We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was Good except...”
Review of Hotel de Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Bangkok
Ranked #261 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I booked my stay 2 months ahead of my intended stay as i was interested in not only the location, but also the "Free" wireless internet.

I was pleasantly surprised that the walk from the Airport link station to the hotel was only a few minutes walk as compared to the animated map that looks forever to walk. It's only a junction away and with the SOI 12 road sign just outside the main road, there's no way to miss the hotel. Those lugging their BIG luggage will need to be aware of the uneven walkpath along to the hotel.

Another thing that made me smile was when i reached there, it was only ~1030am which was way earlier then i expected, they allowed me to check in and get my stuff unpacked. But it was also the moment that i realised they have discontinued the "FREE" wireless internet. I didn't expected that when i paid for the stay.

But fret not, the charges for the usage isn't at all sky high and you can buy it for an hour or for 24 hours and the condition allows the user to access the wifi till the last min of their purchase during their stay there. I didn't pay for the wifi as there were internet cafe a few blocks away which offer a cheaper alternative. Only draw back is the privacy.

For this hotel, there's no shuttle service to anywhere but they willingly help you to get a cab.

As for food, my package came with the breakfast. i must say, it's a very simple ala carte breakfast but i really like the Porridge or Rice with Soup. Overall it's not outstanding but for the price i paid, i'm not asking for more.

The room i had was facing the entrance of the hotel, the problem lies with the fact that every single morning, there will be packs of dogs around the area barking at around 6-7am, making sleep almost impossible unless you have ear plugs on. This goes on for an hour or so, probably due to feeders in the area or something..

Service wise, they will make up your bed without you telling them after the first few requests. The reason why they are doing that was, they are still printing the "DO NOT DISTURB" tag. The counter girls aren't really good with english, the manger-ish looking guy speaks well but might take some hand signs and stuff.

Overall i'm happy with my stay except the fact that there's not many familiar eateries in the area (like Mac or Starbucks) except 7-eleven. Note: the Food store near the Junction doesn't have any english wordings on the Menu.

Well that's all i've for you guys... i won't mind staying there but for the lack of convenient eateries and communications, i'll prefer going back to the last hotel i stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Corporation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 493 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

It is a clean cozy hotel in Bangkok city center. Staff are friendly. Hotel d' Bangkok has a new modern building with minimalist design. It is located at the middle of a tiny alley, but there are many cars and dogs there and you must be careful. It is 4min walking from Airport route and 7-11, massage and internet shops, travel agents and night market are in walkable distance. I recommend you download the map from hotel website. When you arrive at the train station ask for post office which is a landmark just opposite of the hotel alley. My room had a small balcony but it was facing the alley and some houses. The choice for breakfast is limited, 2 fried eggs, 2slices of ham, 2 sausages, butter and jam. You can chose your drink for coffee or tea. You can take a tuk-tuk for 50 Bath to go to Na Na street to enjoy the nightlife in Bangkok, but make sure not to bring your kids! ;)
You can take a taxi to go to the Royal palace for about 80 Bath (by meter).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sita1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Hidden down a small side street, this hotel was good value for money, close to the sky train station, easy to get to from Airport. Shopping centres in easy walking distance. Hotel de Bangkok was clean, large Ikea style bedrooms, breakfast a set menu ok. Hotel team friendly and helpful. Wifi chargeable alway a negative for us.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed at Hotel de Bangkok for 3 nights after arriving in Thailand from the US. This is a relatively new hotel that is located on a back street of Bangkok. The hotel was quiet despite being so close to a major shopping area in the city. The room was clean and modern, the staff helpful and friendly and the price was right.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank movsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Excellent service from the staff, very friendly; clean and comfortable rooms; easy walking distance to some shopping centers and local restaurants. Staff was knowledgeable about the eating and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahoo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

A wonderful moderately priced new hotel. Very helpful staff. Close to the train link from the the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrytravels10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Easy to go to shopping center; Platinum, Water gate, Pantip, Central world, Paragon, MBK, etc. Very close to airport link. Many recommended food shops around here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndannanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#330 of 891 in Bangkok
72 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#312 of 891 in Bangkok
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phayathai
True Siam Rangnam Hotel
True Siam Rangnam Hotel
#321 of 891 in Bangkok
99 reviews
Royal View Resort
#132 of 891 in Bangkok
826 reviews
Ari
Vic3 Bangkok
Vic3 Bangkok
#255 of 891 in Bangkok
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bangkok

Address: 133/48 Ratchaprarop Soi 12, Ratchaprarop Road | Makkasan, Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $35 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BANGKOK CITY HOTEL NEAR PRATUNAM. EASY ACCESS BY AIRPORT RAIL LINK. BUDGET FRIENDLY HOTEL Perfect hotel to start exploring the city of Bangkok. Located right in the heart of Bangkok at Ratchaprarop Road, yet in a tranquil district of Pratunam - popular shopping arcade. Free Internet WiFi is available.Stay in downtown Bangkok with the starting budget friendly rate for the boutique hotel in Bangkok. Hotel de Bangkok is a boutique and cozy city hotel near Pratunam local shopping arcade & airport rail link at Ratchaprarop station. The unique design of Thai contemporary adjoining with the atmosphere of Western blended well together giving Hotel de Bangkok a warmth and friendly ambience. This lovely Bangkok hotel is also exceptionally positioned in one of the finest Bangkok locations near Pratunam shopping arcade where guests can easily access to several Bangkok attractions including markets, Platinum shopping mall, King Power Complex, night entertainments and etc. Thus, undoubtedly Hotel de Bangkok is the perfect place to stay for leisure, business, take a rest or long stay. All offers are certainly budget friendly including our fine culinary at Bistro de Bangkok Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing