We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel de Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Bangkok
Ranked #253 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed March 31, 2012

They provide good service. Kind employees and even the house keeping lady is very kind. We stayed for 3 nights without requesting for make-up room. She even asked us if we want to have our room cleaned. We didnt let her because we have lots of important things scatterd inside our rooms. She came back to our room with new towels and our complimentary bottled waters without requesting for it. You can see some scary houses of their neighbors from the corridor. 10 mins walk to pratunam market but you have to cross a scary and dangerous intersection to reach to the other side of Rachaprarok and there is a stoplight for crossers, you have to wait for a long time. Its hard if you plan to shop for lots of things. Broken safety box in both rooms we booked. Im sure its not working. Keeps on popping error message when encoding new lock code. Kindly check 324 and 335's safety boxes. Good wifi signal and speed. Recommend this hotel for shoppers and for business travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wongken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 491 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

the staff at this hotel were quite nice in helping us find restaurants, get cabs etc.

however, the hotel is very hard to find. many cab drivers took one look at the card and passed. however if you tell them to go to the airport train station most will agree - from that landmark, you will have to direct them to the hotel. the main road is not very lively at night, so it renders the feeling of not being very 'safe' to walk.

a couple of minor (or major, depending on your poitn of view) issues:
- the curtains for windows adjacent to the corridor are not lined with blackout material. hence, the glare from the corridor lights can be quite harsh and make it hard to sleep well.
- runoff from the shower leaks out of tub onto floor, no matter how carefully you arrange shower curtains
- no electric kettle in room for hot water

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sll24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear siewlunglui,

Thank you for your review and staying with us.

We acknowledge your feedback and we will immediately change the curtain to black-out. We are procuring and get it set up.

From the other points you put, may we clarify as follow;
- taxi drivers in Bangkok are very vary. Some of them is a farmer out of town yesterday and today they can be a cab driver in this capital city. However, most of them should know our mark if you tell him "Ratchaprarop" and " Soi 12" which is already the first sub road of this street . Ratchaprarop is a prime area in Bangkok. All drivers know that. If any taxi drivers doesn't know the place, please call 02 642 5911 which is the hotel reception to guide him the way.

- Electric kettle is available in Superior and Deluxe room types as indicated on our website.

We truly thank you for staying with us and wish to see you back again. We appreciate your feedback and will improve the facilities to most satisfy our guests.

Kindest regards,

Hotel de Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hotel is still very new...just a stone throw distance from Ratchaprarop airport link station.
It takes only 3-5 minutes walk to the hotel from the station

The hotel is not far from Pratunam shopping area. At night the hotel area is a bit dark but for me, with the quality of the room, it is worth the money.

I stayed in the Superior room and requested Double bed, the man in the reception was very nice and helpful.

The room is spacious and got free wifi and LCD TV. The room is just like 4 star hotel room.

The bathroom got bathtub :)

I will stay at this hotel again if I go to Bangkok for my next visit...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wenbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Dear Wenbin,

We are glad to hear that you are very happy with us. It's our philosophy maximize guest's satisfaction. We wish to welcome you back again and we will provide a little complimentary for your happily stay with us again.

Your sincerely,

Hotel de Bangkok Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Hotel de Bangkok is in the central of Bangkok, very close to most of the shopping malls. It is very close to a airport link station. The staff were very nice. there wasn't any swimming pool but overall it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Experto109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at hotel de bangkok for 3 times for business reasons. It is located just 3 min. walk from Prtunam and only 5 min. walk to Platiunm centre. It is easy to reach with the skytrain from the airport and you can get around by bus, boat or skytrain.
The rooms are clean, the interior modern and staff is helpful. Breakfast is alittle bit boring, so eggs and toast or boiled ricesoup is not really a big choice. Anyway there are some nice thai and western bars and restaurants in the area little bit down away from Pratunam.
I can recommend Hotel de Bangkok. Watch out for the special offers on their website.
Do book a deluxe room, it has a small balcony.Some standrads do not have windows!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Funkyfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Good location for airport- can get in express road or airport train link easily .
Nice clean hotel- nice rooms, friendly staff but:-

1) No coffee maker or kettle in room. No coffee shop. No western style coffeeshop in 5 minutes walk either.
2) No free internet. Have to pay 150 Baht hour or 300 for day. this makes hotel less good value.
3) My room opened onto a lit outside corridor- bit like a motel. Didnt mind this but the curtain was not a blackout curtain so there was a lot of light coming in room.

so all together dont think i will return. This is a shame because i liked the hotel but its little things that make the stay comfortable or not.

Room Tip: Ask for room not on external corridor (noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kibbutznik_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheZazen, Manager at Hotel de Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Dear valued customer,

Many thanks for staying with us and for commenting on our facilities and room. Let me kindly inform you that
1) the hotel has a restaurant, Bistro Restaurant & Bar, where you can relax with a variety of drinks and delicious dishes from 06.30 - 23.00 hrs. Of course, coffee is also available on the drink list too.

2) Now we prepare HI-SPEED WIFI INTERNET ACCESS all over the hotel since last month. So you can truly enjoy surfing the Internet.

3) This happens only with the rooms on the east side. The rest of the rooms are not disturbed by the light. However we are procuring the material to ensure that all the guests have a comfortable stay with us.

We hope you come back to stay with us at our boutique hotel right in the Bangkok city will ensure you that we will give you more and more pleasant to your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel de Bangkok Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

1) Hotel is conveniently located near the Airport Express --but-- Inconveniently located far from the BTS; the main form of transportation to get around the city. It was a 15 minute trek just to get to the station from this hotel. We often took cabs from the station back to the hotel. However there was one incident where our driver did not know this place existed; in fact, we don't think any of our drivers knew it existed. We were told by management that they opened in October.
Note* This place is located opposite from shopping district. Can't even drop off shopping bags before moving on to next destination.
2) Rooms were great. Ikea fashion, Spacious, Hardwood Floors, Good for value. We booked an early bird reservation to lock in at a low rate. Housekeeping did a great job changing our towels and making beds.
3) Breakfast decent--but-- It was the same everyday. Either American style or Asian style. We stayed for 5 days, how about having the same everyday? One evening there was hard rain so we decided to dine in. Dinner sucked - not worth it.
4) When we booked it free wireless internet was included. After some months when we arrived, the service was discontinued. Very inconvenient & disappointing.
5) Sound control - our balcony facing the inside of the building but the noise still crept in. Like others said.. lots of dogs around the street. Harmless dogs though. Good amount of traffic through the street the hotel is on though.
6) Helpful staff, great service, will fetch a cab for you so you won't get ripped off.

Room Tip: Go for a double deluxe facing the inside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guide4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#326 of 890 in Bangkok
68 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#299 of 890 in Bangkok
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal View Resort
#123 of 890 in Bangkok
822 reviews
Ari
Vic3 Bangkok
Vic3 Bangkok
#255 of 890 in Bangkok
482 reviews
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#349 of 890 in Bangkok
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bangkok

Address: 133/48 Ratchaprarop Soi 12, Ratchaprarop Road | Makkasan, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $36 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BANGKOK CITY HOTEL NEAR PRATUNAM. EASY ACCESS BY AIRPORT RAIL LINK. BUDGET FRIENDLY HOTEL Perfect hotel to start exploring the city of Bangkok. Located right in the heart of Bangkok at Ratchaprarop Road, yet in a tranquil district of Pratunam - popular shopping arcade. Free Internet WiFi is available.Stay in downtown Bangkok with the starting budget friendly rate for the boutique hotel in Bangkok. Hotel de Bangkok is a boutique and cozy city hotel near Pratunam local shopping arcade & airport rail link at Ratchaprarop station. The unique design of Thai contemporary adjoining with the atmosphere of Western blended well together giving Hotel de Bangkok a warmth and friendly ambience. This lovely Bangkok hotel is also exceptionally positioned in one of the finest Bangkok locations near Pratunam shopping arcade where guests can easily access to several Bangkok attractions including markets, Platinum shopping mall, King Power Complex, night entertainments and etc. Thus, undoubtedly Hotel de Bangkok is the perfect place to stay for leisure, business, take a rest or long stay. All offers are certainly budget friendly including our fine culinary at Bistro de Bangkok Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing