were her colleagues.

Next morning when I presented myself for breakfast a waiter at once came over and assured me with a smile: "We have beans." it proved completely futile to seek to explain that beans were not a major preoccupation for me. Rather it was the failure to advise me of the lack of them and the failure to offer an alternative which was the issue.

At no point do I hold the Staff responsible. I found them earnest, friendly and willing. What they lacked was training. Similarly with the chambermaid. They were doing their best but needed better training, guidance and monitoring. All functions of Management.

On the first morning of the "beans saga" I expressed my dissatisfaction to Reception who offered to tell the manager who would then be in touch with me. I agreed and hoped for a brief constructive exchange. At no point did anyone from Management attempt to contact me confirming my sense of limited interest.

So come on then, those in charge, Citichic could be a great little hotel. And don't blame the Staff; it's not their fault.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnydiScozia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    232
    59
    13
    10
See reviews for
31
140
101
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

So, this hotel should get a 4, and probably would have 5 years ago, but everything here is tired. Yes, it looks stylish from afar, but upon closer inspection, the carpet is just dead and done. There are chips in all the furniture, scrapes on the walls.

The bathroom is strange. There is a separate shower/toilet on the left side and a tub on the right side. Trying to be cute with the design. The problem is, the shower stall has a sliding glass door and if you are a large or tall person, you won't fit. Same with the toilet stall.

Another thing I didn't like is that while I am a smoker, I prefer to smoke on a balcony, or at least crack the window open. No can do.

The pool is small, but has a nice view. The gym is actually well-equipped. The problem: both close at 7pm. Personally, I'm a late night gym goer, so that was a bummer.

The good: location. Though technically on Soi 13, it is a 1 minute walk to Soi 11, where the nightlife abounds. Also, the staff was quite nice and helpful to me.

This property just got bought by iCheck Inn, so hopefully they'll refurbish it because it should be a hip, boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivarising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is located at the exact opposite end of Soi 13 to Sukhumvit road. It is on the corner as you turn left on to Soi 11.
The entrance is modern and appealing, although the lobby area is pretty small (as would expect with a boutique hotel).
We arrived at around 13:00 and could not check in until 14:00 (which was fine). So we decided to have the afternoon shopping and check in later. We needed to get to Nana BTS on Sukhumvit road. We asked for the free hotel tuk-tuk to take us however it only ran at designated times - every 30 minutes until 7pm. Ok, so we decided to just go for the walk. I would say this was a bad decision in the heat, and especially with us having a baby and pushchair. Also, there is not much to look at on Soi 13. It took us around 15 minutes.
On arriving back at the hotel, after another 15 minutes walk back down the Soi we got checked in very quickly and the receptionist even upgraded our room! :)
We were on the ground floor:
The room was a fair size but not that much floor space. The bed was large taking up nearly all the space, however this is not always a bad thing. On the other hand it did creek a lot!
The bathroom was very modern and we also had an outdoor balcony with table and chair....but not much to look at apart from a wall !
The pool area was not too impressive, very small with few loungers. Just aswell there was no Sun. A good point is that it had a gym (if anyone would use it?!)
Overall, I would say it is a nice hotel, friendly staff, worth the price (around 1800THB) and very good location to Qbar, Bed, The Nest and other good hotels on SOI 11 !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesG111186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here fore 3 nights primarily because I had a load of Agoda points to use up before the end of the month and it was on a special promotion. Around 1500 baht per night net inc b/fast.

The hotel was one of the first in a trend of small 50-100 bedroom boutique hotels that have been opening up over the last 5-7 years. Although perhaps some interesting design touches its clear the money was not initially invested in high quality fittings and fixtures and the property is showing its age badly.

The rooms are quite worn with lots of scrapes visible on almost every surface and piece of furniture. The towels were pretty old as was the bedding which was also stained. I would say the housekeeping was quite below standard - especially for Thailand - and the rooms are in desperate need of proper deep cleaning.

The rooms are very small and as a couple you will be tripping over each other a bit. A huge bed which almost engulfs the entire space - probably should have put a slightly smaller one to open up the floor space. Oh and the bed creaks like crazy, just moving in your sleep and it makes noise.

The AC worked well and the shower was powerful (although not really clean) and internet seemed fast enough which was complimentary.

The staff were friendly enough although not all had much command of english. We had the breakfast for one day and skipped the others. I have had much worse but it wasn't great either. Probably better to save the cash and eat at one of the restaurants round the corner.

The best thing about the place is probably its relatively central location and close to good nightlife although with Bed Club closing down this month I suspect the area will begin to die. Its a the very top of the Soi and their free tuk-tuk service doesn't operate most of the time so you have to either walk or get a cab - walk is a good 10-15 mins from main road.

If they strip the hotel top to bottom and renovate it could be a better, but the rooms are fundamentally tiny and there are so many other choices if you are willing to spend a few hundred extra baht per night I personally will not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah, Palestine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Such a great hotel! My boyfriend and I stayed here for five nights- we have nothing to complain about. The location is perfect- 5 minute walk to Nana train station in the skytrain. You can get straight to and from BKK airport by the skytrain. Street bars and a few clubs are on the street, Seven 11 as well. The street markets are also a 5 minute walk. The hotel itself is really nice. Very new, rooms are a good cozy size. Very very clean. Staff is so friendly and always wanting to help. Can use their computers whenever and the wifi in the room is good. The pool is nice, small but that's not an issue at all. I would highly recommend this hotel (:

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently and had a great stay!

Rooms are modern, comfy and clean, reception are VERY helpful and friendly gave me some great advice on what to do etc and location is on soi 11 which must be one of the most lively streets in Bangkok BUT the hotel is on a quiet part of the street so no noise or bars directly outside. About a 10-15min walk to Nana BTS.

Only small negative, I requested a non-smoking room, and my room obviously was smoking as it smelt of smoke when i checked in, but the smell went after 2/3 days with air freshener..

Price was at the top end of what i paid around Thailand but probably about fair given its modern, definately cheaper options however

Would stay again if they have any offers/deals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

It was our first visit in Bangkok and we had a nice time. Citichic is a perfect hotel for those who want to save a bit of money. Th price is reasonable with it's great location. Check-in was fast and easy, it's not a big hotel but it's really in the center of bangkok. They offer free tuktuk going to the train station which is NANA STATION, if you prefer to walk it would only take you 5 mins. It's nearby restaurants, bars and street BARVAN which is a van set up on the side of the street and serves cocktails in a lower price than inside the bar and not too crowded.

Breakfast was simple and nice, there's a pool on the roof deck which we never tried but it was nice place to relax and it's facing sunset so you can your love one can have nice time up there.

Overall a nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 11 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#293 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspira Hiptique
Aspira Hiptique
#691 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Citrus Sukhumvit 13 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Citrus Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#112 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citichic by iCheck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citichic by iCheck Inn

Property: Citichic by iCheck Inn
Address: 34 Sukhumvit Soi13 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Citichic Boutique Suite Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#157 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citichic by iCheck Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready to experience one of Bangkok’s hippest settings? A modern, stylish, affordable place to stay in the heart of Bangkok awaits you. iCheck Inn is just meters away from Sukhumvit Soi 11, home to some of the area’s best bars and restaurants.Our inviting, lifestyle rooms are available with the very latest amenities, including free Wi-Fi, perfect for today’s modern leisure travelers. Within easy reach of Terminal 21, Bangkok’s trendiest shopping and entertainment center, use our free tuk-tuk service to BTS Nana to explore the rest of this thriving metropolis. A great choice, centrally located - welcome to one of Bangkok’s most exciting boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citichic by iCheck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citichic Boutique Hotel Bangkok
Citichic Boutique Suite Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing